We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy, friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayside Cheer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Handy, friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is an ideal place to stay if you want to explore the beautiful west coast of Guernsey. It is across the road from lovely beaches (Cobo Bay being the best) and on a bus route should you wish to go elsewhere on the island. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, the staff are friendly, and the breakfasts are especially good (can't comment on other meals as we had all of them elsewhere). Recommended as a good, basic place to stay.

Room Tip: The top floor, if you don't mind two steep flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James_S499501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for your review, hopefully if you ever come back again you can sample our evening meals which are excellent value for money.

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    56
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
54
103
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Let me first say that the staff were excellent, cheerful and helpful.

Unfortunately the hotel itself falls somewhat short of the expectations given in the bulk of the reviews. The facilities are utilitarian - the rooms basic with paper thin walls allowing noisy neighbours to disturb any attempt at sleep or leaving hallway lights ablaze so that the ill fitting doors leak enough light to read your book! We had to go out on to the landing and turn the light out ourselves! One of the windows in our room had no curtains and, as a result, the east facing room was sunlit well before any alarm went off - even if the occupants next door weren't so keen to get up at sparrow fart and tell everybody in the hotel of their plans for the day! Add to this the fact that the over bath shower was as temperamental as my three year old grand-daughter - one moment hot and, for no apparent reason, the next - freezing cold! I could go on ...

Don't expect luxury, and at the price you pay, this would never be on the cards. It would however have been nice to get what you expect to be the minimum for any hotel - some semblance of a night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortsmouthDiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I am a little disappointing that at no stage during your stay was any of these things mentioned to me or my manager(s).

Your room was a large family room on the 2nd floor as you were upgraded because we were full

I have now had a curtain fitted to the smaller side high window as this was missed off when the room was re-decorated,

Nobody has ever complained about light from under/around the doors but I will be checking this tonight when its dark and that will be rectified, turning of passage lights is not an option at night as it puts guests safety at risk.

The sun rising in the east is beyond my control but we could have probably switched you to a smaller interior double room where the sun does not shine though the large windows in the mornings, this would have also eliminated the guests next door issue or had we known we could have asked the guests to be a little quieter, they probably did not realise there was an issue.

The baths shower attachment will be looked at, it was new this year but may have a problem but no one else has said anything before or since.

As I always say, rather than say nothing and dwell on a problem, just tell us about it and if we can correct it, we will,

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here last week with my mum And 2 children (aged 6 and 7). A great family friendly hotel. Donna was very friendly , especially to the boys and very helpful, booking taxis etc. Our room was clean with fresh towels every day. It was part of the chalet complex, although we could still hear the entertainment it wasn't intrusive. My only downside was the strip light outside the room which made it very bright but this was switched off at the end of the evening .Breakfast was great. After eating out a few times we found ourselves going back to the hotel to eat instead as the choice of food was good. Really close to the beach and the bus stop into St. Peter Port. There was entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights and the children were allowed into the bar area to watch. Guernsey is a great place to holiday with a young family and I will definitely be returning and staying here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for your review

It was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we look forward to your next stay, I will see if there is anything we can do about the bright light

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Wayside Cheer. It is such a friendly place with clean rooms and good value A good selection for breakfasts and food in the day and evening. Big thank you to all the lovely staff who made us feel so welcome. The evening entertainment was great fun and I feel we have made new friends Its so near the beach and the bus route that getting around was so easy. We hired a couple of bikes so was perfect

Room Tip: The outside rooms are near the pool if that is what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank You for your review

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and we really enjoyed.Very good food , very clean rooms and nice area.Hotel is amazing ,very good location only 1 minute to the beach.Staff very friendly but me and my wife we want to say big THANK YOU ! especially to Ken (owner) and persons from staff John (barman) and Sylvia (waitress).Thank you for great service and amazing time.We really enjoyed and we think we come back in the future for a sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks Max for the review

see you again soon I hope

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the start of July. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is at the lower end of the price range by Guernsey standards but it does as it promises and offers good levels of service.

We had requested a room away from the bar area and this was granted to us. Ken (the owner) is very friendly and puts lots of emphasis on service and this is reflected by other staff too. For example, he printed our boarding cards off for us and the barman remembered my drink after just one night. These are just little things but not common in all hotels. One minor negative, the breakfast is fine but finishes at 9am which we felt was a little early particularly at weekends. Still it got us up and about and we were out on the bus exploring by 9.20!

The room itself was a reasonable size with tea/coffee, TV, lots of storage space and an en-suite toilet with a shower. It was clean and certainly lived up to our expectations. We ate in the bar/restaurant on two occcasions and found it to be very nice especially the chocolate fondue! - and good value. Wine was on special offer too! Free wi-f is available in the public areas. The bar is very popular at weekends and we thought it might well be used by locals. Live music was available on Friday and Saturday night and it had a lively yet convivial atmosphere.

We did not use the swimming pool but that is available if needed.

With due respect to all the above, the main selling point to us was the location. We had been slightly concerned that we might be a little isolated but this was unfounded. Buses stop opposite the hotel and run every half hour into St Peter Port with other coastal routes passing too. We bought a week pass for £19 which saved a lot of bother and means you can hop on and off without looking for change. The Island is only small so nowhere is too far away. If you enjoy walking, the coastal views around the hotel are simply stunning with a fabulous view across Cobo Bay.

As stated we really enjoyed our stay. This is not a five star hotel and does not pretend to be one. If you are prepared to pay more you might well find better appointed hotels. However, we thought it was fair value, the service was really friendly and the location is great. If returning to Guernsey we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manx_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for the full review and I am please on the whole we lived up to expectations, we would like to offer later breakfasts but being a small hotel most members of staff have more than 1 role and they need to get on with getting rooms ready for the next guests and those staying on
so 7.30 - 9.00 will be the breakfast time.

hopefully it will not stop you from returning.

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent a week at the Wayside Cheer and were made very welcome from the first minute, the staff were always busy but had time to stop and chat, especially Donna. The food was excellent and the varied entertainment very good. We would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly book again. Thank you Donna and staff for looking after us so well.
Keith and Carol Corbet ( yes, Donna it is a Guernsey name)

Room Tip: My wife has problems with stairs, no problem here, we were moved to a ground floor room next day aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for your great review, I am glad everyone looked after you and you had a good time

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.0 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Cheer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cheer Hotel

Property: Wayside Cheer Hotel
Address: Les Grandes Rocques, Castel GY5 7FX
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Cheer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest Guernsey Hotels. Upgraded to a 3 Star in July 1012, An ideal family hotel overlooking the beautiful sandy Grandes Rocques Bay. A large car park is available and buses stop nearby. The hotel has a heated Outdoor Swimming Pool(Mid June to Mid Sept, Weather Permitting)situated in the lovely gardens. Our Award Winning Meals are served daily in the Olde World lounge bar and the Restaurant. There is also a games room with a variety of bar games. Other amenities include a spacious TV lounge for residents only Free Wi-Fi in Most Areas, Entertainment is available at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wayside Cheer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wayside Cheer
Wayside Cheer Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing