We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayside Cheer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Would stay again. Location on North of island is fine. It's own restaurant is good and next to it is a very nice Bistro.

But....
Public transport is hopless, apparently it was good until recent changes. Buses are infrequent and standing room only very often (and the schools had already gone back).

So I decided to hire a car for a couple of days until I saw the insurance ripoff by local hire firms reported on Tripadvisor. Not wanting to be shafted on minor chips that were already present I didn't bother.

And I won't be bothering with Guernsey again because of the travel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedcarHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks for you Hotel Review, I am sorry that you were not happy with the buses, this has been an issue this year,
But the good news is the round Island Clockwise bus will be back soon, and there are a few other changes, so things will be a little better next year.

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    56
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
54
103
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

13 of us arrived at the Wayside Cheer on the 24th of August and all of us had a wonderful time. The staff are friendly and will go out of their way to help, the food is excellent, the rooms are clean and bright and there is a really good atmosphere in the hotel. This was my mothers first time in a hotel and she said it was like a home from home. Thankyou to everyone at the Wayside Cheer for giving us a fantastic holiday x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Wayside Cheer

It was a pleasure meeting you all and thanks for the glowing review, its very welcome, hopefully if we do not see you as a group we will see some of you again in the future.

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is an ideal place to stay if you want to explore the beautiful west coast of Guernsey. It is across the road from lovely beaches (Cobo Bay being the best) and on a bus route should you wish to go elsewhere on the island. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, the staff are friendly, and the breakfasts are especially good (can't comment on other meals as we had all of them elsewhere). Recommended as a good, basic place to stay.

Room Tip: The top floor, if you don't mind two steep flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James_S499501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for your review, hopefully if you ever come back again you can sample our evening meals which are excellent value for money.

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Let me first say that the staff were excellent, cheerful and helpful.

Unfortunately the hotel itself falls somewhat short of the expectations given in the bulk of the reviews. The facilities are utilitarian - the rooms basic with paper thin walls allowing noisy neighbours to disturb any attempt at sleep or leaving hallway lights ablaze so that the ill fitting doors leak enough light to read your book! We had to go out on to the landing and turn the light out ourselves! One of the windows in our room had no curtains and, as a result, the east facing room was sunlit well before any alarm went off - even if the occupants next door weren't so keen to get up at sparrow fart and tell everybody in the hotel of their plans for the day! Add to this the fact that the over bath shower was as temperamental as my three year old grand-daughter - one moment hot and, for no apparent reason, the next - freezing cold! I could go on ...

Don't expect luxury, and at the price you pay, this would never be on the cards. It would however have been nice to get what you expect to be the minimum for any hotel - some semblance of a night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortsmouthDiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I am a little disappointing that at no stage during your stay was any of these things mentioned to me or my manager(s).

Your room was a large family room on the 2nd floor as you were upgraded because we were full

I have now had a curtain fitted to the smaller side high window as this was missed off when the room was re-decorated,

Nobody has ever complained about light from under/around the doors but I will be checking this tonight when its dark and that will be rectified, turning of passage lights is not an option at night as it puts guests safety at risk.

The sun rising in the east is beyond my control but we could have probably switched you to a smaller interior double room where the sun does not shine though the large windows in the mornings, this would have also eliminated the guests next door issue or had we known we could have asked the guests to be a little quieter, they probably did not realise there was an issue.

The baths shower attachment will be looked at, it was new this year but may have a problem but no one else has said anything before or since.

As I always say, rather than say nothing and dwell on a problem, just tell us about it and if we can correct it, we will,

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here last week with my mum And 2 children (aged 6 and 7). A great family friendly hotel. Donna was very friendly , especially to the boys and very helpful, booking taxis etc. Our room was clean with fresh towels every day. It was part of the chalet complex, although we could still hear the entertainment it wasn't intrusive. My only downside was the strip light outside the room which made it very bright but this was switched off at the end of the evening .Breakfast was great. After eating out a few times we found ourselves going back to the hotel to eat instead as the choice of food was good. Really close to the beach and the bus stop into St. Peter Port. There was entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights and the children were allowed into the bar area to watch. Guernsey is a great place to holiday with a young family and I will definitely be returning and staying here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for your review

It was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we look forward to your next stay, I will see if there is anything we can do about the bright light

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Wayside Cheer. It is such a friendly place with clean rooms and good value A good selection for breakfasts and food in the day and evening. Big thank you to all the lovely staff who made us feel so welcome. The evening entertainment was great fun and I feel we have made new friends Its so near the beach and the bus route that getting around was so easy. We hired a couple of bikes so was perfect

Room Tip: The outside rooms are near the pool if that is what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank You for your review

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and we really enjoyed.Very good food , very clean rooms and nice area.Hotel is amazing ,very good location only 1 minute to the beach.Staff very friendly but me and my wife we want to say big THANK YOU ! especially to Ken (owner) and persons from staff John (barman) and Sylvia (waitress).Thank you for great service and amazing time.We really enjoyed and we think we come back in the future for a sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks Max for the review

see you again soon I hope

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.0 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Cheer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cheer Hotel

Property: Wayside Cheer Hotel
Address: Les Grandes Rocques, Castel GY5 7FX
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Cheer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest Guernsey Hotels. Upgraded to a 3 Star in July 1012, An ideal family hotel overlooking the beautiful sandy Grandes Rocques Bay. A large car park is available and buses stop nearby. The hotel has a heated Outdoor Swimming Pool(Mid June to Mid Sept, Weather Permitting)situated in the lovely gardens. Our Award Winning Meals are served daily in the Olde World lounge bar and the Restaurant. There is also a games room with a variety of bar games. Other amenities include a spacious TV lounge for residents only Free Wi-Fi in Most Areas, Entertainment is available at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wayside Cheer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wayside Cheer
Wayside Cheer Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing