We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Very dated and looks a bit shabby on the plus side food is cheap and good portion sizes, the Sunday buffet is the best on the island! nice outside pool when the weather is nice , alcohol drinks are a bit expensive of an out of town pub.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks for your review and good comments regarding our food quality and price,

The Tudor bar is what it is, an old Tudor Stlye Looking Bar, Most love the charm and quaintness of it lots of first comments from guests are WOW, I Like This,others think it is an old bar that has not changed for decades when in fact almost everything is less than 4 years old but made to look like a Tudor Bar that has not changed for years and just as our regulars like it, not a modern synthetic pub.

Regarding drink prices which are high in Guernsey anyway, The Tudor Bar has some of the lowest prices on alcohol of any 3 Star Lounge Bar in the island and still provides FREE Entertainment 3 nights a week.

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    61
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
63
112
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed with two children in one of the the family rooms , which was a good size and clean. The shower room could of done with updating, but the room was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfy. Breakfast was lovely, great size portions even for the kids and plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The outdoor pool is definitely not heated!!! The hotel is a bit out of the way but there wasn't an issue for us as we did have a hire car. On the downside we did stay on a Saturday night there was entertainment in the bar which was very loud and did keep the children up for a while. Its a get what you pay for sort of hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16dell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Glad that most things were to your liking, The pool is heated for most of the summer usually up to the Middle of Sept but that's depending on the weather and after the 1st few days of sept we were having cold nights and people were not using the pool so the heating was turned off a few days earlier than usual.

We have Family Rooms by the Pool that sleep 4 and are not affected with noise.

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CI
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Warm welcome upon arrival and friendly staff, but the accommodation was poor. The room itself smelt very musty, even when we kept the windows open all day. The shower was just a trickle and the bathroom door couldn't be shut fully. The beds were uncomfortable and only one spare pillow and no spare blankets. A light stayed on outside the window making the room too light during the night. The bar area was very dingy and tired looking and really noisy. Breakfast was hot but not very tasty. The tea in the bedrooms was OK but the tea at breakfast was horrible. We went to the bistro next door which was nice but in view of the standard of the breakfast we didn't fancy eating dinner at the hotel.

Room Tip: This was a room near the poolside. Perhaps the rooms in the main hotel are better but probably nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Sorry for the delay in replying to this but 1, I was recovering from a hip replacement and 2, there was one of you comments that I needed a builder to confirm if there was an issue a leak in a water pipe behind a panel.

It turned out that 2 chalets did have higher than normal moisture content this is now being addressed and all new bathroom extraction is being fitted this month to eliminate this.

I could not find any bathroom door that does not close

I have checked the Shower and had a good flow in the room you used obviously to get a fast flow for the shower the mixer taps need to be adjusted for temp with a strong flow and then switch to the shower.

The Bed in that room is due to be changed anyway this winter but was OK at the beginning of the season and we only had comments on this issue in the past month or so.

Extra Spare Blankets, Pillows, Towels, or anything else are only a request away.

The Doors and windows were recently replaced and there is a slight issue with light coming through the glass on the door, again blinds have been ordered to eliminate this problem.

The Tudor Bar is one of the Islands most popular bars everything from Tables Chairs, light Fittings, Carpet etc are new within the past few years and are designed to look in keeping with a TUDOR BAR so not dingy and tired looking, deliberately made to look like that.

The Noise from the bar could not be heard from your room and you chose not to eat the Silver Award Winning Food we serve in there so I can not see why this was an issue for you.

We only serve Tetley eea in the rooms and at Breakfast so there should not be an issue with the Breakfast tea other than we use real milk at breakfast and the UHT stuff in the rooms,

Also our breakfasts which get a lot of praise, consist of Local award winning Pommier Sausages, Danish Thick slice Bacon, Guernsey Tomatoes, Guernsey Mushrooms, Free Range Guernsey Eggs all aimed specifically for good taste and not like many hotels governed by price,

The fact that the morning tea and the breakfast you found lacked taste suggests to me that your taste buds in the morning are not quite what they should be.

So to summarise there were a couple of issues that we could have sorted while you were here had you brought them up by moving your room or providing extra Blankets or Pillows the others problems I could not find

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Would stay again. Location on North of island is fine. It's own restaurant is good and next to it is a very nice Bistro.

But....
Public transport is hopless, apparently it was good until recent changes. Buses are infrequent and standing room only very often (and the schools had already gone back).

So I decided to hire a car for a couple of days until I saw the insurance ripoff by local hire firms reported on Tripadvisor. Not wanting to be shafted on minor chips that were already present I didn't bother.

And I won't be bothering with Guernsey again because of the travel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedcarHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks for you Hotel Review, I am sorry that you were not happy with the buses, this has been an issue this year,
But the good news is the round Island Clockwise bus will be back soon, and there are a few other changes, so things will be a little better next year.

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

13 of us arrived at the Wayside Cheer on the 24th of August and all of us had a wonderful time. The staff are friendly and will go out of their way to help, the food is excellent, the rooms are clean and bright and there is a really good atmosphere in the hotel. This was my mothers first time in a hotel and she said it was like a home from home. Thankyou to everyone at the Wayside Cheer for giving us a fantastic holiday x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Wayside Cheer

It was a pleasure meeting you all and thanks for the glowing review, its very welcome, hopefully if we do not see you as a group we will see some of you again in the future.

all the best

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is an ideal place to stay if you want to explore the beautiful west coast of Guernsey. It is across the road from lovely beaches (Cobo Bay being the best) and on a bus route should you wish to go elsewhere on the island. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, the staff are friendly, and the breakfasts are especially good (can't comment on other meals as we had all of them elsewhere). Recommended as a good, basic place to stay.

Room Tip: The top floor, if you don't mind two steep flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_S499501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for your review, hopefully if you ever come back again you can sample our evening meals which are excellent value for money.

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Let me first say that the staff were excellent, cheerful and helpful.

Unfortunately the hotel itself falls somewhat short of the expectations given in the bulk of the reviews. The facilities are utilitarian - the rooms basic with paper thin walls allowing noisy neighbours to disturb any attempt at sleep or leaving hallway lights ablaze so that the ill fitting doors leak enough light to read your book! We had to go out on to the landing and turn the light out ourselves! One of the windows in our room had no curtains and, as a result, the east facing room was sunlit well before any alarm went off - even if the occupants next door weren't so keen to get up at sparrow fart and tell everybody in the hotel of their plans for the day! Add to this the fact that the over bath shower was as temperamental as my three year old grand-daughter - one moment hot and, for no apparent reason, the next - freezing cold! I could go on ...

Don't expect luxury, and at the price you pay, this would never be on the cards. It would however have been nice to get what you expect to be the minimum for any hotel - some semblance of a night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortsmouthDiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I am a little disappointing that at no stage during your stay was any of these things mentioned to me or my manager(s).

Your room was a large family room on the 2nd floor as you were upgraded because we were full

I have now had a curtain fitted to the smaller side high window as this was missed off when the room was re-decorated,

Nobody has ever complained about light from under/around the doors but I will be checking this tonight when its dark and that will be rectified, turning of passage lights is not an option at night as it puts guests safety at risk.

The sun rising in the east is beyond my control but we could have probably switched you to a smaller interior double room where the sun does not shine though the large windows in the mornings, this would have also eliminated the guests next door issue or had we known we could have asked the guests to be a little quieter, they probably did not realise there was an issue.

The baths shower attachment will be looked at, it was new this year but may have a problem but no one else has said anything before or since.

As I always say, rather than say nothing and dwell on a problem, just tell us about it and if we can correct it, we will,

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
587 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
856 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
4.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
588 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Cheer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cheer Hotel

Property: Wayside Cheer Hotel
Address: Les Grandes Rocques, Castel GY5 7FX
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Cheer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest Guernsey Hotels. Upgraded to a 3 Star in July 1012, An ideal family hotel overlooking the beautiful sandy Grandes Rocques Bay. A large car park is available and buses stop nearby. The hotel has a heated Outdoor Swimming Pool(Mid June to Mid Sept, Weather Permitting)situated in the lovely gardens. Our Award Winning Meals are served daily in the Olde World lounge bar and the Restaurant. There is also a games room with a variety of bar games. Other amenities include a spacious TV lounge for residents only Free Wi-Fi in Most Areas, Entertainment is available at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Wayside Cheer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wayside Cheer
Wayside Cheer Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing