We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnydene Country Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Martins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunnydene Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed heer again for a few nights. The hotel is set in a quiet location but with easy access to the islands bus routes. Theer is ample parking and a warm welcome for all.
breakfasts are excellent and if you choose to dine there in the evening you won't be dissapointed !
Rooms are well furnished and have all the amenities one would expect. There is also an outdoor pool for the summer months.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a fantastic time at Sunnydene. Nothing was too much trouble for Betty and Tony and they were very welcoming. Breakfast and evening meal was excellent. Some people may find the decor a little dated but everywhere is spotlessly clean and well cared for. The hotel is ideally situated for the cliff walks (about 10 minutes walk away), the bus stop is outside for the bus to St Peters Port and if you walk 10-15 minutes to the main road you can get the number 7 bus which goes clockwise around the island (7a anticlockwise around the island). We also hired bikes which Betty kindly organised and had them dropped off at the hotel - great service. It doesn't take too long on the bikes to cut across country and get to the other side of the island. We did have a proper map of Guernsey which really helped with the small lanes has it showed alot of the street names (the map isn't really necessary for the walking as most of the paths are around the coast). if you do get lost, you don't have to go far before you find your way again. A cycling suggestion guide was also supplied with the bikes so we had lots of choice.
I don't think you need to bother with car hire as the buses are so good (not so frequent out of season). I would definitely recommend Guernsey and the Sunnydene Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank human71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We chose this hotel in Guernsey due to its quiet location and close to walks and scenery. We travelled in our own car and got around the island easily although did get lost a few times on the little back lanes-all part of the fun of Guernsey (top spead 35 miles per hour in some places!)
The hotel room was very small-tripped over the end of the bed trying to get around it to the loo etc -smallest hotel room we had ever stayed in -a positive though it was very clean and had a new fitted bathroom with lovely shower
TV in the room had 4 channels-surprised that Sky channels not available-but hey who goes on their holidays to watch TV?
We had a very nice breakfast each day-freshly cooked and nice polite service-the soda bread was delicious that Betty the owner baked each day
We did not use the bar service and asked once for ice to add to our room water-although provided it was frowned upon to ask for ice to take up to your room-this was a great surprise
It was a little cold to sample to outdoor pool and we spent most of our time out in the day anyway exploring-but the pool did look really nice and the surrounding garden with plenty of tables and chairs
As well as exploring the island of Guernsey we explored nearby islands of Herm (20 mins)and Sark (50 mins) and would fully recommend you travel by ferry to see them - relaxed and quiet
Parking in Guernsey is free but you do need to aquire a parking badge for your car and place it in the car window as to the time you left your car-either use the 2 hour parking bays or the 10 hour if you plan to travel to the other islands by ferry- be there early to get a 10 hour slot or be prepared to walk back to the harbour to catch your ferry (we did also see the local traffic warden checking cars for parking ofneces!!-beware)
Guernsey was a lovelly 4 day break-we would go again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Having returned to Sunnydene for a 2nd time nothing had changed still the same warm welcome lovely staff fantastic chef lovely homely atmosphere nothing to much trouble nice location nice walk down to the cliffs lovely ice cream cafe .bus stop straight out side everything first class we will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

After receiving a very warm welcome 16 of our members quickly settled in and enjoyed a wonderfull 6 nights half board with Tony and Betty and their staff, who could not have been more attentive to the needs of an eldery group.The food was excellent,and in the evening a homely atmosphere in the bar was much appreciated by many of the group.We were very fortunate to reserve the garden rooms which proved very popular and well worth the small price supplement, We would i am sure have enjoyed the pool facilities, if we had spent more time at the hotel during the day. However there was a wonderful Island to explore and with the Bus stop right outside, the hotel could not have been better located. We have no hesitation in reccommending Sunnydene to like minded groups,and we shall be considering a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: A garden room is well worth the small supplement, it is also slightly larger than those in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at this comfortable country hotel, set in lovely gardens with a swimming pool. The success of this hotel is down to the excellent, friendly service provided by hosts Tony and Betty, who go out of their way to make sure all their guests are well looked after A rare treat these days. We had only booked bed and breakfast, but ended up eating at the hotel every evening. The ambience in the hotel in the evening was homely and welcoming. We found the food good and reasonably priced. There is a good choice of hot food at breakfast as well as the usual buffet which included some delicious fresh pastries.

Our only criticism was the size of our room, and especially the en suite. Although it provided all the usual facilities (flat screen t.v., tea/coffee) we felt very cramped. Plus points were the good quality towels and the fresh flowers were a nice touch Our advice would be to pay extra for one of the superior, garden rooms which we assume are larger.

We drove round the whole of Guernsey, which is a very attractive island, but usually finished up at Portelet Beach, by the Imperial Hotel. The kiosk there is very popular and sells excellent crab sandwiches and rolls, as well as cream teas.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsetview68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have just returned from a week at this wonderful small and outstandingly friendly hotel on this beautiful island. We couldn't fault the service from our hosts and their staff who were the most welcoming team we have ever stayed with. Nothing was too much trouble. We had intended to eat all over the island at many restaurants but ended up eating in 6 nights out of the 7 thanks to the high standard of food and reasonably priced menus. Their local knowledge is thorough and each and every guest appeared to be as happy as we were with their choice of accommodation

Room Tip: pay the extra for the larger and quieter garden rooms, it will be worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnydene Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnydene Country Hotel

Property: Sunnydene Country Hotel
Address: Sunnydene Country Hotel Rue des Marettes, St Martins GY4 6JH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnydene Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Sunnydene Country Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing