We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnydene Country Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Martins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunnydene Country Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“6 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have travelled extensively over many years and have never had a hotel like this where nothing is too much trouble.
Tony and Betty, with their staff have it just right. Service with a smile, clean, quiet surroundings. lovely garden and pool.The scallops, caught that day by their Polish chef, who is a keen diver,were superb. Dinner: there is a good a la carte menu and a daily menu with choice of at least 4 items for each of 3 courses.Breakfast with a good choice of food was excellent. Other reviewers have commented on the ease of travel, with a bus stopping outside the door and costing £1.00 for any length of journey being a bonus. This is a 3 star small hotel and really deserves more.Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys peace and quiet, good service, good food and pleasant people.Would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: room 12 was pleasant with good en suite, some noise from kitchen extractor but only staring at 7.30a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hantscouple555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return one day.

Regards

Tony and Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the airport and easy to find. We hired a car but as others have said the bus stops right outside the hotel and takes you into St Perter Port though you can change to other buses. It is every 30 minutes Monday to Saturday and Hourly on Sundays.

The hotel was fine though our room (number 1) was small and as it was at the top of the main stairs got probably the most noise though by 11 at night all seemed to be in bed. The outdoor pool was very nice and reasonably warm. We only ate once in the hotel but the food we had was very good and others in the hotel enjoyed it. The breakfast was full English and you made your choice when you sat down.

We stayed for 6 days but many were staying for longer (up to 2 weeks) and they seemed to have plenty to do during their stay.

One minor word of warning about Guernsey is that a lot of the road are very narrow so if you are worried about that sort of driving then take the bus !

Room Tip: Our room 1 was a bit noisy and quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Than you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your holiday

Regards

Tony and Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having read a number of reviews about the hotel before we left the UK, we felt sure we had chosen well - but you can never be sure! However, we were not disappointed in any way at all. Tony and Betty, and their four lovely Madeiran staff, made us feel so welcome right from the start. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is cosy, clean, bright and friendly. It just seemed to have an atmosphere of friendliness and calm - which we appreciated very much. It was easy to feel 'on holiday' and get to know the other guests, and we felt we made some good friends very quickly. It was fun reading through the menu at each meal time and the only problem we faced was choosing what to eat - there was always such a good choice. Again, we were not disappointed when we actually saw the meal!
Guernsey is a beautiful and a very interesting place to visit. The bus service proved to be a great way to travel around and helped to make the holiday diifferent and interesting. Whatever you do - do not miss a trip to Herm and Sark - especially Herm. It is as near to a Paradise Island as we are ever likely to see - absolutely amazing! Just walking around the beaches - blue sky, blue sea, golden sand - with hardly anybody else around, and at times, nobody around, was simply beautiful.
A great holiday, with many thanks to Tony and Betty for helping to make it so special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us.

Regards and thanks

Tony ,Betty & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Queen of Sheba never came here, but if she had she would have been jus as amazed and pleased. Any review only tells the half of it, but thanks to Betty and Tony and their amazing staff we shall be back for another visit next year.
Kindness, a warm welcome and a real interest in us as people helped to make our first visit to Guernsey so enjoyable.A ground floor room near the dining room was perfect for two partially disabled people, and an added bonus was a very comfortable bed.
We never met the chef, but, like all the staff, he or she must be a gem!

Room Tip: Ground floor room ideal if you are unable to climb stairs very easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to see you again in the future.

Regards

Betty & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I had a very comfortable stay and was looked after very well by Betty and Tony and their staff, nothing was too much trouble. From their well stocked bar to the bright and comfortable dining room where good and plentiful food was served. The garden and swimming pool were very inviting and made a nice backdrop from the windows in the dining room. The bus service to St Peter Port stopped outside the hotel, we hired a car but discovered it was unnecessary as the public transport was cheap and covered all areas of the island. The only problem we discovered was returning home to our hum drum life.
A big thank you to Betty and Tony and their attentive staff, we hope to be back next year minus hire car.

Room Tip: Garden rooms step out in the pool and garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallsend
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as we were in guernsey to attend a funeral and we are so glad we chose the sunnydene, you are made to feel so welcome nothing is too much trouble for betty & tony the owners, we arrived hours before our check in time but she opened the bar & made us coffee & asked if we would like breakfest even though it had finished 45 mins earlier. When she found out we were there for a funeral she asked if we would like any shoes polished or clothes ironed which was very good of her. The breakfast is excellent fantastic choice even smoke salmon on the list, the bar at night is a great place to relax & meet other guests tony pours a great pint , the staff who work there are very attentive & are an asset to the hotel . All in all a fantastic place to stay, would we go back ? You bet we would .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margisonmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your short stay and look forward to your return in the future.

Regards

Tony & Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Sunnydene Hotel is a hotel which you feel you would like to pick up and put down in the next destination you wish to stay to ensure a welcoming, comfortable clean hotel with enjoyable meals. From The Sunnydene you can be active with lots of walks, cycling enjoy the bays and sea or you can recharge your batteries and just relax. Thank you Betty and Tony.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks and we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday.

Thanks
Tony & Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnydene Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnydene Country Hotel

Property: Sunnydene Country Hotel
Address: Sunnydene Country Hotel Rue des Marettes, St Martins GY4 6JH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnydene Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Sunnydene Country Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing