We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good food, Good location, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnydene Country Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Martins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunnydene Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, Good location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

It's in the nicest part of the island, near rocky coves but good bus service to st peterport. Quiet location, well presented although slightly dated decor. Good garden and pool, comfortable room in the main house. Food was very good; we had the half board set dinner for our 4 night stay; it was freshly cooked, good value and tasty, with a range of choices. breakfasts also excellent, apart from tinned fruit and tasteless jam sachets: choose something else, there's a lot of choice. Only real bugbear was the incessant "easy listening" piped music in public areas: please turn it off!

The hosts were very helpful, allowing us into our room at 8 am after an early flight and inviting us to have breakfast, which they did not charge us for. a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mendip_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
keswick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Just the ticket . Owning a B&B we can be a little critical , but this place was ideal.
Cleanliness surpassed most Big hotel standards
Food was delicious , and dining room light and airey
Delightful and relaxing , with excellant , pleasant owners and staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesTTbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

went on a short 4night trip, this hotel is really good value, friendly staff, good food and spotlessly clean, nice pool and gardens although didn't have time to use the pool I was reliably informed it was very warm. The putting green at the back was great fun, I even had a HOLE IN ONE. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebattledowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

My Mother and I arrived 30/8/09 and stayed for 7 nights. The owners made us both feel very wecome and we have a lovely time. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were more than happy to cater to all of our needs. The restaurant and food was of a high standard and we would go back again. It just felt like home!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Warm welcome from heplful and friendly hosts. Lovely clean well furnished rooms with comfortable beds. Tremendous food well presented and served. Great location near to scenic cliff walks leading to wonderful beaches and with bus stop at the end of the drive for exploring the rest of the island.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

This was our 10th visit to the island and the 7th to Sunnydene.
Betty and Tony are always ready to welcome us.
Whatever the weather we always enjoy our stay.
The gardens and pool are great to relax in.
The rooms are well appointed and the service is great.
Guests can enjoy excellent evening meals followed by chats and drinks in the Bar.

The hotel is well situated for enjoying the coastal walks and a frequent bus service to St Peterport passes the door.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tesscol33e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

Sunnydene Country Hotel Guernsey.

We have just returned from this hotel after spending 9 days there
(14.5.2008 - 22nd May 2008.
This hotel is set in a quiet and peaceful area, bus stop is right outside the hotel which is a bonus, buses run every half hour.
The hotel is very clean, friendly staff, beautiful garden, heated swimming pool. The food is excellent. Breakfast you have several choices, dinner is 4courses and very well presented.
There is a choice either to stay in the hotel ,or they have garden
rooms which are situated with the swimming pool in front of them. They also have an 18 hole pitch and putt green..
When we booked we were a bit concerned about the 2 star rating ,but after staying there I can honestly say we have stayed at
3 and 4 star hotels and haven't had the service we recieved from
this one.
Mr & Mrs Dundon were always on hand, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Before leaving we booked our next years holiday a fortnight , but a bit later in the year hoping the weather will be kinder for us.
Belle & Pat

  • Liked — Friendly staff, excellent food, very clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnydene Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnydene Country Hotel

Property: Sunnydene Country Hotel
Address: Sunnydene Country Hotel Rue des Marettes, St Martins GY4 6JH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnydene Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Sunnydene Country Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing