We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so good we returned another night!”
Review of L'Auberge

L'Auberge
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“so good we returned another night!”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

quality cuisine - good atmosphere, friendly service. Excellent all round!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    106
    43
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Had a evening meal here on our honeymoon. Lovely se viw, but spoiled a bit by the marquee are for outside dining. We arrived early and had no table booked, the place was totally empty!
We took the chance and by the time we left the place was packed. Food very nice and the service was good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppydog2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food, great setting”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Clean contemporary style, just off the beaten path with amazing views.. went during the day for lunch.. friendly staff, good food perhaps one or maybe two £'s more than other good restaurants on the island but worth it for the sea views

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jamescb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
684 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

You can't visit Guernsey without eating at l'Auberge. We had our son's engagement party on the Friday night and the food was incredible. The views are superb looking out to sea. We loved it and booked a table for Saturday night. We were lucky to get one. The foie gras starter was to die for, the bavette of beef incredible. The owner couldn't be more amiable or helpful on both evenings. We have eaten at many top Michelin starred restaurants including the Fat Duck, le Gavroche, le Manoir and this restaurant deserves to be up there with them. Go there!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In a class of its own with a view to die for”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Perched on the top of Jerbourg cliffs The Auberge used to be a simple pub - the reviewer's local in fact. But that was three decades ago. Now a Guernsey ex-pat I revisit The Auberge each time I return home to see my folks.

The food is imaginative, it's well cooked and always interesting.
It's not expensive in today's Guernsey and the only sadness is to see so many Eastern Europeans working. They were excellent and efficient but lacking the warmth of Guernsey people.

But don't let that dissuade you. Go for the food and the view arguably both are near the top of what Guernsey can offer.

Fresh fish and Shellfish - my wife had Monkfish wrapped in Serrano Ham. Exquisite. I had the table d'hote a- £15 set meal with home pea soup and strong flavoured Serrano Ham/bacon which had been grilled until crispy. A tad salty but yummy. Main was Fish and Chips a ubiquitous choice for an English lunch - but these were to die for - home made shkn-on chunky chips and local Pollack in home mate crispy batter. Perfect. Delightful.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
Guernsey, Channel Islands
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing