We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite nice”
Review of La Villette Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Martins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Villette Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 St Martins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Initially when we booked in, wasnt impressed with the welcome, but it did improve, found room and bed quite small, asked to change, but was told hotel full, but breakfast and dining hall, never busy! and didnt see a lot of people around, so dont believe it!
waitressing staff good, cleanliness, swimming pools excellent, plenty of tea and biscuits, food not great in dining room, breakfast good!
overall not a bad stay, good location, easy to find.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArleneP p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

From the time of arrival until final departure we received excellent treatment from the friendly and courteous staff.The food was appetising and as much or little as you wanted.
The rooms were clean and well equipped .The indoor pool and gym were an added bonus and it was a pity that we were on such a tight schedule that we could not take more advantage of it.
Information and printing of tickets was never a problem nor was a potential late return from a family wedding we were attending
Highly recommended for a tranquil restful holiday away from the daily grind.Pity our stay was so short .
Will stay again Well Done all at La Villette

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Returned to La Villette after a break of ten years. Same attention to detail.
along with quality staff ensured a great stay. Varied menu, perfectly cooked
and presented. Ideal location, with the bus stop to St Peter Port just yards away.
Nice spacious and comfortable room in keeping with the high standards of this hotel.
Will not leave so long next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 767JAMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just had the pleasure of staying at La Villette Hotel for 4 nights over the weekend wish we had booked for a longer period . Will definitely be coming back. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcome from ALL the staff for the duration of our stay. We had room 234 on the front a large bright room ,with an excellent size bathroom. Plenty of drawers and wardrobe space and you will never run out of complementary coffee,tea and chocolate drinks Although on the front of the hotel we did not hear any noise at all . The hotel has a gym,indoor and outdoor swimming pool bar and an excellent restaurant serving superb food and good size meals ,if not a big eater ask for a small serving as the meals are on the generous size. The local bitter is also a good pint brewed on the island .I have stayed in many 3 star hotels all over the world business and pleasure and this welcoming hotel is definitely top of the list .A lot of local people eat and drink at this hotel so what more can be said its the best recommendation possible . Excellent value for money .Why only a 3 star ? I just wish i could tick more than 5 stars on the ratings.

Room Tip: Front room 234 excellent overlooking front entrance/car park but no noise at al.l
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROCKETMANKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have stayed in a number of hotels in my time but I can honestly say that this hotel provided the best experience ever. The rooms were light and airy and the bed super comfortable. The staff were superb from the moment we arrived and couldn't do enough for us. They made the whole experience a truly unforgettable one. The food was nicely presented and plenty of it with something for everyone. The breakfast was cooked to order and plenty of choice. If anything the bar area is lacking a bit of character but that would be my only criticism. We used the pool facilities which were superb and free to staying guests. My only advice to visitors to Guernsey would be not to go to Crabbie Jacks at Vazon. Two members of our group were seriously ill afterwards and the service was rubbish. The staff at La Villette could certainly teach them a lesson or three.

Room Tip: Room 215 is lovely with an extra bedroom (so you can get away from snorers if need be!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel was recommended to us and it was great , it should be better than three star
From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel welcome and could not do enough for us, always smiling and welcoming. The room was 221 was clean warm and the bed was very comfortable with plenty of space for clothes.
Food was excellent with a varied menu, the only problem we had was there was too much food but you cannot complain of that. The specials board was excellent, and the breakfast and lunches were excellent too.
I used the swimming pool and was very impressed by the facilities there and understand that they are thought to be the best on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glynceri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I have stayed in hotels across the globe and can honestly say I have never found a better 3 star hotel anywhere.
From the moment we arrived the staff were very welcoming, always smiling and so willing to be of help.
The room allocated to us (215) was clean, warm with a comfortable bed. The decoration was clean, bright and in keeping with our expectations.
The food was good, hot and plentiful with a wide choice of dishes. I would recommend the Chicken with Stilton. Breakfast was equally good though could damage your waistline with amounts.
The pool is spotless and had a relaxing Jacuzzi and a separate steam rooms. There are sun beds and a Sauna but we did not use these.
There is a lot to do in Guernsey but I would recommend Victor Hugo's house and the Little Chapel with the nearby Clock Shop.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WetherbyWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
881 reviews
0 mi away
La Roche
La Roche
#1 of 1 in Castel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Auberge du Val
Auberge du Val
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
68 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Michele
Hotel La Michele
#2 of 8 in St Martins
128 reviews
0 mi away
The Queens Inn
The Queens Inn
#3 of 8 in St Martins
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villette Hotel

Address: St Martins GY4 6QG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Martins
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
La Villette Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing