We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Do Better with a Little Attention to Detail”
Review of La Villette Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Martins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Villette Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 St Martins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed for 4 days at the beginning of September.
Some positives and some negatives as usual.
Shown to our room no. 204 which on first appearance was very pleasant. New carpet, curtains and bath were all positives. Bed was large and extremely comfortable and room spacious. Negatives were the lack of cleanliness in the corners with dusty cobwebs hanging from the walls and on the TV. Dust in the wardrobe and dirty marks on the wall. The windows were very dirty on the outside and covered in dirt on the inside.
The shaving light was not working and immediately reported but was not fixed on day 5. I seem to remember a similar fault on another review. The sealant to the wash basin was filthy.
Spa and leisure complex were excellent and well furnished.
Food in the Bistro was good but the waiting staff could be a bit more attentive. At one time I thought we had become invisible and was only shown to a table after threatening to eat elsewhere. They could also smile occasionally. Perhaps they are being overworked!
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice although our coffee and tea and toast were forgotten one morning - did not get butter. On one day a waitress that was obviously new, could not find the tables to match the breakfasts.
The bar manager was a bumptious little man that hardly ever smiled.
TV worked intermittently "due to the weather"!
An enjoyable stay but could have been better with a little attention to detail.
Would I stay again? Possibly if they would let me after this review.

Room Tip: Room 204 is on the front overlooking the entrance but a little dark due to the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terence047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for a four night break in August. The hotel was above our expectations, comfortable, exceptionally clean and well kept, friendly staff and beautiful facilities. Would highly recommend.
We hope to return soon

Room Tip: We had a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at La Villette for 5 nights, and had a brilliant time. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, our room was large and airy with a spacious en-suite and was cleaned daily to a very high standard. It was very smart and modern and better than some 4 star hotels we've stayed in previously.The hotel was faultless, both inside and out! The food was fab, great breakfasts every morning and excellent evening meals.The menu/specials board was varied and catered for everyone (even my fussy father!). The leisure centre was amazing, with all the facilities you could possibly require including a large indoor pool. The outside one is heated too and extremely warm! We couldn't fault this hotel, it far exceeded our expectations and we hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have just got back from a week long stay at La Villette, and what can we say, it was fantastic!!

On arrival we needed to have a travel cot provided and this was set up without a mattress, however this was due to the fact the maids were not in until 6pm, however this got set up properly and this was brilliant for our 6 month old.

The girls on reception were brilliant, and they really made a fuss of our little one.

The breakfasts were excellent enough for what we wanted, and the waiters and waitresses made sure they out all dangerous items out of reach of our little one, especially now she is really grabby. This was a lovely touch and not many places will do this.

We ate in the restaurant once and couldn't fault it, however we did have to eat really quickly as our little one decided to have a bit of a strop.

The pool and leisure centre was great, especially as it will forever be the place where our daughter had her first swim.

Overall cannot fault this place one bit, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmers_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent a week here in late July, my wife and I in a double, the boys (late teens) in a twin. Very happy with the choice we made, the odd minor failing outweighed substantially by the excellence of the service & facilities in general.
Our rooms were perfectly adequate in terms of size and very good in terms of facilities provided. Cleanliness not an issue. Minor irritations: a) the none too scenic view of a flat roof b) the noisy bathroom fan c) the non-functional shaver point (still non-functional after they said they'd fixed it - used the one in the boys' room).
We elected to dine in the hotel on the first evening...found the quantity and quality of the meals such that we never did get to eat anywhere else. Good choice, very reasonably priced too - was only on the last evening I ended up ordering the same item again. Service was friendly and efficient.
The same story at breakfast...plenty of choice, helpful & efficient service.
Leisure facilities were worthy of a 4 star (or better) hotel...I racked up some significant treadmill mileage in the gym, while my wife & younger son made the most of the indoor pool...never got round to using the heated outdoor pool though.
Plenty of space to park the car, nice quiet location - just the occasional disturbance from a plane landing at nearby St Martins airport.
Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Initially when we booked in, wasnt impressed with the welcome, but it did improve, found room and bed quite small, asked to change, but was told hotel full, but breakfast and dining hall, never busy! and didnt see a lot of people around, so dont believe it!
waitressing staff good, cleanliness, swimming pools excellent, plenty of tea and biscuits, food not great in dining room, breakfast good!
overall not a bad stay, good location, easy to find.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArleneP p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

From the time of arrival until final departure we received excellent treatment from the friendly and courteous staff.The food was appetising and as much or little as you wanted.
The rooms were clean and well equipped .The indoor pool and gym were an added bonus and it was a pity that we were on such a tight schedule that we could not take more advantage of it.
Information and printing of tickets was never a problem nor was a potential late return from a family wedding we were attending
Highly recommended for a tranquil restful holiday away from the daily grind.Pity our stay was so short .
Will stay again Well Done all at La Villette

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#4 of 9 in St Martins
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge du Val
Auberge du Val
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villette Hotel

Address: St Martins GY4 6QG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Martins
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
La Villette Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing