We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant Wait to Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Villette Hotel

La Villette Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Villette Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 St Martins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cant Wait to Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was my third visit and my partner first.
Nice to see some of the original staff still there after 7 years.
As always the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was excellent even though we had to complain about the woman in the room next door smoking out of her window in the early hours, even though there are notices everywhere about their no smoking policy, but a quiet word with the manager and it was all sorted the next day.
Food as always is excellent and having seen some people comment about having to wait and actually hearing people moan during my visit you have to consider that at this time of year a lot of staff have returned to university.
All in all ..... have already booked my return visit and cannot wait.

In fact my partner was struggling to accept the 3star rating and said the service and dedication of the team way outstripped that of his fellow workers at the 4 star hotel he works at on the mainland.

Leisure facilities are second to none even taking into account some of the higher rated hotels nearby.

Comes very highly recommended and you learn to not notice the airplanes after your first day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    65
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
95
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for a short last minute break at the end of August. This is a 3 star hotel and the room was what I would expect - pleasant, clean, not too large, and just marred by a couple of damp patches towards the window. That was where the 3 star classification stopped. The rest of the hotel was definitely 5 star, especially the swimming pool and the food. Breakfast was individually cooked for you - none of this self-service stuff with fried eggs immersed in fat with the consistency of rubber. Reception was fantastic in arranging for us to move into our room at 10.30 after a rescheduled Condor ferry got us to Guernsey earlier than expected. We also ate in the hotel every evening - again fantastic food reasonably priced. One tip - make sure you book for the evening meal, as this hotel is very popular with the locals. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musexmner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The whole of the hotel had a very good atmosphere of happy to help and deliver a good service.
The barman was always ready for a laugh as well as delivering a professional service.
The waitresses and waiters made you feel that nothing was too much trouble.
The locals use this hotel so this can only be an excellent choice......

Room Tip: We stayed 7 nights in 235 and would stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarindaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is by far the best hotel we have stopped in for a long time ,the food was excellent, the leisure facilities where perfect but the most impressive aspect where the staff ,nothing was
to much trouble for them they where polite and helpful no matter what time of day it was, not
for a long time have we come across such a perfect hotel, we will certainly be going back there
again.

Room Tip: any room is suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank martin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Returned here for the second time and we were not disappointed. We requested the same room that we had last time and we were given it, which was nice. We went at the end of August so were a bit concerned that as it was school holiday time, the pool would be over-run with children but we only say one with his family so again, most evenings, we had the pool and hot-tubs to ourselves. Breakfasts are good with a good choice and the croissants are lovely! Evening meals in the bar are quick, nothing fancy but after a long day, fit the bill as we didn't want to have to go out and look for places to eat. Our room was a good size and the tea, coffee and biscuits are well stocked. This hotel is under the flight path for the airport but planes usually don't start to come in until 7am and they finish in the evening. The road outside the hotel is also very busy so if you value some quiet, ask for a room that is away from the road. Lots of the rooms are on the carpark side so bear in mind that this could be noisy as the hotel is also open for outside functions and meetings. Normally, I would like a quieter location but we chose to return here as we liked the hotel and its' facilities so much - just bring some ear plugs.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the roadside and carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbeez67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed for 4 days at the beginning of September.
Some positives and some negatives as usual.
Shown to our room no. 204 which on first appearance was very pleasant. New carpet, curtains and bath were all positives. Bed was large and extremely comfortable and room spacious. Negatives were the lack of cleanliness in the corners with dusty cobwebs hanging from the walls and on the TV. Dust in the wardrobe and dirty marks on the wall. The windows were very dirty on the outside and covered in dirt on the inside.
The shaving light was not working and immediately reported but was not fixed on day 5. I seem to remember a similar fault on another review. The sealant to the wash basin was filthy.
Spa and leisure complex were excellent and well furnished.
Food in the Bistro was good but the waiting staff could be a bit more attentive. At one time I thought we had become invisible and was only shown to a table after threatening to eat elsewhere. They could also smile occasionally. Perhaps they are being overworked!
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice although our coffee and tea and toast were forgotten one morning - did not get butter. On one day a waitress that was obviously new, could not find the tables to match the breakfasts.
The bar manager was a bumptious little man that hardly ever smiled.
TV worked intermittently "due to the weather"!
An enjoyable stay but could have been better with a little attention to detail.
Would I stay again? Possibly if they would let me after this review.

Room Tip: Room 204 is on the front overlooking the entrance but a little dark due to the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terence047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for a four night break in August. The hotel was above our expectations, comfortable, exceptionally clean and well kept, friendly staff and beautiful facilities. Would highly recommend.
We hope to return soon

Room Tip: We had a ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Martins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villette Hotel

Property: La Villette Hotel
Address: St Martins GY4 6QG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Martins
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
La Villette Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing