We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Holiday”
Review of La Villette Hotel

La Villette Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Villette Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 St Martins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Traveled with a 7 year old and a 1 year old, so the flight distance was great. transfer time to the hotel brilliant. First impressions the hotel is well maintained and pleasant. Staff on the reception desk were very helpful as we arrived to early to check in, however they kept our luggage and offered various places to go to fill the time. En suite Room on the ground floor was adequate for a family of four, the travel cot was in the room all ready for us. There was no air conditioning so had to open windows to keep the room cooler. Booking is recommended for evening meal and is only in the bar, (the main restaurant seems to be kept only for breakfast!), the menu had a good selection as did the children's menu. However, service let our first night meal down, having to wait and possibly be forgotten with the food turning up overcooked, hence we did not eat here again until the last night! Facilities in the hotel were good with the choice of indoor and outdoor pools. Good changing facilities inside but outdoor ones were a little dated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    65
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
94
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Room was clean and well appointed, excellent pool facilities and close to the airport. The staff are hardworking and pleasant however, the manager was extraordinarily rude and so was a man who was drinking at the bar and who came over to our table - turned out he was the owner. We felt sorry for the restaurant staff who were doing their best and were clearly embarrassed at the way we were treated. Would not choose to stay here again because of owner and management attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughborough
Level Contributor
421 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We booked for flights and a 4-night stay incl. bed and breakfast through Aurigny. What a bargain , going in October we paid just under £500 and had a great time . Some of the decor was a little dated in places but the accommodation was clean and the staff were very helpful in upgrading us to a king size room on our second night when i mentioned that i was finding the standard bed a little small for my height of 6' 4". The evening meal was tasty and there were gluten free options for my wife. However some dishes were a little expensive although the set menu was better value The pool and jacuzzi in the leisure suite were an added but welcomed bonus. The staff were all polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kishere t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great Hotel. Very clean and well looked after room. Good comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was superb and piping hot.Would recommend and will go back myself. Very good Restaurant with a excellent choice on the menu and well cooked and served Food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a great hotel. Superb value. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The staff are friendly and effiicient. The food in the bistro is excellent - well cooked, proper bar food. Situated in a quiet area, with lovely cliff top walks nearby. This was my second stay, on business, but I would return as a leisure customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Hotel staff were polite, friendly and good humoured; the rooms were clean and well proportioned and the bed was extremely comfy! The dinner was absolutely incredible for a 3-star; three courses for under £20 as well, we were astounded. A buzzing atmosphere at dinner time. Pool and leisure facilities were first class and the evidently underused residents lounge was a oasis of calm away from the restaurant if you wanted some peace and quiet. Just a short walk to island buses or plenty of on-site parking. I couldn't find anything to fault this hotel on, it is the best hotel stay I have ever had anywhere and I can't wait to return! Bravo La Villette.... keep it up!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDino385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was my third visit and my partner first.
Nice to see some of the original staff still there after 7 years.
As always the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was excellent even though we had to complain about the woman in the room next door smoking out of her window in the early hours, even though there are notices everywhere about their no smoking policy, but a quiet word with the manager and it was all sorted the next day.
Food as always is excellent and having seen some people comment about having to wait and actually hearing people moan during my visit you have to consider that at this time of year a lot of staff have returned to university.
All in all ..... have already booked my return visit and cannot wait.

In fact my partner was struggling to accept the 3star rating and said the service and dedication of the team way outstripped that of his fellow workers at the 4 star hotel he works at on the mainland.

Leisure facilities are second to none even taking into account some of the higher rated hotels nearby.

Comes very highly recommended and you learn to not notice the airplanes after your first day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Martins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villette Hotel

Property: La Villette Hotel
Address: St Martins GY4 6QG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Martins
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
La Villette Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing