We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an unfortunate choice”
Review of Hotel La Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Michele
Ranked #2 of 8 St Martins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Casablanca
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“an unfortunate choice”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Small bedroom, too small indeed, impossible to stay here in the day.
Old bathroom, very old, no up-to-date, with a huge tub that takes up all the space, obviously not tap and no air conditioning in the room.
Lovely staff, but not from the couple owners who is only there to make money.
Too bad, the pool is nice and the breakfeast not bad.
we can do much better on the island for less

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francois v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    18
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
70
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely small hotel tucked away in quiet lanes behind St Martins Church. Lovely stroll in picturesque surrounding, yet a short distance to pretty bays. Enjoyed a lovely breakfast cooked to perfection in their lovely garden, so very relaxing. The hosts and their staff are excellent and make everyone feel very welcome.

Room Tip: There seemed to be no lift and my room was I think on the second floor, no problem for me but others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Wow Dino Celeste and the team need to pat themselves on the back they Realy go the extra mile it's spotless the food is to die for and nothing is too much trouble this is fast becoming the best place to stay on guernsey and you would be hard pushed to beat the hospitality they offer they know there stuff with big emphasis on attention to detail on all counts huge thanks to our waiter deiogo pleasant change to find a waiter who can engage in conversation so all your needs are met I can't wait to return

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Three of us visited this hotel for the third time. We have booked for a fourth.

Room, very good.
The towels were changed daily as was the shower gel and shampoo.
The food was excellent including some very tasty vegitarian dishes. Good choice.
Bar and conservatory very good. Jigsaw puzzles in the conservatory kept a number of us entertained for hours. The crosswords on the breakfast table helped to bring people together as we all tried to do them. In good weather the garden is a very nice place to sit and have afternoon tea. The pool looks good, but I do not do pools.

The hotels location is good, being close to walks,(a few mins. from Fermain bay), walking distance from St. Peters Port, and a very short walk from the main bus route.

Deno and Celeste have only had the business a few months, but are working hard to change things to the way they want them. They greeted us warmly and reacted quickly to our needs.

Many people said that the Wi Fi system was good.

This is a 2* hotle gining excellent value for money

Room Tip: A view over the back garden or look at the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

First time I have stayed at this Hotel & Certainly won't be the last!!
Dino & Celeste are Great hosts & go out of their way to make sure your stay is a good one!
Great food & a Wonderful location make this hotel a Great choice !!
Highly Recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

For 2014 La Michele is now under new management and I am delighted to report that Dino and Celeste continue the very high standards maintained by Roger and Susie for so many years.

Immaculate rooms, courteous service, splendid food with excellent options for the veggie!

Very convenient for public transport.

Strongly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Warm welcome and a great stay,lovely quiet location.Hotel is about ten minutes drive from the airport and about two minute walk from bus stop.St peter port is about twenty five minutes walk from the hotel down hill,or ten minutes by bus or car.Nice breakfast and evening meals, rooms cleaned daily and towels changed. Dino and Celeste lovely hosts and if you like sailing ask Dino he may take you out for a sail. Hopefully be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#6 of 9 in St Martins
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Michele

Property: Hotel La Michele
Address: Hotel La Michele Hubits de Bas, St Martins GY4 6NB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Michele 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Michele Hotel St Martins
Hotel La Michele Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing