We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Have just finished an extended stay at the Ellingham Cottages. It was perfect, a real home from home experience. Very welcoming and well equipped with on site parking. The children loved the well kept field at the top of the complex, a great space for them to play. The cottages and gardens are also kept lovely and clean by Lena, and Simon the owner is always available and so helpful.
Supermarkets and bakery a stroll away, two Garages just around the corner, with the local bus service passing your doorstep.
Would recommend to all my family and friends, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a week in the Ellingham Cottages and loved the accommodation-thanks to Simon the owner for the fantastic cottage and for being so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We had a Prestige cottage and everything about it was great-very clean and comfortable with plenty of space and a patio at the back overlooking a large field. As other reviewers have stated, the cottages are very well-equipped.

With regard to location,the Ellingham Cottages are a short walk from the village of St Martins so it's easy to get to shops and pubs/hotels. It's also a short walk to bus stops and Sausmarez Manor (stately home with gardens and sculpture trail, well worth a visit). If you do catch a bus it's worth bearing in mind that the drivers don't always have change! (It's a £2 fare for a single trip to anywhere on the island for non-Guernsey residents). A taxi to St Peter Port costs £7-£8, the taxi firms seem to be very busy in the mornings but you can easily find a taxi in St Peter Port for the return journey.

An excellent place to stay, both for the accommodation itself and the location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EOL715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

6 of us stayed here for the last week of the school holidays in August. The area around the cottages is very peaceful and the cottages themselves are very well equipped. We took my two boys and the cottages have a lovely play field out the back that they could go and play on. There were quiet a few kids around but it was very quiet in general. The cottages are very well maintained and the owner is very approachable. The cottages are a short walk from Moulin Huet (Steep walk) and this was lovely to walk down to first thing in the morning. The cottages are just off the main ring road and the shops are within walking distance. Would we stay here again? Yes. We will be back one day......

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burmana2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

i've just got home from a week in Guernsey, staying at the Ellingham Cottages in St Martins
What a fabulous place to stay

The owner, Simon, couldnt do enough for us - very friendly chap and runs the place really well. It backs onto a huge field, also owned by Simon, which has 5 sets of barbeques, boating pool, golf clubs, tennis equipment, footballs, loads of childrens play stuff - and you just help yourself and put it back when done. Also has a room full of dvds and books - again, you just help yourself. My wife doesnt particularly "do" holidays but she says its the best trip away she has had in years and we all want to go back ( I only got home two hours ago!)
If anyone puts up negative comments about the cottages, ignore them - the place is absolutely brilliant, close to everything and ideal for families as well as couples and older people - no noise at all

I'll be going back

Room Tip: all of the houses are top notch quality - some sleep 6 others 4. I believe there is at least one spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kieran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The cottage we stayed in was spacious and well kitted out. The lounge door led on to decking with a BBQ and summer furniture and a huge lawn where there was a paddling pool, all kinds of things for kids and some summer huts for sitting out in the evening. Simon, the owner, went out of his way to feel welcome and was very helpful. The room full of children's books and toys to borrow was great for our little girl. The cottage is very near some shops which was also handy. The guide to the area, written by the owners, was very informative too! We hope to be back for our 3rd year next year!! A great place for a holiday and really like home from home.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After an extended stay at these cottages I cannot praise them highly enough. Simon was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The accomodation was perfect, beautifully clean and had lovely little touches that made you feel at home. An added bonus is the variety of places to eat all within a short walking distance perfect when you don't feel like cooking, but with easy access to the shops when you do! This is in addition to the beautiful cliffs which again are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just returned from a week in this cottage, and would definitely return again. The cottage was clean with all the amenities you would want. On our arrival we were greeted by Simon the owner and in the cottage we received tea, coffee, milk, bread, local tea bread, and Guernsey cheese and butter - a lovely touch which makes you feel welcomed and means you don't have to rush out to get some food. There are bikes that you can use for all the family and toys the children can play with in the lovely big garden. The shops are 5 minutes walking distance and St Peter Port is 10 minutes on the bus. Simon was very helpful and friendly making the whole experience a very pleasant one. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Del Mar Court Self Catering Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#4 of 9 in St Martins
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages

Address: The Office Les Camps Du Moulin, St Martins GY4 6DX
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in St Martins
Price Range: £90 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful 4* self-catering cottages in Guernsey. Spacious and comfortable two and three bedroom cottages with gardens. The cottages are in a peaceful, rural location surrounded by quiet green lanes for walking and cycling - and just a 10 minute stroll to stunning cliff top walks and sandy bays. Convenient for local shops and Sausmarez Manor in the village of St Martins. The town of St Peter Port with its cobbled streets and VAT free shopping is a short drive or bus ride away. Cottages are decorated and furnished to a high standard. Guest library with up-to-date books, toys and games available to guests. Guests may also borrow available BBQs and beach toys. Bookings are taken for a minimum 7 nights stay, with majority of cottages taking Saturday to Saturday bookings. A two-bedroom cottage is available for Wednesday - Wednesday bookings. Free on-site parking. Cots, highchairs, etc available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing