We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I was expecting”
Review of La Croix Guerin Cafe - CLOSED

La Croix Guerin Cafe
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had heard so much about this cafe. We were taken there as guests and a table was reserved as we were told it might be difficult to get a table. It was a freezing cold day with the temperature just 3 degrees above freezing and a howling easterly making it feel more like minus 5 degrees. On our arrival the cafe had just opened. We were shown to our table which was underneath two open windows! We asked if they could be closed as we sat down in our coats which we did not remove the whole time we were there. We ordered Eggs Benedict - the food arrived on plates which felt as though they had been removed from a freezer they were so cold. It was unfortunate that the egg yolks congealed on the plates, and the food cooled down very quickly which was a shame as the food was beautifully cooked. We were very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wendybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Confolens, France
Level Contributor
237 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Cafe Bistro, food and staff”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Really love this place for breakfast, the staff and cooking are very good. They even provide their own produce such as bacon, pork pies, sausage rolls, pâté, and cakes, (which are very good). On a nice day you can sit outside. The owner and Zina make it a real peasant experience.

Note wi fi available, and dogs are allowed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Over from Sark for the day and mentioned to the hairdresser that I was going to St Martins she promptly recommended La Croix Guerin Cafe because a lot of locals use it.
We were terribly disappointed.
My cup which came with the pot of tea was ringed with brown inside and had yellow bits stuck to it.
The glass that came with the bottle of water looked so grimey that my niece drank from the bottle.
We both chose deep fried brie which came with a full plate of sad shredded salad.
The coating on the brie was so thick it was like pudding and the brie was hardly melted.
The tea was good.
The two young waitresses were doing their best but were in need of supervision.
The toilet was smelly and horrible.
The whole cafe needs a good clean.
We will not return and will certainly not recommend

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mallymags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Small cafe in Saint Martins.”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

On the corner in Saint Martins, serving teas, coffees, lunches and various foods. Friendly staff, good food, what else do you need.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Guernseylink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confolens, France
Level Contributor
237 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, and nice to sit outside”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Had quite a few breakfasts here which have been good, tasty and consistent. The sausages and bacon is very good, and so is the toast.

They also cater for celiacs, with some gluten free options.

The breakfast are a little expensive, and the staff can be a bit hassled, and off hand. The owner also can be a litte off hand, or stressed, even though you become regulars.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Croix Guerin Cafe also viewed

St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing