We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Croix Guerin Cafe - CLOSED

La Croix Guerin Cafe
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's a shame”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

They use good quality ingredients particularly the sausage and bacon. We ate here four or five times but the eggs were never basted over the top (this means splashing hot fat over them to cook the top). So when you dipped bread in your egg it stretched from the plate to your mouth like mucus.When asked to cook the bacon a little more ie crispy it was burnt to a cinder. On the last day they missed several items off our breakfast. We pointed this out and they arrived later but then they tried to charge them as extra's on the bill when they should have been included in the price.But the most worrying thing for me in this cafe was the amount of flies buzzing around very unhygenic. If you visit the toilet there are even more in there so I guess they walk all over the toilet and then all over your food. It's a shame because with such good quality ingredients you should get a good breakfast. We were told our items didn't arrive because the cook is Chinese and doesn't understand so what with all this and the flies it was not good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hearthy breakfast at small cafe”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

set at a busy intersection the cafe is a little oasis of calm. The menu is simple but well done. The tea is probably the best we had on the island but Guernsey tea is rough enough even at it's best

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good little cafe”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Le Croix Guerin cafe greets you at the entrance with a nice selection of cakes, which are very tempting. The menu contains a good range of options, from breakfasts to sandwiches to burgers. There are a nice range of teas and coffees, hot chocolates, milk shakes. Alcohol is also available. The food is good quality and the service is friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guernsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Touch of Nostalgia”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Nostalgia isn't what it used to be, so they say, but La Croix Guerin has managed to keep the old and blend in the new in a very successful manner. There has been an eatery on this corner site for decades which has maintained traditional Guernsey fayre in a simple traditional way. The menu is now more varied and caters for young and old, so it's popular with a wider crowd too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeTocq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had heard so much about this cafe. We were taken there as guests and a table was reserved as we were told it might be difficult to get a table. It was a freezing cold day with the temperature just 3 degrees above freezing and a howling easterly making it feel more like minus 5 degrees. On our arrival the cafe had just opened. We were shown to our table which was underneath two open windows! We asked if they could be closed as we sat down in our coats which we did not remove the whole time we were there. We ordered Eggs Benedict - the food arrived on plates which felt as though they had been removed from a freezer they were so cold. It was unfortunate that the egg yolks congealed on the plates, and the food cooled down very quickly which was a shame as the food was beautifully cooked. We were very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wendybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Croix Guerin Cafe also viewed

St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing