We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, a bit out of the way but would stay if on holiday and wanted piece and quiet!”
Review of Saints Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saints Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This was an emergency stop as flight home was cancelled, rate was good as was the food. I normally come over on business so I prefer more centrally located hotels. It was foggy and overcast so did not see much outside but the pool area I would say would be a sun trap for those who want Ito ran and have quiet! Staff were extremely helpful with all the "refugees" from the cancelled flights. Very clean though maybe needing a bit of update and touch up here and there. Thanks for the breakfast tray, I had to leave before 8.00am so that could also be an issue if I was on business, that is the reason I marked the location down

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2011

Nice clean hotel in fantastic quiet location just 5 mins walk from spectacular cliffside views. We stayed in a superior room which was very comfortable. Restaurant was closed for refurb but we had booked half board so we ate in the bar instead which was fine. On our second night the manager arranged for the chef to cook us a special vegetarian menu which was delicious. The staff were some of the most friendly & helpful we've come across during extensive travels. The cliff path walk 5 mins away is fantastic & it was nice to be able to leave the car at the hotel.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vespachic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We spent a week at this hotel. We know the island well and chose to stay there as the hotel is right on the south coast clifftop path, ideal for long walks. The weather that week was more like autumn but we got out everyday with the thought of the lovely food to come back to. It really was a wonderful menu all expertly presented and served by attentive staff. The hotel is a little strange to look at from the outside but once you are in everything in the bar and restaurant are excellent. We did have a problem with our bathroom but they quickly allowed us to change room. If you are a light sleeper you might want to ask for a room at the back as the dustcart seems to come everyday except weekends at 4.00am! We will never tire of the island itself, so many varied landscapes and a trip to Herm was a delight as always.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkybid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Although I felt £85 per night B&B was a bit pricey, having scoured the island for accommodation it seemed to be the lowest average price.

Staff were lovely, very helpful and good fun which produced a lovely ambience and nothing was too much trouble. Room, as with the rest of the hotel, was very clean and well supplied. Pool was very well kept with plenty of choices for outdoor seating.

Location was good, no great views from hotel itself but a 2 minute walk produced plenty. Bus service was easily accessed just 5 minutes walk away.

Food was good. Breakfast was served as a buffet with plenty of choice, they just needed to either make your toast for you or have a more efficient self service toaster (or 2). I opted to eat in the bar each night and the food was good and generously portioned but the opening hours could have done with extending a little. Restaurant menu looked good.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, was there for work but felt relaxed and well cared for. Perfectly comfortable for a single traveller. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

i travelled to this hotel over the May bank holiday weekend, with my husband and his family.

First impressions of the hotel were ok, i felt a little dissapointed because the website was so fancy, it looked different to what i had imagined. Reception was nice, cleanly decorated, and the staff on reception were very welcoming, checking in 5 of us almost instantly and taking us upstairs to our rooms, carrying our bags.

The rooms were lovely, very big and spacious, with a huge leather bed, wardrobe, dressing table,trouser press and iron, one dressing gown (for two of us!) plus tea and coffee. the bathroom was equally as big, with shower and bath, and free toiletries. We had a special rate of £25 per person for the first night because we were attending a party in the hotel that evening.

The hotel itself is very well presented, if a little confusingly laid out, with lots of staircases and corridors. the pool area was ok, again not as nice as it looked on the website, it looked a little shabby and a bit run down. This may have been because it was the beginning of the season though....

the restaurant was lovely, lots of tables, maybe too many as it seemed to get a little cramped if you were sat at the back. nevertheless the food was beautiful, i cant comment on the menu, as we had a set menu for the party, however the food we had was beautiful. Good choice of food at breakfast too - cereal, crossiant, cooked breakfast, juice, tea, coffee and more

The location of the hotel was ok, i dont think there was a lot to do in the area, but we only stayed for two nights. my family had experience of Guernsey, and have been plenty of times before so they were able to take us to places we wouldnt have necessarily been able to find if we had never been before.

The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, when we arrved we were met by the waitress from the hotel, to organise the meal for that evening for our young neice, to decided what she wanted etc. She obviously loves her job a lot, and continued to be as helpful throughout the whole weekend - which to be honest did become a bit overbearing! The rest of the staff were also just as good

We did have a problem with our stay - we had only been booked in for one night, when we had booked two, luckily they had our rooms avavilable, but we would have to pay full price instead of the reduced rate! in the end we ended up getting a discount on the room for the second night becuase of the inconvenience. it later transpired that a relative of ours had rang to check the booking a few days before our arrival, and bought this problem to receptions attention, but nothing was sorted out.......

in summary a lovely hotel, which would be perfect if a few things were tweaked..Would definitely recommend to a friend

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carllyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This is an unpretentious 3 star hotel. It is in a wonderful location next to the coastal path.
Although there are no views from hotel itself, wonderful views can be had by crossing the road. All staff, apart from one, were very friendly and helpful. Cooked breakfast choice was good. The buffet selection was uninspiring. I felt the chef may have been trying to cook beyond his capabilities for some of the a la carte dinner selections. Risotto as an accompaniment to main dish was particularly poor. There is also a bar menu. The bedroom was rather crammed with furniture, but it was clean and the bed looked newish.Due to location and pleasant staff, I would stay here again but I would probably go elsewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonniebraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I have stayed here before and had a better stay that time - I just felt it had lost a bit of lustre this time round.
Friendly staff, as always, but not quite as clean as before, although nothing worthy of a complaint. Great things are the location, staff, parking, bathrobes in the room and price. However, breakfast was a little disappointing and dinner was fantastic value but not anything great. The staff make this all fine, though, as you do feel well catered for and looked after. V sorry to see just four TV channels in this day and age, however, and the rooms are a little dark. Would stay again due to the ambience, price and location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seashellgirlDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
2.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#3 of 9 in St Martins
196 reviews
1 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saints Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saints Bay Hotel

Address: Icart Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6JG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £71 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saints Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Saints Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saints Bay Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing