We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not ask for more.....”
other travellers have booked this property
The Ellingham Cottages has 12 self-catering holiday cottages set in large grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Ellingham Cottages has 12 self-catering holiday cottages set in large grounds.
Turn right out of The Ellingham Cottages and enjoy a day strolling the cliffs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Ellingham Cottages has 12 self-catering holiday cottages set in large grounds.
Turn right out of The Ellingham Cottages and enjoy a day strolling the cliffs
Thoughtfully decorated cottages, giving that 'home from home' feeling.
Decked area for the ground-floor (disabled-friendly) cottage
Endless summer days playing on the beach.
Glorious sunset over Rocquaine Bay
Sitting down to enjoy a family meal.
Al fresco dining in St Peter Port with stunning views of the Harbour and Castle Cornet.
View of The Ellingham Cottages from the back garden.
St Martins is blessed with many wonderful bays and coves.  Explore them when walking the cliff paths
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Martins, Guernsey, Channel Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
munchyone
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ellingham Cottages”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in a 2 bed cottage which was for mobility impaired.
The cottage however is not suitable for wheelchair users, as has no wet room. The twin room is not wheelchair accessible either.
The accommodation was fabulous size wise and had a huge deck overlooking the rear lawn.There is no privacy for the bedrooms which are ground floor and have no nets or voices. This meant keeping the cutrains closed a lot.
We would like to have had both settees at disabled height as one was very low.
The worst thing was the AWFUL squeaking floorboards throughout the apartment. They were unbearable. I'm surprised no other reviewers have commented. Even the carpeted bedrooms creaked. You could not move silently and so the sound was very intrusive.even drowning the tv sound.
The toilet also was like a thunderbox at night so could not flush it.
We mentioned the flooring to Simon but apparently it can't be fixed.
A shame because if it could,we would have returned, but now we will not.
Also be warned that noise can be heard from flat above. We stayed in number 10.
This review is honest but written sadly as the owners were exceptional.
In fairness Guernsey appears not to cater for disabled or mobility impaired as have found nothing else suitable
I would like to thank Simon and Fiona for listening to our comments and we hope it will be constructive feedback
.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your review and for the feedback that you have offered. Simon and I have fully reviewed your comments and appreciate your honest feedback. The cottage has been rated as 'partially accessible' by DisabledGo, as whilst it is suitable for wheelchair users in that it is on the ground-floor, with a ramp up to the cottage, extra-width hallways for wheelchair access and lower-set light switches etc, we have opted to not turn it into a fully-disabled unit so as to better suit the majority of our guests, who are more able-bodied. I am available to discuss the specification of the cottage in full detail to potential guests to ensure that it is suitable for them. I am so sorry that you did not feel that the cottage was suitable for you. Wishing you both all the best, Fiona.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddwindy
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could not ask for more.....”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

First visit to Guernsey, and a last minute decision, we were lucky enough to stumble across Ellingham Cottages online and were only able to book because of a cancelation. As a family of four we simply could not have asked for more. The cottages themselves are simple, comfortable, and offer everything you need from a holiday cottage. Alongside the cottages are the communal area's, a large grassed area with Play Houses for the kids, a "Play room" full of toys for the kids to use during the week, kids and adults DVD's for the evenings and even buckets and spades for the beach. Guernsey itself is a little gem - no where is particularly difficult to get to by car, and there is a good bus service should it be required, or hire cars. At the North of the Island you have sandy beaches that would not look out of place in the Caribbean whilst the South offers cliff top walks. The island is steeped in history and despite having a 2 year old and 5 years old in tow - they absolutely loved Castle Cornet. I can not recommend both Ellingham and Guernsey enough and we will be back next year!! Thank you to both Simon and Fiona.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Fantastic! We are so pleased that you loved Guernsey and your stay at The Ellingham Cottages. Your lovely children made the most of the play room/guest library - which was brilliant! Hopefully we will see you again the next time you fancy a little Channel Islands break!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lalalml
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had an amazing week at Ellingham in our lovely holiday house. We explored the island and researched family history. The garden and deck were brilliant for relaxing and the kids loved the 'Store' with all the beach toys,games,books and DVDs . Beautiful beaches and walks nearby and super friendly owners and children. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thanks so much much for this lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and made full use of the facilities. Have a great rest of the summer! Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loisking
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home for me and my pets!”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Ellingham Cottages for 4 months from November 2016 to February 2017. The Cottages are very well equipped with everything one could possibly need or want. They are cosy and warm and provided a wonderful haven during my last 4 months in Guernsey. I am not a tourist having lived in the island for some years, but even I appreciated the proximity to fabulous walks and lovely hotels. The Cottages are within walking distance of shops and a bank so very conveniently located. But the thing that made my stay perfect instead of pleasant was the wonderful wonderful kindness, flexibility and non-intrusive owners and managers, Fiona and Simon. I also appreciated the weekly housekeeping service. Ellingham Cottages are simply the best place to stay in Guernsey for families and people who want a self catering Guernsey experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at The Ellingham and that you found the cottages provided you with 'the haven' that you needed. Best of luck with your new and exciting adventure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Enjoyed an 8 night holiday in comfortable accommodation. Close to bus routes, and fantastic places to eat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpratley
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful haven amidst natural floral wonderland.”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Good location for numerous excellent restaurants (best seafood ever but plenty of alternatives on the menus). Many delightful walks from the cottages and others just a short car or bus journey. Breathtaking views, secluded beaches but well-stocked kiosks not far away. Well appointed accommodation with all we needed, friendly welcome (including "welcome pack" with local produce). A week was not long enough and can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and easy parking much appreciated, staff and owners very friendly and helpful.
Liked least: Near airport
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew E
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nothing to much trouble”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We moved to Guernsey in 2008 and we were recommended the Ellingham Cottages then. Fast forward 7 years. We decided to move back to the UK and once again where looking for a winter let to stay in as the tenancy agreement finished one month before moving day. I phoned up the Ellingham Cottages and spoke to Simon. After a short time he managed to arrange one of the properties for us to stay in. We stayed in No.7 which has the added benefit of an attached garden! Whilst we were there if we had any issues Simon or Fiona were around to sort it out. The house it's self is Warm, clean and modern. We really enjoyed staying there and has bus links and shops no more than 2-3 minute walk.
Whether you are looking at a short stay or longer this is the place you need to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The community atmosphere
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;