We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about the only unfriendly place on Guernsey -avoid at all costs”
Review of The Captains

The Captains
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$39
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Captains is best described as an Inn with rooms, all 9 en suite bedrooms have been recently re-carpeted and are equipped with tv, tea and coffee facilities and complimentary toiletries. The bar attracts locals and visitors alike and you are guaranteed lively banter around the bar area. Whilst the bistro and bar area serves traditional bar meals, the Captains has gained a reputation in recent years for their Seafood dishes and the freshest of local fish. Reservations are not always necessary but to avoid disappointment it is suggested at the weekends and the busy summer months.
Harrow
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just about the only unfriendly place on Guernsey -avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Went in just for a drink -It is after all in the good beer guide. Immediately made to feel unwelcome and they only had one (not local) mediocre beer. We didnt have a reservation so no one wanted us to find a seat -we sat in something only reserved from one but were turfed out of that 15 minutes early in an extremely rude manner. Left as quickly as we could to the nearby & excellent Les Douvres which has good beer list and is very friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnClementHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonDelamare, Owner at The Captains, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
I am very sorry you did not have a good experience at the Captains this evening, Unfortunately for you we were fully booked this evening for dinner, had we had a table available we would gladly have given it to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    37
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great value esp. during 'Tennerfest'”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Four of us ate here during Tennerfest 2013. We turned up without booking as we were unable to find (in the rain and darkness!) the restaurant we had been looking for. Although very busy we were found a table and enjoyed a tasty meal with generous portions. Billed as three courses with tea/coffee all for £10, there was a good selection of starters and mains, but dessert was a chocolate rice crispy cake. Not complaining - still terrific value! Car parking is tricky on busy evenings too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid the coffee!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Tennerfest 2013. One of the few to actually charge a 'tenner' but boy could you see where they had saved money. Starter of mackerel on rocket was nice and the sausage and mash main course was fine. A rice crispy cake for pudding is a trademark of the Captains but please don't serve that awful coffee. A cup of instant with a spoonful of coffee-mate is not acceptable. Better to not include coffee in the price of the meal and make a decent cup.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SolsticeSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Value for money and quality”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We ate either here or The Falcon. I preferred the food here it was better, cheaper and more of it. The sea food gratin and the lasagne were particularly good. Decent portion sizes too. There sticky toffee pudding is to die for. The sea food gratin is full of lobster and prawns. It's a pub in the middle of no where and it's always full that tells you everything

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Five of us had dinner at this busy restaurant - inside, after we rejected the offer of a table in the carpark - and the food was excellent. Portions were very large, and we could not finish everything. Service was casual but very efficient, fast and friendly.

Best orders were the pizza and ribeye steaks.

Very good for a pub meal with family. Lots of local gossip in the pub - friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mishmash255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Captains also viewed

St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Captains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing