We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel,great food and fantastic beauty treatments”
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We recently stayed at The Bella Luce and had a wonderful experience.The hotel is in a beautiful setting,peaceful and tranquil.The staff were friendly and we had a great meal in the restaurant.
My partner and I booked into their new spa...I regularly have treatments back in the UK and I was not disappointed.Most probably the best treatments I have experienced .
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgan041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

Oh dear an expensive mistake. The restaurant was the biggest issue as they only had 1 vegetarian option and we were staying 4 nights. 2 members of staff confirmed that was all they could offer. With our room costing £200 per night it was more than disappointing.
The hotel itself looks nice from the front. If you come in from the rear you are confronted with staff on their breaks and talking on their phones. The manager also smokes and chats on his phone with no regard for guests trying to relax in the front garden. This became more annoying at night when, even with windows closed, we could hear every word he said from our bedroom window which was above the bar entrance.
The room was lovely and cleaned each day however the bed was too hard.
Some of the staff didn't have a good command of English language so it was difficult at times to get the information we required.
The area around the pool was shabby compared to the interior of the hotel. There was a boarded up window and it generally looked untidy. All in all it was just not value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My now husband and I chose the Bella Luce Hotel to hold our wedding reception this year and it was just amazing! Food was superb and was the service by all the staff, but especailly the manager who was there every step of the way and brought a great sense of enjoyment and relaxation to the proceedings.

The staff helped us the day before in making the marquee venue come to life by helping decorate it. Anything we asked for never to much trouble It made me feel very confident and relaxed on the day.

We chose to stay another night after the wedding night and we're spoiled rotten with more great food and service.. always with a smile. The staff really made us feel like they enjoyed their work and were prefessionals in their game.

The room we had was a luxary room and we couldn't fault it! Huge beds, roll top bath and large walk in shower. Clean, spacious comforatable, everything you want from a luxauary room. The hotel is set in a quiet part of the island so no late night noise.

For this special occassion I don't think we could have picked a better place! Thank you Bella Luce! I would highly recommend a stay at the hotel or even just a wonderful eveing out. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Luxuary Rooms are really worth it for a special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cub82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Had lunch there with the family, the bar was rustic and interior design lovely, the staff were very intentive and I enjoyed the wine. We were seated in the restaurant for a
bar lunch which wasn't cheap and not a lot of selection but when it came it was
beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Really enjoyed the whole exprerience
in fact I could of sat in the bar all afternoon!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebellGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed for 10 days in this beautiful hotel. Not cheap but definitely a 4 star hotel. Staff helpful & good service. Our room was above the bar but no excessive noise-the road tankers in the early morning made more noise. The room was quite dark due to only two windows but this is a old building-did not cause us any problems.Would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: On the bus route-only £1 per trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John499507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The Bella Luce is set in such a tranquil setting it's easy to forget quite where you are at times. With a fantastic blend of class without the snobbery the hotel boasts a unique atmosphere. Having lived on Guernsey until my teens this was a lovely way to get away from the familiarity of the island. My partner was so impressed he asked me to marry him which is a testiment to how romantic the hotel is. Truly splendid...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HZ_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My partner and i recently stayed at the Bella Luce in Guernsey for two nights.
Little did we know just what a treat we were in for.From a sumptuous room to
one of the most delightful restaurants i have eaten in for a long time.
Bella Luce is off the beaten track and boasts a lovely setting with wonderful staff to greet
you at reception,a great bar and a truly fabulous Spa to equal any one in Europe.
Yes were were a little early in the season,but cant wait to return in August to sample
their summer delights.
Alison Hudson.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_Hud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
2 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £109 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing