We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem on the island”
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“a gem on the island”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Only a one night stay on business but so much nicer than other hotels in which we have stayed. The staff were very welcoming and showed up to our rooms. The room was spacious and the bathroom was lovely with soft towels and good quality shampoo, conditioners etc.
We retreated to the bar and had a pot of tea to do some work and then we had supper from the bar menu - a really nice caesar salad followed by a yummy pud. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and this continued at breakfast the next morning - scrambled eggs and lots of tea and toast. We will be back - thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EyelashTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    118
    45
    14
    2
See reviews for
70
347
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Lovely hotel. Very comfortable room and bed. We stayed for two nights and slept extremely well. The whole hotel was extremely clean and our room was especially so. The bathroom was a good size and the supply of toiletries was a nice touch. The breakfasts were very good with choice of continental breakfast or English. my husband especially enjoyed the full English breakfast. We were also lucky enough to enjoy an evening meal at the hotel as they catered for my sister's wedding reception. The food was excellent and the service from the waiters can't be praised enough as they were so attentive. We loved the decor of the hotel, especially the room with the dog portraits, very unusual but all the rooms we saw were decorated very tastefully in the style of the hotel. It is obviously a very well cared for hotel. The staff were all helpful and friendly. We would certainly stay here again next time we come to Guernsey.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Room big and clean, we were even offered a choice of rooms! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ate 1 night in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Lots to see and do, just a shame we were there in January as most were closed, didn't stop us walking on cliff tops and watching Banger Racing on the beach! We will be going back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have baths and showers some only showers. If you want a bath best ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

we stayed in october 2012 for my husband,s 50th as a surprise, the hotel was great they upgraded us for my husband,s birthday, the staff were great and friendly and very helpful, told us about the tenfrest have a 3 course dinner from £10.00 so lovely places to eat. the weather was a bit cold but it was oct, watched the sea storm come over the walls and in the harbour in st peters in the evening. would stay there again.

Room Tip: we had a room looking out on the car park was ok but you could hear the dryer in the loo,s under the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leggy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Very nice and comfortable hotel with a unique environment. Guernsey Island has been a delight and this hotel is very close to the bus line which provides easy access to the island. A short walk from the hotel there is a walking path and fabulous view of the water's edge from the top of the hill. Accomodations are inviting and the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLov2Travel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mango
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Bella Luce when we visited Guernsey for buisness and a birthday treat for me. This is the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in, the atmosphere is so relaxed, the service impeccable. All the staff were genuinely lovely and helpful but the relationship throughout the staff with each other was astounding,the management have obviously managed to achieve the perfect balance of professionalism and attention to detail without being stuffy. I have to agree with another reviewer who described this hotel as being in a league of its own, working in the industry myself I have never witnessed such a happy working environment,it is truly commendable.

The food was delicious using the abundance of fresh local fish.

The hotel is easy to find and within minutes of the airport and St Peters Port.

We would whole heartedly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we return to Guernsey.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoWinetaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

we stayed at the bella luce in november and thought it was very welcoming.we found all the staff very helpfull . this was our first visit to guernsey and liked it a lot ,we certainly be back and certainly to the bella luce

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
841 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Property: Hotel Bella Luce
Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing