We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but inconsistent”
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

On making the reservation we were delighted to be offered an airport pick up but after a 20 min wait and ringing the hotel, I was told there were no drivers and to make my own way. Would have have appreciated a call. It was recovered with the hotel paying the taxi but it didn't leave a good first impression. Dinner for the first few nights was excellent value and service was top notch but as the week got busier in the restaurant, I felt the service noticeably tailed off. A very nice personal touch was not being asked to sign bills or even asking our names, but again as staff changed and it got busier, it went out the window. The room we had was a premier room which was ok for what we paid (standard room upgraded offer) but I would have been disappointed to have paid the full price. Room 115 could do with better light for make up. Breakfast was exceptional quality and value. Reception and staff generally very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

There are a number of stand out features for this hotel: very friendly staff who offer great service; knockout food in the restaurant; very nice decor in the public areas. It's tucked away and therefore wonderfully quiet - at least at the time of year we stayed. Our room which overlooked the pool was comfortable, although the bed was very hard. Better lighting is needed in the room, and better control over the heating. It's a shame there is no offer of canapes or nibbles with drinks in the cocktail bar...so there's a couple of areas that stop hotel from being excellent in all repects. Nevertheless this is a very good place to stay. We looked around at other hotels, and were very glad we had chosen the Bella Luce. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamb163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We enjoyed a short break in this tastefully refurbished hotel. We had a lovely suite, and enjoyed the little extras that always make a hotel special. As always the bed was one of our main priorities, and this one scores 3/5 for comfort. The pillows & quality of linen, were, however disappointing, for a hotel of this calibre. The choice of TV channels was very limited and seems to be controlled by a central Skybox which guests have no control over! We used the spa on several occasions and it was one of the best spas I have been to, with excellent staff. Vegetarian food was OK - not spectacular. The attention to detail in the overall decor of the hotel is very pleasing, and breakfast was lovely.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a great stay at hotel Bella Luce. The room was comfortable, clean, quiete, had lovely toiletries, included tea and coffee, basically had everything you need. The service was great. And the on site bar/restaurant was one of the best I have experienced. I would definitely recommend staying if you ever get a chance.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank specklesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We were looking for an above average hotel for a short stay in Guernsey and were greatly surprised with the value and standard of the Belle Luce. The food on offer was some of the best we have tried and was very competively priced. The bedroom was clean and tidy and had all the things needed, including tea, coffee, bottled water and fresh apples. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Drinks at the bar were no higher than in local bars and in some cases cheaper.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The moment we first had contact with the Bella Luce staff we knew we were in good hands.

After a delayed flight from Gatwick we just wanted to unwind and the Hotel staff and ambience immediately did this for us.

Our room was large and attractive, tastefully decorated with a view over the garden. It was well appointed with comfortable furniture, lots of drawers and hanging space.

The bathroom was modern and equally luxurious, my wife informs me the toiletries were of a very high standard too!

As impressive as the hotel itself, was the food - the choice was good and the quality was excellent. We found we had breakfast lunch and dinner in the hotel on several occasions.

We spent some time in the bar which was well stocked and had a good ambience - so much so that it was difficult to tell guests from locals. There was also plenty of space to have peace and quiet to read in comfort if we wanted to.

We also took advantage of the spa facilities which looked great and were of the same high standard as everything else.

In short, we cannot recommend Bella Luce highly enough, our stay could not have been better and unlike many luxury hotels, there were no annoying details letting it down!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Ate here once in February and just had to come back and stay stayed for 5days and i simply cant fault it
The hotel and grounds are spectacular vey well kept and looked after food was to die for again still very cheap

Special thanks to Colleen thanks for your help take care guys and keep up the great work

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
2 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £112 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing