We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, Relaxing and Wonderful Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rustic, Relaxing and Wonderful Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, country style, idyllic retreat away from the town, then look no further. A great place to stay, very comfortable, and styled to a "mini" country home, with the odd element of a chic boutique thrown in.. They even have a separate Spa if you want to get any treatments. Ive stayed here a number of times throughout the year and its a place that you will find great in any season, nice grounds and gardens with a pool in the summer with drinks on the patio, but with open fireplaces and cosy bar areas in the winter The hotel entrance and reception area is quite small and personal, but the service is exceptional...very polite and you are always escorted to your room. Rooms are very nicely finished off, if not a little small but very comfortable and all have the amenities you would expect, including bathrobes. Bathrooms are small but look very new, my only complaint was the shower....nice and powerful but the shower curtain was just a little short and consequently the water went everywhere! This was not just a one off as its the same in all the rooms I have stayed in. The stairs from the rooms down to the reception are old Oak, very beautiful but very noisy especially if your room was close to them and you are a light sleeper! .... The free internet was accessible throughout the hotel - The Bar / Restaurant was well light, warm and had a great feeling to it! Staff were extremely polite, courteous and professional. The food....WoW! Incredible.....both at dinner and the breakfast. If you want a nice weekend away then this is the place to stay. Not the cheapest place, but in this instance you do get what you pay for....and more!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danwinterland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    115
    45
    13
    2
See reviews for
68
341
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Four days in Guernsey with my husband for a springtime break from our very hectic lives. The Bella Luce was chosen principally due to he quality of its excellent website. It did not disappoint. From the moment of our arrival we were looked after with what felt like nothing short of personal service. The staff here have got it bang on. Helpful, attentive and there whenever needed without being at all intrusive. Working in a customer-service industry myself, I cannot stress how difficult it is to get this right, but hte Bella Luce sets a terrific standard.
The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and well stocked. The dining at breakfast, at lunch in the garden or in the bar or restaurant in the evening is a pure culinary indulgence at a reasonable price for the standard of the hotel.
And again, the staff....so good we dined here on three nights out of four. After full days walking and cycling, it was just so lovely to be so well cared for.
On our last day - May 1st - the season opened and we were able to sample the delight that is the hotel run tea rooms down the hill overlooking Moulin Huet Bay. There the owner himself was mucking in with his staff to open the tea-room and served us coffee himself.
We will certainly be recommending the Bella Luce and look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan-Sykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Bella Luce to celebrate my husband's birthday. Loved the chic contemporary decor. Every single member of staff was extremely attentive and helpful - nothing was too much trouble and every little detail was attended to. The exquisite food - art on the plate and sublime on the palate - was the highlight of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chorus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have visited Guernsey twice before and have stayed elsewehere, this time we decided to stay at the Bella Luce as we prefer smaller boutique hotels. We arrived earlier than the check in time and were welcomed and given an upgrade on our room ( a deal through the small luxury hotels of the world). Our room was on the top floor, very spacious, a lovely bathroom with underfloor heating and a good selection of decent sized hair/bath products. One point on the room due to it's location, set in the eaves of the building, it had no real view - only the top of the flat roof below us and also the bed was placed directly against the angle of the ceiling which meant it was very difficult to sit up in bed and read or watch TV without banging your head. We are not tall so if you are above 5ft 8ins beware! We were only booked in for 3 nights so it wasn't a big deal. The other thing to mention, as noted by some other reviewers, the TV was not tuned in to all channels - we couldn't understand why on a local station we got Central UK news?! and no BBC1 - again not a problem for a few days and let's face it you don't go away to watch TV! What did niggle us however was the fact that we reported this on the first day and it was still the same when we left, and depending on which member of staff you spoke to you got a different answer. The breakfast was really good and we ate in the restaurant a couple of times, I must admit we were slightly disappointed here but maybe we were expecting more variety and certainly if you were eating here every night the limited choice could pose a problem. You can opt to eat from a bar menu either in the bar area or even in the main restaurant, and you can chop and change from the menus. The most memorable part of our evening meals were the desserts, the lemon tart and the raspberry and almond tart were to die for. All in all the staff were courteous and there seemed to be plenty around!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayClan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This was a four-day break as a treat from my wife to celebrate my birthday. Located in the rural part of Guernsey just SW of St Peter Port, the hotel and area proved to be sufficiently remote and tranquil (nothwithstanding its proximity to the airport runway - at least they're only relatively light aircraft) and an ideal base for local walking. First impressions of the external building did not disappoint and were an adequate indication of what lay inside. The public rooms were characterful and tastefully equipped; the allocated room was beautifully prepared and furnished, on the end of the wing, overlooking the garden. Previous Trip Advisor reviews mentioned individuals; believe me, the hype associated with Colleen is justified and that extends to Anna, Riccardo, Christian, Petr, Yanis and Georgina - the list goes on to include all the staff, they were all so friendly and hospitable. The food in the restaurant was nothing short of exquisite (Callum is a culinary genius), if a tad expensive (mind you, you should see the price of a two-bedroomed bungalow for an in-comer!). Yet just around the hotel corner, you can get on a bus for a £1 and travel around the periphery of the whole island, getting off and back on at will, so long as you keep your ticket - try doing that in Oxford. The whole experience was one of cossetted ambience - thoroughly recommended and assured of a return visit.

Room Tip: If your old RAF squadron was '115', you won't be disappointed (albeit the couple next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here on my hen night with my 2 bridesmaids and they could not do enough for us, from upgrading me to a bigger room so we could congregate with plenty of space, to wishing me a happy wedding day on our departure. We had the hen night meal in the restaurant and it was great, they had even written out place cards for everyone and staff were attentive without being obstrusive - many thanks :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guernsey32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed here on business in April and it's a really quaint hotel - full of character and the rooms are lovely. It's reasonably priced and what you get is to a very high standard. The staff are very attentive - I was laughing on departure as the cleaner stopped what she was doing upstairs to run across and open the door for me - you don't get that every day!

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food and service were great - again reasonably priced. I'd never been to Guernsey before but will definitely be back and would stay here again in future - next time it won't be for work!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taurean81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Property: Hotel Bella Luce
Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing