We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite quaint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“quite quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

we visited this hotel late september, it is very nice but alot of steps for the elderly and quite dark inside. Staff polite and helpful.
gardens were also covered by large trees which we know cant be helped but it made it dark when eating outside the bar and also a bit cool.
you expect it to be expensive and you will not be disapppointed on that score but when on holiday what else can you expect.
there is a road that goes around the property so ask for a quiet room when booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugaraunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    113
    45
    13
    2
See reviews for
67
336
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent three nights here in early October on our first trip to Guernsey, and were delighted to arrive at Bella Luce as its location is excellent - a lovely stroll to (and steep climb back from!) the beach, handy for the bracing cliff walk round to the beach cafe at Fremain Bay (fab crab sandwiches!) but near to St Peter Port too. In fact, as we drove around the island and saw some of the other hotels I had considered, I breathed a huge sigh of relief.

Inside, decor is darkly stylish, the trend for which I'm beginning to find a little overdone, but that's purely subjective. Our room was spacious with a truly comfortable bed but the incredibly powerful shower only had a clingy curtain around it, which resulted in a very wet floor. Shame, because otherwise this would have been one of the best hotel showers I've come across, and I'm really fussy!

The staff, as has been mentioned countless times already, are excellent. Food in the restaurant is really good but I did find the service at dinner on the first night just a little overdone and formal for my taste -for example, taking the wine bottle away so you can't pour your own - I hate that! Also, the canned cover tunes were decidedly cheesy, although a fantastic classical guitarist was playing on the Saturday night and we really appreciated listening to him while we waited for our table. All in all, a lovely little hotel that I would definitely go back to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoconutK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lovely boutique hotel close to southern coastal cliff walks. Staff absolutely delightful and welcoming. Arrived during Tennerfest thus standard menu that didn't change but food is excellent. Breakfast well presented and lovely choice. New wine list came out as we arrived and a nice Petit Chablis is the hotel's house white for just over twenty pounds and really quite good. Nice toiletries and bottled water in bedrooms. The hotel bar is nice and well stocked but why when there is a log fire was a fire not lit in November and the room is cold and draughty. Similarly the underfloor heating in the bedroom was difficult to work. But this is an excellent hotel in terms of food, ambiance and staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlechlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Bella Luce whilst visiting family at the end of September. We love Guernsey and have been looking for a Boutique Hotel on the island. Hotel Bella Luce did not disappoint. It is a lovely Hotel with the feel of a French Chateau. Shabby chic yet spotlessly clean. The Room was beautiful. The Bathroom was glorious. I have an obsession with nice Bathrooms with powerful Showers, and nice products are a bonus. 10/10 for this. The Bed was huge as it was two singles pushed together. Our only comment - it needed a Mattress topper. The ridge in the middle was not conducive to romance! The Restaurant is amazing, they have won Awards and it shows! Everything we ate was delicious and their Wine Cellar must be (one of) the best on the Island. The Hotel Bella Luce is very formal and dressy. We felt under-dressed at Breakfast as other guests were dressed as if for Cocktails or Dinner. The Pool is outdoors, so is only open in the spring and summer. The Spa comes highly recommended, sadly we did not try it this time. We will book in for a nice treatment or two next time; I hear the Massages are amazing. We will definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nearly 5*. This hotel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and all the staff were helpful and approachable in particular (sorry I can't remember her name) a young blonde hair polish waitress, she was a joy to speak to and very passionate about her job and a good waitress as well. We stayed for 3 nights 21 - 24th October. As the hotel is on the flight path you do hear all the planes taking of and landing, but this didn't spoil the overall holiday. The receptionists were very helpful, especially the one who checked us into the hotel, she recommended places to visit and eat and also showed us on the map directions to places we wanted to go. The breakfasts were excellent. We ate in the hotel twice, once on the tennerfest which was excellent value then again on our last night, unfortunately this time it wasn't as good, we decided on the rib eye steak but when it came it was full of fat and the majority of it had to be left, we did mention this to the waiter who said he would pass our comments onto the chef. Upon checking out we were asked for comments and mentioned our meal, which the receptionists said she was sorry to hear.

The walks from the hotel were really good as well, you can walk to St Peters where the German museum is which was very interesting and also to St Andrews where the German Hospital is beware though it only opens at set times. A Must is seeing the small chapel at St Andrews it was beautiful.

This hotel is overall a 5* but unfortunately due to the last meal I've only rated it a 4

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2jcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Bella Luce on business, in room 110 on the first floor.

The room was very comfortable, clean and quite stylish with a nice modern bathroom. Complimentary toiletries were lovely - there were also dressing gowns and bottled water. It was a little bit noisy because it was right over the entrance to the main car park and the front area was gravelled, but this wasn't problem later in the evening.

The bar and restaurant area is very welcoming and modern, although there was only one bar man and we had to wait 10 minutes to be served. The food was excellent and really good value as the Tennerfest was still going and we had four courses for £20 each. A very comprehensive and good wine list. The service was excellent at dinner. At breakfast, sadly, the service was very slow - 10 or more minutes to get some coffee and only then after we had chased it up. Other people had the same problem. We had only allowed half an hour for breakfast, thinking it would be plenty, but in the end we only had time for toast.

The reception service was also very friendly and efficient.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is a bit tricky to find. But then, so is everything else on Guernsey as they don't go in for visible road naming signs, town name signs or much in the way of signage at all!

In all, we would definitely return to the Bella Luce.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had a back, neck and shoulder massage followed by an ESPA facial with Molly, and it was incredible! An excellent location for R&R, and Molly was very sensitive to my requirements and comfort. I would definitely recommend booking in for a treatment whether you choose to stay at this hotel or not!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Property: Hotel Bella Luce
Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing