We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal wedding venue”
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We held our wedding reception here at the beginning of August 2014 and were very impressed at how well the hotel managed such a large group of people, every detail had been thought of and the marquee beautifully decorated by the lovely Annett. The weather was appalling but didn't stop everyone from having a wonderful day. We were very well looked after, and the food was magnificent. The rooms were also very nice, as were the breakfasts and it really is an idyllic location and venue for Guernsey. All our guests who stayed at the hotel also thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Our heartfelt thanks to owner Luke and his fantastic team.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a beautiful boutique hotel in St Martins, not far from St Peter Port and within an easy walk to beautiful beaches and a short drive from the airport. The building is beautiful, with nice gardens and a pool - but unheated and lacking change facilities, loos or showers nearby. The standard of decoration is high in the Farrow-and-Ball-universal-boring style with some decent prints in amongst some plain wierd artwork. The layout is a little confusing, however, so bring a map. Rooms are overall very comfortable, but avoid at all costs the honeymoon suite (105) unless you really want a bath in the bedroom matched by a huge empty bath-shaped space in the bathroom, projecting shelves in the shower that is at the ideal height to bash your elbow on and annoying automatic lighting that flashes on and off all night... Speaking of bathrooms, these are all really dangerous - for some reason, they have used non-textured wall tiles on the floor, and at the slightest hint of moisture they become as slippery as ice. Those with fragile hips would do well to take note. The flush-system of the lavatories is also probably the least efficient that I have come across. Beds, however, are very comfortable (although why they have the heating on in August is beyond my comprehension) and nice toiletries and dressing-gowns are provided. Those with small children will want to be careful of the very low window sills, and everyone will want to get the angle of the venetian blinds just so in order not to be seen by other guests from the garden. Food is very good, drink a bit overpriced, staff range from sullen through fairly competant to welcoming and efficient. If you are paying £100 a night then you will forgive all the faults, even the noisy chatter of the chamber maids. If you are paying full price, you might find yourself arguing at check-out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just stayed at the Bella Luce Hotel in Guernsey. Had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and the food matched it. Was a bit noisy on the Saturday night but apart from that it was a wonderful experience. The rooms were very clean and well presented, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom well equipped. Free bottled water in each room and a plate with 3 firm red apples on the bedside cabinet.
The full English breakfast was piping hot and well presented.
Convenient for St Peters Port and the airport and if you like walking, not far from the start of the coastal walks which had breath taking scenery.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try and get one at the back and away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I stayed four nights in a luxury guest room in August 2014. Our initial impression was good as we were greeted and welcomed warmly by the reception staff. We were taken to a very nice room which was in the roof and the room had been nicely cleaned and prepared for us. Despite being one of the best rooms we had 2 velux windows that you could see the garden, and marquee, just, and the other windows overlooked the car park. The room at night, being in the roof, was extremely hot and the air conditioning was totally inadequate and broke down. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have slept in and the M & S polyester pillows were awful. We had one evening meal at the hotel which was nice but we did get fed up of the 19 year old waiter whinging how many hours he was going to have to work this week because of a wedding for 200 people taking place. This wedding did seem the focus for the week to the detriment of other guests along with a marquee up for our entire stay taking over the garden. The breakfasts were very nice and I think the chef seems to be very good but let down, slightly, by foreign waiting staff. My wife and I felt that for a Leading Small Hotel Of The World the hotel lacked little touches that could make a difference to your stay. Two examples being that when we had a pot of tea in the garden late afternoon it would have been nice to have some little biscuits or cake with it but instead we had to go up to the room to get the biscuits off the tea and coffee tray. Similarly with bar drinks it would have been nice to have had some nuts or olives with your drinks. We also had rain a couple of nights/evenings and the bar staff left out all the seat covers which were then wet to sit on the next day. It is a shame as it is an attractive hotel in a nice location with a lot of friendly staff. We are regular travelers to Guernsey and this was our fourth choice hotel. The other three were fully booked !!.

Room Tip: Don't have one in the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Many great things for a well oiled machine, great friendly helpful staff across the team.A great selection to suit meat and fish lovers>but being a veggie a limited choice but in fairness was very tasty.On arriving to such a beautiful venue we checked in and the hotel grounds are amazing but a massive marquee took over the lovely garden which was fairly unsightly.A must if your booking please avoid ROOM 5 as you need to have the blinds CLOSED as you look onto a car park and with people walking past they tend to be looking in every time.feel the room rate should be far lower as it has the worst view.Apart from that the spa was great as my wife fully enjoyed the treatment.The staff were perfect and true pro's offering such high service.We will return as such a great place but not to that dreaded room

Room Tip: NOT ROOM 5,its looking over car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First of all the plus points - prior to staying in the hotel they had been very helpful by Email with driving directions and letting us have a particular room. The garden is pretty and the sun loungers very comfortable. Free effective wifi available. The appearance of the hotel from the outside is very attractive. The breakfasts are good. . The hotel and rooms are very clean. Well done to the staff responsible .They obviously do a very good wedding there as well Unfortunately to the disadvantage of other guests. A large marquee obliterated an enormous part of the garden in preparation for a wedding to be held there at the end of the week. The night we were leaving there was another function which meant the sun loungers were moved to make way for tables and chairs and the evening prior to this we were disturbed by the staff getting the furniture moved around in the garden. There is no air conditioning. Nor is there a lift. There are no sun umbrellas. But worst of all, when someone finally leaves their sun bed for the day, a member of staff comes along folds the towel and places it back on the sun bed for the next person to use it - ugh

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surreyringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a place !! Everything perfect !!! Spa excellent , rooms spacious and well equipped - only downside was the feeble hairdryer !! Food beyond excellent - the chef is a genious - best cream tea we've ever had and the meals were amazing. Staff were impeccable , attentive , friendly and discreet. Coleen on reception is a star - nothing too much trouble. Avoid Bella Donna on reception though - sour faced and un-helpful, she was the only "fly in the ointment " but her personality bypass was a success !!!! Highly recommend this gem.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which is lovely but if you want total peace keep the windows shut as the outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
739 reviews
1.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £111 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing