We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Leicesterhire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Fantastic hotel with great food which cannot be faulted be it the bar food or in the restaurant. Well placed to St Peters Port with a bus thats stops outside.

Moulin Huet just a short walk away has to be seen also a short walk to Icart and Saints Bay. We hired a car to get around the Island but it does have a very good bus service.

Giood for walking around the cliff tops

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyinghigh054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    118
    45
    14
    2
See reviews for
70
347
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed for a long wekend and checked in on Friday night. The hotel was easy to find na dample parking and close to the main road into St Peter Port but very quiet. Check in was good and the receptionsist helped us to our room. The room was modern ,clean, nice bedding and the bathroom good with a walk in soher. The room was a little tight but fine as we would be out most of the time. Breakfast was good, hot and made to order and the service quick and we couldnt fault the dinner ( we ate there on the Saturday night). Nice garden to sit out. We would come again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonDevonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Visited hotel on a 3night/one night free flydrive package with Fly Guernsey. On arrival we were shown to room 2 situated on the ground floor adjacent to the carpark. The room was dark and dismal, bore no relation to the room shown on the website,was very small with one small window overlooking the car park without curtains only a dust covered venetian blind. The bathroom had a smaller window which was obscured by rubbish outside. Additionally I had asked the travel agent to book flowers in the room but there were none.After complaining to the area holiday rep for Travelsmiths the manager showed us another room which was equally as small and depressing which we refused..We were then shown a higher standard room and were persuaded to stay there for the night with the manager promising to try and find another room more suitable to us, we never heard from him again. As this was a very special wedding anniversary this event spoiled our trip to Guernsey, fortunately the lovely island itself made up for our disappointment but I would recommend when booking that the room you get is of the same quality as the one shown in the brochure. Overall we felt that this hotel was being too pretentious and we never felt comfortable or at home in the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0linsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband travels to Guernsey on business frequently and normally stays in a hotel in town. However as it was August, his young daughter of 2 years and I wanted to join him for a weekend break. We wanted a small boutique hotel with a pool, the Bella Luce looked lovely on it's website and although I was captivated by its decor and rooms I was apprehensive that it would not be child friendly when we arrived. However I was proven wrong, all the staff we came into contact with were so understanding, helpful and genuinely friendly. The service was first class. My daughter one day wanted to play with a ball, which i had forgotten to pack, a member of staff contacted a neighbour and within 10 minutes a ball arrived!! What service. The food for all of us was superb too and offered a healthy selection for our little one. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt totally relaxed and looked after. Smokey the parrott added a lovely home from home feeling whom Freya was besotted with. Thank you so much for a truly wonderful stay.
The Soutter Family

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I stayed with my husband on a "Romantic Break" package over the late May Bank Holiday. The hotel was full although one never felt it was over-run with people. Our room was a superior one and although small, had all one needs and was pretty and well laid-out. Our welcome was enhanced by flowers, excellent chocolates and a quality bottle of champagne - all part of the package. We breakfasted twice - the English breakfast was very good - and dined once. Dinner would not have disgraced a top-end London restaurant and indeed was superior to one we had the week before in such an establishment. Above all, the staff at the Bella Luce are probably the best I have come across in any hotel anywhere in the world. Nothing is too much trouble, you get what you ask for promptly and graciously, they know their jobs well and seem pleased to do them. The smallest niggle is that water escapes from the shower area onto the bathroom floor - a design fault that they know about and are working on. It was no big deal.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and would very much like to come back to this lovely island and do so.

We too found the people of Guernsey warm and welcoming and driving at 35 mph is rather a treat. We were struck by the way drivers give way to one another and thank one for doing so. It is a bit like driving decades ago.

We had many happy experiences in a short time, but a particularly memorable one was eating a fresh crab sandwich from a tea-hut just down the road from the Peninsula Hotel. Turn left off the main road going to the sea at the signpost for the Peninsula. The coastal walks and those on the beaches are fabulous and you will need to walk off some of the delicious food you will be eating on Guernsey.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Since our last stay here 6 years ago, the hotel has undergone a huge makeover. My husband is disabled and so a ground floor room was a necessity - its a shame that there are no ground floor rooms in the main building but the room we had was very nice with a beautifully fitted bathroom. There were no grab bars round the bath but after reporting this to reception, when we got back to the room after lunch, 2 new grab bars had been fitted. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There is obviously a good team spirit. Food was excellent and we ate in the hotel every night, either in the bar or the restaurant although if we had been staying longer than 4 nights the menu might have become a bit boring as there were no daily specials. The only thing that cast a cloud over the stay was that I lost my engagement ring, so if anyone reading this finds a diamond ring - most likely in the carpark area outside the annexe or in room 6, let me or the hotel reception know - thanks.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellaluce, Owner at Hotel Bella Luce, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Many thanks for your kind words. I know the staff especially will appreciate them. I will endeavour to keep searching for your ring and will update you any progress.

See you at the Bella Luce again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Ate at the hotel last night with the Mother - in-law who was over on holiday.

Excellent food and exceptional service.

Car parking was a nightmare but we found somewhere eventually.

My scallops follwoed by duck were one of the best meals out I have had in years.

Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
842 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Property: Hotel Bella Luce
Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing