We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment-lacks the personal touch”
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a disappointment-lacks the personal touch”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Celebrating 25 yrs in June 2010 ,after our original honeymoon here, we were just happy to recreate the occasion. What a disappointment, the new decor promised much but made typical hotel room mistakes-hard beds, very uncomfortable seating, poor lighting, and general lack of attention to detail, ie the overhead light was so dirty I asked the room attendent to clean it, our first room was so dark , and not helped by the decor. After a poor nights sleep due to the hard bed, noise of function outside ( we were over the bar and the patio) and a/c not working, we were asked to pack up and move to another room. To our amazement the new attic style room had only a wardrobe containing fridge, 2 small bedside cabinets with one drawer in each and no other chest of drawers to put anything in. Management were amazed that we should expect such a thing as'no one else has ever complained !!!!' The hardest turkish type low sofa, did little for comfort, and having roriginally requested a room with bath, this one had just a shower,
We are not complainers, having travelled widely, but our special occasion was spoilt, which was a shame, because the hotel could be lovely- and the food is very good. A question of style over comfort,and lack of attention to detail- the staff were aware we were unhappy, but we did not make a big fuss, and in a more personal environment would have expected the management to have discreetly 'massaged' the situation back to satisfaction.That they didn't says all.
The Parkers Bristol

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ambaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellaluce, General Manager at Hotel Bella Luce, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Dear Mr and Mrs Parker, I remember the details of your stay very well and am very sorry you feel the way that you do. The air conditioner was indeed not working, and we did our upmost to take care of the situation, and was why you were moved to another luxury room. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked so we were limited as to the bathroom options. The loft style room that you were moved to is very different in style to the original room you were in, and I remember the request for some extra drawers, which we put in the room immediately. I believe my staff did their upmost to take care of the difficulties that arose, and am at a loss to understand the ‘massaging’ that you felt was appropriate. To post such comments six months after the fact limits the constructiveness, however we will learn from your words as we do with all others, and I thank you for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    115
    45
    14
    2
See reviews for
69
344
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

This was an exceptional party venue which combines well their old & new up market decor.

Throughout stay the staff were attentive & well mannered with the food/catering for a large party second to none!

So if you desire something different then try it ............ as you won't be disappointed!

P.S. They also have a nice parrot in the foyer that you can speak to after a few drinks!

David J.Ceresa ~ Father of the Bride

Stayed December 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Willdthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Thank you for your warm hospitality and for helping to make my day trip to Guernsey such a memorable one. Thoroughly enjoyed a quiet and relaxing lunch with friend. Outstanding fish and chips and mushy peas! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guernsey20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We took advantage of the romantic getaway deal and had a wonderful time. A charming friendly place to stay with well appointed rooms and great food and wine! We really enjoyed our stay and would return in a heartbeat. Thoroughly recommended...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Good position, excellent service, polite staff. However both our room and bar/restaurant/lounge area are poorly lit. The rooms are not well sound proofed. The stairs to the first floor are not carpeted and the sound of sliding wardrobe doors and built in drawer units drown out the peace and quite of the local area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibble0bble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellaluce, General Manager at Hotel Bella Luce, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. The Bella Luce as I am sure you are aware is a very old building that has been recently refurbished throughout. The lighting is of modern design and all of which certainly in the restaurant areas are on dimmer switches. If any guest wishes the lighting to be turned up or indeed down my staff will always act upon these wishes. The bedroom lighting and door slides are of a modern design, however if a guest wishes to move room to a different style we are always happy to oblige when possible. Again many thanks for the feedback, and we will look into ways of reducing the noise in and around the staircase.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This was our first visit to the Bella Luce, and we were impressed from our first step in the door.
The reception area, bar, and restaurant all had a excellent decor, which also managed not to be overstated. Our standard room was well equipped, with a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom, the tea & coffee making facilities were also very welcome.
An excellent breakfast was provided, and the meals in both the bar and restaurant were well prepared, and the staff were first class.
Overall an excellent stay in a very nice location.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulWMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicesterhire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Fantastic hotel with great food which cannot be faulted be it the bar food or in the restaurant. Well placed to St Peters Port with a bus thats stops outside.

Moulin Huet just a short walk away has to be seen also a short walk to Icart and Saints Bay. We hired a car to get around the Island but it does have a very good bus service.

Giood for walking around the cliff tops

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyinghigh054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Property: Hotel Bella Luce
Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing