We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We have recently stayed in the Trelade. Our room was very clean and pleasant, we were on the first floor at the back of the hotel. We had 2 huge fans from the kitchen outside our room and upon entering later in the day it smelled very strongly of Chips! One of the fans remained on all night! As it was hot we needed to open the window so we could not block out the noise! There were no instructions left for the TV and how it worked, having to press the VIDEO button to get a picture was not obvious!!!
The breakfast was very nice, but there was no atmosphere in the dining room, it needed some quiet music, and also some plants. The bar was the same! Whoever did the painting job in this area needs repremanding it was terrible! The chairs are all very dated and tired looking.
It is unfortunate that for the last night we had to move Hotels and wished we had stayed in the new hotel for the whole week What a difference in the atmosphere! Local radio at breakfast, not loud though, bar from the previous evening had music too, and this created a cosy atmosphere and you felt that you could have a conversation without other people hearing as no-one talked in La Trelade, as if they did everyone in the room could hear them.
It is a shame it could be so good with a bit more thought.There was an area next to the bar, which was crying out for a piano. A piano bar which you often get on ships gives a great ambience!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaltashTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

Last week stayed 4 nights. Bought a cheap package deal out of the newspapers. Were worried as the price was so low (Island Getaways) but we booked anyway. Could not believe our luck when we arrived. As far as we are concerned the service,the rooms, the spa and pool, the food and the overall ambience were all 4star but it only had 3stars on the door. Maybe they'll get an extra star over the winter and put their prices up for next year but, in the meantime, take our advice and book yourself a bargain right now.

Room Tip: Cheaper to pre-book the excellent evening meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FolkestoneFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We booked a long weekend as part of a package and were really pleased we chose this hotel. It is a fine, traditional building with modern facilities. It has an excellent health suite, large indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. Everything throughout the hotel is in tip-top condition, clean, and well-maintained. There is an air of luxury and comfort throughout.

A special commendation for the restaurant and staff. They must have a good chef because the menu changed every day and held a large choice of local, fresh produce. The portions were large, to the point that we heard some people gently complaining that they were 'too large'. We didn't mind. The price for the 3-course evening meal was good value and cheaper than we found in town, testified to by the fact that locals seem to eat there as well.

The breakfasts were also excellent, with everything you'd expect including continental and/or full English.

Many of the dishes on the menu demonstrate their care for quality cuisine. For example, the smoked mackerel is local, fresh, and smoked in the restaurant kitchen. The restaurant manager, Carlos, is a real professional and you can see that he takes pride in making sure that everything is done to a high standard. His staff are all solicitous and attentive and you get the feeling that it is his high standards that pervade the restaurant.

Two things to be aware of: our room was hot and stuffy and we had to keep a window open. There were no rads on so I'm assuming that it was because we were close to the boiler room/pipes. If we go back, we'll ask for a cooler room at the end of the building.

The hotel is conveniently close to the airport but this does mean you will hear the planes landing. Guernsey is a quiet airport that is shut at night (9-6.30) so this will not inconvenience you, although you will hear the 'mail plane' arriving at 6.30 every morning, then nothing else for an hour or so. We wanted to be up early to sight-see so didn't mind being woken up.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Just got back. Great break. Pool top notch. Rooms and service top notch. Food excellent. Rooms/food/service all felt more like 4star then 3star. One of the staff told me they'd probably be 4star if they had 24 room service but as they haven't they only get 3stars. We didn't need 24 hour room service so for us it felt like a 4star break at a 3star price. Thank you Trelade - asta la vista - we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Pre-book the evening meals for cheaper prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The hotel was excellent in every way from a welcoming reception well appointed rooms with faultless service, very clean and comfortable.
The meals were first class the best hotel food with varied menu I or my companion have had anywhere (and we are well travelled) the staff in restaurant and bar really went that extra mile to make the guests happy, the restauraunt manager Carlos and eve and the 2 boys, and a special mention for Tracy who was so kind and helpful on our arrival as I am disabled.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a first class relaxing and peaceful base to explore the island of guernsey. Will defiantly be back again.

Room Tip: We had first floor rooms near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma_lee093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We went to la trelade and the staff were very nice,well some of them. the manager lisa was very helpful and the restaurant manager carlos, i tihnk that was his name. if you asked for something both of them would sort it out not like another waiter there who seemed rude to customs and not very happy. the food was great and the top floor is great as it has better views. we hope to come again soon. i would recommend this hotel to anyone but i was not happy with the moody waiter.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerhere2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Booked this hotel for husbands birthday, it is on the flight path and we also had to be moved three times as rooms were very noisy day and night with humming coming from either extractor fans or boilers. When mentioned to hotel managers they said that there is a problem with the boilers that cannot be cured. However the staff and Lisa the manager were very helpful did what they could unlike Island Getaways whose customer service skills need to be improved somewhat, Nina was extremley unhelpful and said we just to get on with it! So after using them before we will certainly not be using them again! Were showed another hotel after kicking up a bit Greenacres but this was like a nursing home, and as the food was excellent at La Trelade decided to put up with the noise which was definatly better in room 304 so if you go try and ask for top floor! Guernsey lovely but having visited now three times will not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank v-essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#3 of 9 in St Martins
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £47 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing