We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed here from 11th to 15th December as part of a 12 person works booking due to a course in Guernsey. We were late in so they kept the chef on to cook food for us which was great. Bar priced well £3.10 for a pint of bitter, the same as the rest of the island! Food was excellent and varied, lea sure club is really good. Decent gym, steam room and two saunas in addition to a good sized indoor swimming pool. Rooms were immaculate and with tv/wifi free throughout the hotel. It is close to the airport so a bit noisy first thing and is a bit out of town so taxis/car will be required. Over all a very well priced and thoroughly recomended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

I was open minded when I arrived at the hotel last weekend and pleasantly surprised when we were offered book in earlier than the stated time. We went to our rooms and the first thing that hit us, almost literally, was the heat. The room must have been 25/26 and the first thing I did was turn off the radiator which was scorching.
Nice room. Comfy beds. Lovely large bathroom. Good amount of drawer, wardrobe space. Nice little tea/coffee making cupboard with, to my delight, a teapot! Unusual in most hotels. Plenty of teabags, milk, etc and when requested, more were supplied.












Plus points:

Comfy beds
Large bathroom
Plenty of drawer and wardrobe space
Hairdrier
Good beverage selection and supply
Teapot! Yippee!
Fabulous breakfast
Great service in restaurant and bar

Minus points

Room unbearably hot, even with radiator off and window open
Noisy.....not from the planes, which we expected, but from some type of machine outside the window which sounded like a jet landing on and off all day and night.
Unable to get shower hot and when I finally got lukewarm I couldn't get the plunger to stay up so shower kept turning off. Very frustrating!
Basin tap lukewarm all the time.....cleaning teeth unpleasant in warm water!
Staff very rude and impatient when we got check out time wrong. Also, when my 86 year old mother got near to the reception desk which had been painted the day before, the man behind the desk didn't hide his impatience about 'people not reading signs' and was openly discussing her with his colleagues. My mother is deaf so didn't hear but I was sat nearer and heard every word. Not impressed!

Finally, although the food was excellent, the red wine I had in the bar was probably the worst I had ever had! Avoid the house wine like the plague!

Overall, the hotel has faults which need to be addressed but wasn't as bad as others might have implied.

Room Tip: Room 204 very noisy due to noise from outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwitcheduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The indoor pool is great for a swim although a little worn out round the edges, i had it to myself all week.
The restaurant serves great food morning or evening i never had a bad meal.

Room Tip: some rooms are a little noisy if they have an a/c unit outside, the hotel is close to the airport ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

First of all, a comment to the reviewer complaining below - your poor review of this hotel is unfair. If you choose a hotel near an airport do not complain about aircraft noise, if you choose a country house hotel, don't complain about country house furnishings.....a life!

Now - my turn.......one night business stay for a seasoned traveller.....Check in was quick, pleasant and efficient.....The room was large, well equipped and clean (even under the bed) The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels and toiletries. Everything in the room worked and the bed was comfortable.....Dinner menus gave a large choice. The quality of the food was extremely high as was the service. The team really should have a pat on the back. After a good nights sleep I woke to a well cooked breakfast and an efficient check out.
My only regret was not having time to enjoy the leisure facilities....that's one for next time, and believe me, there will be a next time!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is tired and dingy and needs in my opinion a general overhaul. It is directly under the flight path of Guernsey airport and noisy. First room had damp and wall paper coming off the walls. The second room better but cleanliness left alot to be desired particularly under the beds (I lost an ear ring and found it amongst the fluff!). Shower didn't work properly - this was attended to promptly. Cleanliness of common parts awful. Cushions on chairs in bar area stained, as were the bedspreads, curtains coming away from dining room walls as examples.

Staff however, were extremely helpful and apologetic, and did their best to ensure a reasonable stay.
BEC C

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTreladeHotel, Manager at La Trelade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

I am sorry that the reviewer had a bad experience at La Trelade Hotel.
We are a Country House Hotel, and in keeping with this, we have subdued lighting and dark wood furniture, this is part of the charm of the Hotel, and could not be construed as "tired and dingy"
I do admit that these Reviewers were allocated the one room that had some staining on the wall from a previous water leak, but the wall was not damp, it was completely dry. As it was the height of the season, we were not able to take the room out of use for decoration.
We have never disguised the fact that we are only 1 mile from the Island's Airport, in fact we consider it to be a positive selling point. Readers please note that Guernsey is a small regional airport, that only takes propeller planes, and landings are only once or twice an hour during the day, and nothing at all during the night.
I am surprised that the reviewer has had issues with cleanliness, and readers can see from the previously reviews, we maintain an excellent standard of cleanliness throughout the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay in this Hotel. Carlos and the rest of the staff in the Restaurant were first class - always had a smile and always ready to help. Food was excellent and served at your table (much nicer I think than self service). We found the bar area was a bit dark and dingy - could do with brightening up and a bit of background music. This was our first stay in Guernsey and would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: We were in Room 103 which was at the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Elliott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

In common with other guests the hotel is too warm but so is the welcome. All the staff friendly and accomodating. Restaurant excellent and the breakfasts historic.....try the smokies. Booked this as part of a package including ferry so am unsure what the room rate actually was but frankly £275 for four nights including fast ferry was a bargain. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on the kitchen/dining room side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank janmilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
616 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £48 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing