We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxing delightful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Trelade Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Most relaxing delightful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just spent 4 nights in this Hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were made so welcome. The room was clean, well appointed and above usual size. Everything worked, plenty of storage drawers and wardrobe space. The dinners were beautifully presented, cooked and served. Drinks were very reasonable, with a good choice of wines. Good breakfast too. The swimming pool, fitness centre and steam room were free to use and well appointed. Free Wifi throughout the Hotel too!
The 7/7A bus stops right outside and takes you to St. Peter Port, the Airport, or all the way around the Island for £1. Absolutely no need to hire a car! All the staff were so friendly and cheerful at all times that it was a pleasure to stay there. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobkathybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    103
    44
    15
    10
See reviews for
49
119
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel was very easy to find from the Airport and a good base to see the island from. Our room was large with a four poster bed. The facilities were excellent. A good size swimming pool, sauna, steam room, weights and cardio vascular equipment.
Breakfast was substantial with a good selection including a full English breakfast. Some of the ingredients were just average, but with the choice there was something that wouls suit most.
The proximity to the Airport meant that noise from the aeroplanes was quite loud. This didn't disturb our sleep as the aeroplanes stopped overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Booked this hotel with Island get aways for a short break.Found the constant noise from fans/ air conditioning a real problem as it stopped us sleeping well. The room was clean and adequate,but we would have found it cramped if we had been staying for longer. The staff where polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Book a room as far from the noisy fans as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTreladeHotel, Manager at La Trelade Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
I am very sorry that the reviewer was not totally satisfied with their stay at La Trelade Hotel.
We pride ourselves on doing everything we can to give our guests an enjoyable stay. We do have a few rooms that can be affected by noise during the daytime from the Air-Conditioning Unit; and we will always offer a room move, if a suitable room is available, to anyone has an issue with this noise.
I am surprised that the reviewer says that our rooms are small, they are considered to be an acceptable size for a 3 star hotel, with 17.5 square metres (188 square feet). We have many guests who stay over two weeks, and have never commented on the room size.
I hope that the reviewer will give us another chance, and we can show them, what our other reviews clearly show, that we are probably the best three star Hotel in Guernsey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
229 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

When you go out of the airport turn left and carry for about 6 or 7 miles and you will find La Trelade. A nice and hotel quite "old style" with clean rooms and good restaurant that propses a la carte or set a set menu for 19.95 GBP . Very friendly and familial atmosphere all throughout the stay.( 14 to 15 of JUL 2012 )
There is an indoor swimming pool a nice Health club with Gym , sauna and steam .Anything you need to relax .
If you are going back to the airport and need a taxi , book it via the hotel reception as it may be dfifficult to find a taxi in Guernesey unless booked in advance . Taxi ride to the airport cost between 5 to 7 Pounds .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rv0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Le Trelade Country House has just been given an award of excellence and very well deserved. We found the Hotel excellent, friendly staff nice restaurant good food, breakfast and evening meal with a large menu, our room was very comfortable and clean, full modern bathroom with good toiletries and large bath sheets. T.V in the room with freeview, we didn't find the time to watch any programs. Tea/coffee milk and biscuits in the room, comfortable beds and pillows. Good bus service day time. Lovely friendly Island fantastic beaches.

Room Tip: I don't know about the others, but we stayed in room 115 front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyEnglandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from a week on Jersey & Guernsey, staying 3 Nights at La Trelade had a wonderful time Highly recommened the food and restaurant staff very pleasant and helpful. Used the indoor pool quite deep need to be a swimmer but very clean. One snag no entertainment and last bus [only £1 per journey] is before 9pm so recommened you hire a car.
Hotel clean and all staff friendly. Near airport but last flight is 9pm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
445 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just returned from a short break in Guernsey, staying for two nights at La Trelade. We found the Hotel excellent, our room was very comfortable and clean, had a modern bathroom with good toiletries and large bath sheets. The television in our room had Freeview and certainly had enough channels for us. We had a car provided in our package and found the location of the hotel very good, being close to St Peter's Port, the beaches of the south west and to the airport. Although the hotel is close to the airport, we didn't find it a problem as flights were only in daylight hours. We used the swimming pool, which was a fair size and although there is a gym, we didn't use it, as we were there for such a short time.

The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice, but didn't use the restaurant, as we wanted to try some of the other restaurants on the island. I would say the only downside was that our bedroom was at the rear of the building and overlooked a "sea" of flat roofs, but really we weren't in our bedroom much in the daytime.

We would certainly return to Guernsey again and be happy to stay at La Trelade again. I would thoroughly recommend visitors to take a tour of Victor Hugo's house in St Peter's Port - absolutely fascinating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
3.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Property: La Trelade Country House Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing