We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff good value for money”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Booked at short notice and really had no idea what to expect but this turned out to be a very good hotel with good, well kept accommodation and facilities. Room was good- decor nice, food was excellent and overall it was good value for money. The pool/ health suite is also good and the w/e we went the weather was lovely so we were able to sit outside on the decked area to enjoy the sun after our swim. It is, however, run but a separate company so do remember to take your own towels as they do not provide them in the pool area and you have to use your room towels which then means you have to use wet/damp towels after your shower the following morning. The rooms were, as I say, very well appointed and I was pleased. Only criticism??? I wis the staff did not start cleaning the rooms so early and chat (loudly) to each other on the landing outside our rooms.. didn't manage to sleep past 7am any of the 4 days we stayed because of this. Other than that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend

Room Tip: Higher floors have later room cleaning so you may not be disturbed so early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thekingsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    107
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
51
124
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

We returned to La Trelade to celebrate our 25th anniversary having stayed here for our honeymoon. Upon hearing this we were upgraded to one of the hotels 4 post bed rooms at no charge. The room, as many others have commented was hot but with the window open cooled down nicely. The staff in the restraunt are friendly are more than helpful and the quality of food excellent. The health suit whilst small is pleasurable though it would be nice if tbey'd gone to the expense of providing a logo'd polo shirt for the staff.
The only downside I would say is the presence of the private owner who totally failed to engage with any of the guests and sat in the corner of the bar most evening eating his meal scowling at those that passed by. That aside I will return here again and look forward to doing so

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stegc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I was very surprised - I was only placed here by an airline when there were issues with my flight and it turned out to be a fine hotel. Lovely pool, very good service (although the quality of some of the members of staff English was a little poor) and good rooms.

One thing though? WOW it was hot! Not quite sure why but it was sweltering and difficult to sleep as no air conditioning.

Food in the restaurant was a mixed bag, my starter was, without doubt, one of the tastiest things i have ever eaten. Then the main was basically a Findus Crispy Pancake (remember those?).

I certainly can't complain given I stayed free of charge, but I would happily pay to stay again on a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moos3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were very disappointed with the hotel after reading such glowing reviews before we booked. Reception staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful. The proprietor made no effort to introduce himself or check we were happy with the hotel and was very offhand when we asked to book a table for dinner as recommended in the hotel guide. Never once saw him in the restaurant during dinner or breakfast service - only eating his own meal in the bar area. Restaurant and bar staff were very good - no complaints at all - and food was acceptable. Recommended dress code for dinner in the restaurant was not adhered to by some residents.The bar area is in need of upgrading - very tired with worn carpet and some ripped seats. Another downside is that the hotel has no rear garden in which to relax weather permitting - the only facility is 4 small bistro tables and chairs at the front of the hotel on the edge of the car park next to a large pot full of cigarette ends. Morning newspapers were not available as apparently the local newsagent refuses to deliver to this hotel. The locationl is directly underneath the airport flight path which is worth considering if aircraft noise is not acceptable. Would not recommend and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneEdwards_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTreladeHotel, Manager at La Trelade Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
I am sorry that this reviewer has had such a negative experience of La Trelade Hotel. As you can see by our many previous reviews, this is not the service we normally offer. I am surprised that the reviewer commented on the Restaurant Dress Code, which is 'smart casual', and all our guests are always acceptably attired. The reviewer obviously didn't go around the back of the Hotel, outside of the Indoor Swimming Pool, where we have a Sun Terrace with tables and chairs, and an enclosed lawned garden with sun loungers for guests to sunbathe on. They has mentioned the aircraft noise - we do not deny that we are close to the Airport, it is one of our unique selling points, but Guernsey is a small regional Airport, with approximately 2 small propeller planes landing every hour (no Passenger Jets are allowed) and there are no flights at all between 9pm and 6.30am.
I hope that readers of Trip Advisor will look at all our reviews and see that this one is out of character with the others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just back from 5 nights at La Trelade. Staff very helpful and attended to a minor problem in the bathroom as soon as we asked them to. Very large comfortable room, bed very comfortable. Standard of cleanliness was faultless. No problem with the noise of aircraft - reasssuring to hear the early morning plane as the newspapers arrived! Excellent free wifi connection available in the bedroom. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice. Hope to return some day to both this hotel and Guernsey.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just spent 4 nights in this Hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were made so welcome. The room was clean, well appointed and above usual size. Everything worked, plenty of storage drawers and wardrobe space. The dinners were beautifully presented, cooked and served. Drinks were very reasonable, with a good choice of wines. Good breakfast too. The swimming pool, fitness centre and steam room were free to use and well appointed. Free Wifi throughout the Hotel too!
The 7/7A bus stops right outside and takes you to St. Peter Port, the Airport, or all the way around the Island for £1. Absolutely no need to hire a car! All the staff were so friendly and cheerful at all times that it was a pleasure to stay there. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobkathybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel was very easy to find from the Airport and a good base to see the island from. Our room was large with a four poster bed. The facilities were excellent. A good size swimming pool, sauna, steam room, weights and cardio vascular equipment.
Breakfast was substantial with a good selection including a full English breakfast. Some of the ingredients were just average, but with the choice there was something that wouls suit most.
The proximity to the Airport meant that noise from the aeroplanes was quite loud. This didn't disturb our sleep as the aeroplanes stopped overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Martins
166 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Property: La Trelade Country House Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing