We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Four of us stayed for two nights. Hotel was lovely and welcoming. Rooms were a bit hot, but once the radiator was switched off it became comfortable. Considering we are rugby supporters there for a match, Eve the barmaid put up with us with good grace and a cheery smile. The swimming pool was great. Evening meal we had one night was superb. Only complaint was that the English breakfast was obviously cooked before ordering and put under a hot lamp with the egg added later. Would recommend and will stay again should the occasion arise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigGiraffe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Have previously stayed at a leading 4* hotel on the island which we found to be really good, but this 3* hotel surpasses it. Less formal, very friendly, super clean and a really relaxing atmosphere. The food is simply superb and there's plenty of it - the chef being a substantial man, he fills the plates to his own exacting standards!! Our room was more than generous in size and facilities and the inclusive Wifi a very welcome feature. For some, it's proximity to the airport may be a noise problem with flights landing and taking off directly over the hotel, but it didn't bother us at all. It says it all that we would not have the slightest hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dartjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have stayed 2 twice in this hotel. For a 3 star is not bad hotel. I think with a few updates this could be an excellent hotel. The rooms are ok nothing special but very well stocked. The dinner in the resturant was the best in both quality and quality. The breakfast was not too bad but agin just average. Great size swimming pool but needs a bit of maintenance other wise it was good. The staff are generally helful,however, the gentleman in the reception needs to smile and show more welcoming gesture to his guests. He was polite and helpful though. The hotel location is good if you have a car , right on the main road. Close to the airport. Overall, I thought the hotel was a good value for money.

Room Tip: The front rooms can noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Our whole trip was a disaster but the hotel was spot on! Friendly staff and excellent food. Couldn't find a single fault, they even allowed us to use their facilities for an extended period after we were informed of our ferry cancellation. Will be using again in the future. Pool, gym, free phone & wifi + breakfast for less than most 2 stars on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musegroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

What a lovely hotel, you first notice that it is exceptionally clean and warm. Welcoming staff, special mention to Carlos the Manager and Eve who couldn't do enough for you. We never saw the Chef but the food was excellent. We were not aware when we booked, but the owner was extremely keen on ballroom dancing and lessons were held regularly in the superb ballroom. On each Saturday night they held a dinner dance which appeared well attended. This really should be advertised as I think it would appeal to many. I must add that if this doesn't appeal, it doesn't affect or spoil the stay for others. The bedroom furniture was a little tired but i think this could be due to over cleaning. The whole bed was stripped and made up with fresh bedding every morning. My other half is not so keen on putting his clothes away, but when we returned to our room after breakfast, anything left out was folded up neatly! This is all great value for the cost per night! Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 situated at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed here for a weekend recently, our 3rd stay in as many years. The hotel is looking a little tired and dated, rooms a bit shabby, even the staff seemed fed up. Wouldn't recommend this hotel as there are better on the Island, our last stay here now too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTreladeHotel, Manager at La Trelade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

I am very disappointed that the reviewer felt this way about our Hotel. We believe that we offer a top-of-the-range 3 star product, an opinion backed up by our recent Visit Britain Inspection, that gave us 67%. The Staff may have looked a little tired, as we have experienced an exceptional year of popularity, with the Hotel being 95% full between April and September, 75% full in October, and 60% full in November, our best year for many a year!
We are constantly looking to improve ourselves, and we be refreshing the decor in some areas over the Wintertime.
I hope that Tripadvisor readers will consider all our recent reviews, and not just this one in isolation, and I hope that this reviewer will give us another chance in 2013, to show that we are still one of the best 3 star hotels in the Channel Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at La Trelade from Thursday 1st November until Sunday 4th November. We were originally only due to stay until Saturday, but Flybe cancelled our flight so we stayed another night curtesy of Flybe which showed how efficient this hotel is. Firstly, the service you experience at La Trelade is second to none. Front of house were always very efficient, polite and friendly (particularly Mark). We stayed with my elderly mother-in-law whose needs were catered for from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. Rooms are spacious with beautiful, clean ensuite bathrooms. The beds and decor are modern and comfortable with a flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary bathroom products. Food is exceptional - we ate both evenings in the restaurant, the staff are attentive and friendly and the chef obviously very experienced. All our meals were cooked to a very high standard with large portions. Breakfast (continental buffet) was well presented with ample choice. Cooked breakfasts were available at an additional cost, although we preferred the buffet. Also on site was a fantastic swimming pool and gym available to hotel guests. The pool and changing rooms were immaculate and very clean. We even had the pool to ourselves one morning.

I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel for a quiet, restful break. For those who want to travel around the island, this hotel is ideal for its central position on the main road with easy and quick access to the airport. Coupled with the excellent food, bar and leisure facilities, La Trelade ticks all the boxes. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

I

Room Tip: All rooms are spotless, comfortable with good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evenslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.6 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#3 of 9 in St Martins
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
223 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £47 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing