We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“immaculately clean, superb food, good location, dancing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week on Guernsey during the liberation festivities. We were made most welcome by all the people of Guernsey they are the most helpful people. The food at the La Trelade was very good,, there is also a pool gym and ballroom. Social dancing each Saturday night visitors welcome and we were made very welcome.
The hotel is on several bus routes so easy access to all the island, a round island trip is good for £2 and during peak periods there is a bus almost every 15mins.
We also walked, but dont be taken in by the Route Tranquilles as they are not tranquil, the whole island is chocker block with traffic it was like being in some parts of London. Every person seems to have a car cant think why with such a good bus system.
There are some war time museums to see but the walking routes along the coast are a delight although not easy. much climbing up and down.
If you want a respite from traffic go to Herm its peaceful and tranquil.
However the La Trelade fit the bill for us.

Room Tip: We had no complaint about our room it was well decorated, warm, clean, and quiet. Plenty of room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Positives of our stay..Restaurant staff welcoming and food breakfast and dinner plentiful, good choice and good value for money, good layout to hotel and facilities itself.
Negatives of stay decor of hotel seemed very dated, health spa requires good clean matting around pools are filthy and roof area requires attention as holed and does not represent pictures available on website.
Also to note facilities were closed on a bank holiday from 1400 for the day .. not ideal.
No facilities available during the day for drinks coffee or water ...??
Room was clean but bath mixer tap for shower had press buttons missing with the towel rail on constant sauna temperature without a thermostat to adjust it.
Make sure you are not in a room next to the house keeping lift as staff are in and out of the room from 7.45 am everyday so no chance of a lay in whilst visiting.
Hotel itself is in a great location close to st peters port on a main bus route costing £2 each way only and only a stones throw away from the airport, which is apparent due to the hotel being on the main flight path route for all flights to land/ take off.
Checkout of room on day of departure was a early 10am but did offer a luggage room to house baggage until transfer that evening.
Reception staff were pleasant but if any questions were directed there way as in asking for taxis to be booked etc then it seemed a chore.
Hotel la Trelade, good location, good restaurant but requires redecoration and maintenance to warrant the price and star rating of hotel that it holds now.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived after 9 due to our flight being delayed so didn't have the opportunity to eat in the hotel restaurant as they closed for food so the receptionist kindly called round asking if places were open unfortunately they weren't as they close for food at 9! So he took his in his own car to a Chinese takeaway and kindly got us plates and glasses to eat in the restaurant! He also have us lots of information and recommendations he was extremely helpful and a credit to the hotel! Furthermore a very good breakfast we got a buffet and a full English breakfast which was very nice! The room was lovely pool sauna steam room all very nice! Would defiantly visit again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank IHeartSunn--x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights, the room was a little noisy, we could hear a fan running all night long outside which was a distraction till be became accustomed to it.
The room looked a little tired, old furniture but fully functional, the bed was VERY comfortable and the breakfast was very good.
The bar during the evening was very quiet, so we went to the local pub a 20 minute walk away.
Would I come again, yes because it was value for money.
The big bonus was the indoor pool which was free to use by the residents.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room away from the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loopylune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent location - close to airport and easy to find. On main road of routes to East and West of Island as well as a bus stop outside. Lots of free parking available. Staff can't do enough for you. Breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice and good attentive service. The swimming pool and gym very nice too. Cleanliness was brilliant in all areas of the hotel, room included. The room could do with a lick of a paint and some new furniture but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom good (although shower was weak). Our room (105) was quite hot but there was a fan provided. Good nights sleep with king sized comfy bed. We enjoyed our couple of nights stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imogen307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here during a quiet period towards the end of the year for a few weeks.

Where to start .... well the hotel is a short walk from the Airport, about 20 mins which is good because Taxis can be difficult to come by on the island when an aircraft arrives but not to worry there is a most excellent bus service, no need for hire cars and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. If you are staying for a while one of the special bus ticket makes great sense. Back to the hotel, arrivals was easy, rooms were fine with well stocked tea making facilities and cosy with clean linen, TV and free WiFi. The bathroom, yes the shower door was a little awkward but once in, the plentiful supply of hot water washed that thought away.

Lets look at the food here, bountiful is the word to describe it. There is a fantastic selection of food for breakfast, which if you have taken the option ..... a super cooked breakfast, mouth watering! Never had lunch there but the evening meals, super for the price. Portions are enormous, all stable fair but you have to try the Le Trelade Burger, it's supposedly smaller than it used to be but it is still far too big to allow you to have that and a desert!!

As part of the Le Trelade there is a leisure centre, swimming pool, sauna, gym; great facilities to while away a few stresses and free for hotel guests.

The staff, fabulous! Just the right level of attentiveness without been obtrusive, friendly and efficient at what they do; a credit to the establishment. I'm sure this is how things were a lifetime ago, what a special time that would have been.

The hotel is located between St Peter Port and the airport, on the main road .... but this is Guernsey so the main road is smaller than most housing estate roads! So there is no traffic noise, especially as the Hotel is set back from it by around 50m. Just outside Le Trelade is the bus stop for the fantastic and very regular bus service, got to use that! There are many places within walking distance, the occupation museum, and the costal path; now that's worth a walk for the stunning views.

Overall ... would I stay there again, oh yes no doubt at all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChilledJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for one night for a business trip as it was convenient for the airport. Airport staff stated it was walking distance !! I beg to differ especially with a small suitcase so beware. Get a bus or taxi instead.
Check in very good and smoothless. Room was good until I got in the shower. The shower door is fitted to the bath but does not open fully because of the bath handles. Very poor design. The shower did not work properly and the lack of pressure meant the water came out the bath taps instead.
at night could not sleep due to the excessive noise from some type of generator that was going all night. It may be the equipment for the pool etc but not condusive to a good nights sleep.
Breakfast good as was the service in the bar.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that may be less quiet !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £46 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing