We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel great breakfast great pool just bit noisy with planes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Book bed and breakfast and eat out ,Hotel food good but loads great places about to eat a car is not essential but useful

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMLLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2009

This is a well located hotel in a convenient part of the island about 10 minutes from St Peterport and only a few minutes from the south coast where there are some pretty beaches/coves (Petit Bot) a favourite. I had heard some mixed reports on this hotel based, I think, on past rather than present visits. It is clear that a good deal has been invested and new carpets, decor etc are evident. There is an excellent indoor pool and gym complex and good on-site parking. The staff are all very helpful and there is no hardship in having an evening meal there which are of a high quality. The airport is close by so you do get day time flights but these are all propeller not jets so its not a problem. The outside from the photos looks a bit dull (and in truth good do with a bit of a spruce up) but this does not do the hotel justice. We had 2 rooms (1 standard, 1 superior). Both were good and the larger is well worth the extra. There are good gardens to sit out in. All in all I would certainly return to this very clean and hospitable hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thesilverfox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Spent 4 nights at this hotel and we made this choice after checking out reviews on the Trip Advisor site, we then booked a package including taking our car through Holiday Getaways.
The actual hotel is situated in St Martins on the main road to the airport, you do get a few flights go over the hotel but this did not bother us too much even though I am a light sleeper. The room very nicely presented and the hotel has recently been re-decorated and our bedroom was of a very good standard, maybe the only slight criticism was that the central heating was on and this made the bathroom to hot. Our kettle failed to work one morning and the lady in reception went and actually bought a new one for us and I have to say that all the staff were very polite and helpful during our stay. The breakfast was very good and had a lot of differnet choice's, we never used the restaurant for meals so cannot comment on this. My wife used the fitness centre every day and said it was of a very high standard and the swimming pool looked surperb/hygienically clean, these factilites were used as well by the locals so I think this tells you that it was good and also it was not to crowded.
We did use the Deer Hunter Inn down the road for dinner and it was very good and reasonably priced, we also ate in the Falcon Carvery which was also very good and great value.
We visited lots of places such as the German Underground Military Hospital, German Occupation Museum, German Bunker Fort Hommet, Guernsey Candles and many other places which are pretty good as it is the local people who are passing all this information on. Our favorite place was waiting for the tide to go out in the afternoon and then walking over the causeway to Lihou Island and seeing all the birds nesting. Also the beaches, coastal walks are fantastic as the island was quiet, well looked after and very clean.
There are plenty of shops, supermarkets and places to eat and buying fresh produce at the front of people houses is great, which really sums what a lovely beautfiul, peaceful island Guernsey is.
Finally a couple of tips would be to leave your petrol tank empty if you bring your car to the island as the petrol is as low as 78 pence a litre and also purchase a Guernsey parking disc which is a must in St Peters Port and this can be purchased from any garage.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Good value for money. Hotel is very hot constantly opening windows and turning off radiators. Breakfast was ok , only sampled snack menu which was acceptable but not thrilling. Health suite and pool was excellent. Staff tried hard but did not always deliver good service.

Would not return to hotel but Guernsey was as beautiful as ever.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SurreyClarke38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Lovely hotel on the beautiful island of Guernsey. Reasonably priced. Good location if you have a car - near all major sights but not in centre of town. Hotel room clean and well equipped. Public rooms nicely decorated. Staff friendly and helpful.

They offered set menus every evening and we tried the dinner on the first day because we were tired. The food was so good (and reasonably priced) that we ate there every evening of the 4 nights of our holiday. If you get the chance, try the apple pie - best I have ever tasted!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Late booking. Bedrooms excellent. Ensuite good. Cleanliness excellent. Heath suite/pool good. Was a "warm" building. Stayed BandB. Did not eat in. Breakfast good. Range on offer excellent.Service all round good. Hotel bar/lounge comfortable.Parking no problem. Airplane noise overhead for 30 seconds. Propeller aircraft mainly. Earliest 0630. Latest 2130.About 10/hour at worst. Excellent eatery nearby "The Deerhound Inn". Time to nearest beach by car 20minutes.
Would return again.
Fast Ferry good from Weymouth. OK to Poole, but 30minutes to get into dock through all the boats !

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank franciscan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

My wife and I arranged this 5 night break at short notice via a newspaper advert. We had read most reviews available but you can"t be sure until you experience for yourself.
We upgraded to a 4 poster executive room, to treat ourselves, and it was beautifully appointed, very tastefully decorated and furnished. The downside was that the room was extremely hot at first , I turned off the radiators, however much of the heat was from hidden pipes. We opened the window for the duration and reception immediately gave us two fans and eventually the temperature became bearable. The window was kept open night and day which meant the aircraft noise between 6am & 9.30pm was more pronounced, but acceptable.Hot water was no problem but heat from the pipes transmitted to the cold water pipes to make it lukewarm, not for drinking, so we had iced water to our room for drinking.Otherwise our room was superb, with facilities as described.

We found the senior staff very helpfull but if you are unlucky enough to be attended solely by junior staff you may have problems. They try to be helpfull but their inexperience and english language difficulties may cause episodes from Fawlty Towers to become reality! We had some minor episodes but not bad enough to avoid seeing the funny side.

The swimming pool and leisure suite is excellent and I could not fault it.

The whole hotel was very clean and well finished.

Car parking is plentifull.

Food was a good, we were on half board and enjoyed almost all of our meals.Both the table de hote & a la carte menus had a wide choice of starters, mains and desserts.


We would return here again without hesitation. It is 3 star rated and you get this as a minimum

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank reluctanttyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.6 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#3 of 9 in St Martins
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £48 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing