We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jerbourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jerbourg
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Lovely location, excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had bought a 3 night and car package from "Holiday Getaways", and upgraded our room as there is no lift in the hotel, and thus we wanted a ground floor room, which had french windows to overlook the pool. The superior room was very spacious indeed, good TV etc, and table and chairs on the personal patio area.

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, especially when I need a dentist as a matter of urgency, and was pointed in the direction of the proprietor's own dentist, who was excellent and sorted me out.

There is a lot of fish on the menu, as to be expected, but we did find our sautee'd brill for my wife's 70th birthday dinner the first night a little overwhelming : we appreciated that it would be sautee'd in butter, but the vegetables were swimming in butter as well. Certainly it isn't a hotel to come to if you want to watch your figure. Wonderful creamy sauce with the mussels another night, though. There are table d'hote menus if you don't want to go a la carte.

It was only after we were commenting on the unchanging and limited cooked part of breakfast that we were told that we could have ordered scrambled or poached eggs etc - pity we weren't told that at the start. There was plenty of cold breakfast buffet.

You are right on the cliffs, one of the best positions on the island, looking out to Herm and Sark, with plenty of walks at your door. If you don't hire a car (very narrow roads), the bus route ends right outside the hotel. There is also a small snack bar across the road from the hotel, and another proper restaurant a ten minute walk down the road, although we did not try it. Apart from a scattering of private homes, the hotel is on its own.

Overall a very enjoyable stay on a lovely island.

Room Tip: Better views from the first floor, but no lift if you have limited mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    91
    39
    10
    1
See reviews for
67
166
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Since circa 2008 we have been visiting this hotel on a yearly basis (sometimes twice a year) and every time in the same (superior) room!! Beds very comfortable and changed every 3 days (more than we would at home!) Highly recommended : views stunning. Not once have we been disappointed. In fact our stay improves year on. The staff are fantastic and extremly helpful and polite and have made us feel very special on every occasion, including a (recent) 60th birthday celebration. In fact they've all made us feel like part of one big family. Nothing is too much trouble for any one of them. Food is excellent and the cakes to die for not to mention the 'afternoon tea'. The whole experience makes for a fabulous relaxing, peaceful holiday with as much or as little as you wish to do. Can't think of a better place to stay in Guernsey and cannot understand how anyone could level any complaint whatsoever. Have already booked up for next year. Thank you Paul, Fran, Louis, Stacey and all the rest. (Janet & Alan B - Worcestershire)

Room Tip: If available - try for one of the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel itself is very well maintained. The views are beautiful if you manage to get a room with a view out to sea. Plenty of costal walks if you are into that. We spent most of our time venturing into the towns.
Unfortunately we didn't have a room with much of a view as we were in the front this time. The room we had was adequate. We had a problem with the double bed, as it was well worn and needed to be replaced. I emailed the hotel about this.
The reply was very professional and apologetic. Stated a new one was ordered and arriving on Friday.
The staff are very polite, very pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: If you do have a problem ask for the manager or even better proprietress or proprietor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We once again enjoyed our holiday at Hotel Jerbourg,
Superior room very comfortable. Television, kettle and fridge facilities . Sea view and coastal walks make this a wonderful location, in fact best position on the Island.
Food very good with pleasant and friendly staff, coffee and cake a must have, strawberry tart
my favourite. Came home relaxed and happy.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra cost,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The views and coastal walks from this hotel and the quiet surroundings are what make this hotel an excellent place to stay. The bedrooms are basic but we did have a sea view and nice touches like a kettle and tea/coffee were provided in the room. Yes, it is expensive to eat in the restaurant but we did find meals in Guernsey were not cheap (we did eat out on one occasion). The coffee in the Coffee Shop was about the average price but the cakes were expensive (no wonder there were no prices displayed). We found the staff to all be very nice, yes, they are young people but we always found them to be polite and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roche15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with business, they are not geared up for the corporate market. Lots of young inexperienced staff, service was not good, it took 1.5 hours to have a simple meal. It was v expensive for what is was. My room backed on to the staff quarters and music was played v loudly until quite late. Unable to get Wi Fi in room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanlloyd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Walked across Guernsey to the hotel today and had a beautiful lunch on the terrace looking at the wonderful view. There was a handful of diners and after lunch costing £100 my friend and I went to sit by the pool. there was no one at all at the poolside so we just sat for a while before leaving. We were then tackled by a member of staff informing us that we could not sit there as we were not residents. He did not even approach us to say this but said it from the other side of the pool where others could hear. We appreciate the rule but we had spent a considerable amount of money and there was no one else in sight near the pool. we would obviously have moved if the area was full. We were disappointed after a lovely lunch but this has soured the chance of us visiting again. I await your comments.

Lunch 5 star attitude of staff member 1 star

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jerbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jerbourg

Property: Hotel Jerbourg
Address: Route de Jerbourg, St Martins GY4 6BJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jerbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jerbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jerbourg Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing