We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome, friendly service, brilliant food.”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

A return visit to this small (26 bed) and welcoming hotel. We voted for half board again as the food is so good and the choice wide enough to please everyone. They booked us cars (parking is easy in the large car park) and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. There's a friendly bar with regular locals, and a small lounge with a selection of books. There's a small, sheltered outdoor pool for when it gets warmer. They also have eight or ten self-catering flats which you could combine with the superb restaurant. Moules were in season, or the seafood starter was a meal in itself. The tender steak was big enough for two. Real kippers for breakfast - none of that boil in the bag rubbish. Going back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

We have been visiting La Barbarie for the last 13 years plus and can honestly say have never had a bad experience. The food is the nicest that we have had anywhere and we never stay in less than a 4* hotel; there is always a good variety of menu choices and the Staff and Management will always cater for your requirements (within reason!) my daughter has been visiting La Barbarie since she was 8months old (now age 13) and she has the staff wrapped around her little finger. Our experiences at the barb has always been the same, friendly, spotlessly clean hotel in beautiful gardens which are kept imaculate the pool is always clean. The food is "outstanding" and it boasts an award winning restaurant the service has always been second to none! We have stayed in the hotel and also the apartments and the beds are made up beautifully. The rooms are cleaned daily and are just perfect for your needs.
Its in a good location and has a handy bus stop just outside the hotel, we usually hire a car and there is adequate parking. You are never faraway from beautiful scenery and if you like walking this is the place to stay! (be warned you will get lost because all the lanes look the same, but this is part of the fun of Guernsey!). We like driving around the Island and trying out the various beaches all different in their own way.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We visited Guernsey for a few days in early autumn and split our stay between two hotels. First in the Duke of Richmond in St Peter Port and then in La Barbarie. I was attracted to La Barbarie by their walking holiday option which included packed lunches and bus passes. I have to say that the lunches were a huge disappointment. You would have thought that a hotel boasting of its prize-winning cuisine would be able to put together a pretty good packed lunch. Sadly not. Think of 1960s British Rail sandwiches and you'd not be far from the mark. The sort of sliced bread that balls up into a soggy lump and glues itself to the roof of your mouth. A cheap apple. A piece of so-called "Guernsey Gache" in a sellophane wrapper. I still have one three months later. It's got so much preservative in it still looks the same as when I got it. Here's the ingredient list - sultanas, wheat flour, water, citrus peel, guernsey butter, yeast, emulsifier E471, sugar, gluten, starch, salt, modified starch, full fat soya flour, nutmeg, vegetable oil, malt flour, preservative (potassium sorbate), gelling agents (E407, E412), flour treatment agent (L-Ascorbic Acid). Not a traditional recipe then. And it tastes as disgusting as it sounds. And we got the same lunch every day for three days. The only choice was whether the sandwich would have cheese, ham or something else I've forgotten. No drink included.

We ate in the restaurant a couple of times. The seafood was excellent, well prepared and presented. The other stuff wasn't. Unimaginative menus cooked and served like an average pub meal anywhere in England.

The breakfasts were OK but not a patch on the WONDERFUL breakfasts they serve in the Duke of Richmond.

Rooms were OK. Staff OK. Bar OK.

There's a bus stop right outside and a bus service once an hour. A short walk to the coast and wonderful coastline. Guernsey is a great place for walking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripAdviseeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewColeman, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Dear TripAdviseeYorkshire
Thank you for taking the time to post your review
My apologies that you were unghappy with your packed lunches.
Although this is the first time we have had such comments about the them I take your constructive comments on board and together with Chef will be looking to make improvements in that area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We booked a trip with friends and had regrets from the moment of check in. The receptionist had limited English and all the staff were foreign not Islanders.
The first room we were shown smelt awful and was roasting hot, we asked to see another and that too was hot but cleaner and with limited smell. It was very small with no outlook except car park. We chose this room as the lesser of two evils. We later found when we got in bed that the pillows stank of stale sweat and the bed was very lumpy and collaped to the middle. we insisted on new bed and pillows which were provided next night. In general they listened to our complaints and acted on them, but they should never have occurred in the first place. Breakfast was very good and the bar meals excellent. Staff were at best, poor.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bedwetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewGuernsey, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Dear Bedwetter
Thank you for your review.
Sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay with us were not of the standard you expected.
However I am pleased to see that we responded and acted upon you complaints and also that you enjoyed your meals with us.
We have recently been graded by Visit Guernsey Tourism and saw our cleanliness % score rise from 92% to 98%. All three of my reception staff are fluent in English and whilst you are correct in your observation that the majority of the staff here are not Islanders, it is a fact that this is the situation throughout the industry in the islands.
Your comment that "staff at best, poor", can be balanced with the many many positive comments relating to our hard working staff on this website.
Again my thanks to all of you who take the time to post your reviews, we appreciate your comments and endeavour to learn from them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

First visit to Guernsey to explore...the hotel was set in lovely surroundings, very peaceful, within walking distance of a little cove, and coastal paths, we actually stayed in one of the hotels self catering appartments, very well equipped kitchen, clean, welcoming with plenty of space for two people, a glorious bathroom, & cosy living room.
Able to park the car easily outside the appartment. The restaurant had such a fabulous reputation, it was frequented by great numbers of discerning islanders, so needed to book in advance ! The food was delightful, and of very high quality and the wine excellent.
The handyman helpful, particularly when I accidentally dropped my earring down the sink.... All the staff were friendly and attentive, plan to return again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltaSaltash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Just returned from a short break at La Barbarie and enjoyed every minute of it. Everyone at this hotel are very friendly and helpful from the manager to the cleaner. Well worth a visit, a hotel we would certainly return to.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerandoutSouthGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My friend and I wanted a few days in Guernsey to do a little walking during the day whilst enjoying some good food in the evenings and found La Barbarie the perfect place to stay. Staying regularly in hotels in England I usually find the breakfasts to be disappointing but breakfast at La Barbarie was a real treat with an impressive choice of high quality items on the buffet and an excellent choice for the cooked to order hot breakfast. For dinner there was a choice of the menu for the day, a la carte or a special Tennerfest menu, all offering a superb choice at very good prices. The food itself was wonderful - beautifully cooked and delivered to the table fresh and hot. Our superior room was also all we could have wished for with comfortable beds, chairs, a sofa, foot stool, large wardrobe, desk and dressing table, not to mention a huge modern bathroom with both bath and shower. Finally, special mention must be made of the staff who were all unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkinthedark221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £100 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing