We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff and great accomodation”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The food in their resturant was excellent. The a la carte menu was both comprehensive and interesting. The Table D'Hote menu was changed everyday and was superb value - giving a good choice of courses - all the meals that I, and my partner had, were delicious. Breakfasts were excellent too and with a superb choice. I cannot fault the food at all although I think that the resturant would benefit from air conditioning. ALL the staff were friendly, efficient ,very eager to be of help and always ready with a smile. The accomodation was clean, very comfortable and well appointed. As someone who has travelled quite a bit, in my time ,and has experience of hotels of all types, I would have absolutely no hestitaion in recommending the La Barbarie Hotel. Give them a try - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

We loved this hotel for its quiet location, close to the coast with its beautiful cliffs though also close to a bus stop so it was very easy to get around. The breakfast and diner are very good and we recommend guests to book halfboard because the food is good and very good value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have been visiting this hotel for the past 25 years on a regualr basis (usually twice a year, sometimes on my own but often with my wife and friends).
As a short break it is excellent value for money and the restaurant is impossible to criticise. Booking is essential for evening meals as the locals fill it most nights.
Try the mini break - it includes free car hire.
The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Most of the key staff have been there for years and the management style offered by the MD (Andy) proves it works well.
An on-going schedule of room upgrades during the winter close down is ensuring that the hotel keeps up with its star rating.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with Reception. All tastes and requirements are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_smith640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were delighted with the welcome we received at this lovely hotel. It was our first visit and hopefully won't be our last.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and the restaurant was excellent with outstanding food and service.
The bottle of champagne in our room was a treat from the hotel and much appreciated!
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Still a good hotel. Friendly staff, and nice room. However we felt that this time around some of the meals fell short of what we had come to expect. We stayed half board eating off a set menu with 4 options.
Sunday evening meal was a disappointment. The main staff appear to be off and I suspect the Head Chef as well.
The main courses just seems to be getting less interesting.
The hotel does seem highly regarded by locals, but they would be eating from the A La Carte menu.
I cannot, however fault the waiting-on staff, or the staff in general.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We booked the three night sea food break and opted for a superior room.
Staff, service, room and food all excellent.
Extremely comfortable, very large bed.
Will definitely return asap.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subduralspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

What a wonderful holiday we have had once again at La Barbarie. Room 31 was excellent and we really enjoyed having the extra space. Our table in the restaurant was in a superb position and this and the room contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the holiday. Your staff, as usual, were extremely efficient and friendly. Ivo was always attentive and welcoming and we would like to give a special mention to Raivis. he spotted us as we arrived and made us feel welcome immediately and his attention to detail in opening the st Emilion bottles of wine and decanting them in plenty of time was greatly appreciated. we hope to return next year.

Room Tip: superior rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynwales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £98 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing