We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was our third visit to La Barbarie Hotel. We booked a walking break as we wanted to explore the coastline. The coast is a short walk away. We made good use of the buses (a bus pass was included in the break) and we were able to walk along the spectacular coastline. We also had a packed lunch included which we appreciated half way through the day. The food at La Barbarie is excellent, good choice and well presented. Shopping at St Peter Port is good too and there are lots of interesting boats on display at the harbour The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely visit again, a lovely place for a get away from it all holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Spent 4 nights at La Barbarie, staff were very friendly and attentive, rooms were clean and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent with the choice of continental and continental with full English. There was a good selection of meals (both lunchtime and evenings) ranging from £15.00 for a 3 course and coffee menu, to a full a la carte option. I do not believe anyone could be disappointed with the service, menu or overall appeal of the hotel. Not too far from the airport or St Peter Port, but can be a little difficult to find but well worth the search. Slight negative perhaps was the drinks in bar seemed a little expensive Two tonics, a wine and soda plus an orange & lemonade came in at £15.00).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCOLEMAN, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Ken P
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit and for your very positive comments about our food, service and staff.
I must apologise for the fact that you were over charged by £5.00 for your bar drinks on one evening. I have spoken to those concerned and can assure you that should you return to see us your Bar account will be in credit by that amount.
Thanks again for choosing to stay at La Barbarie Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We spent 4 nights staying in a 2 bedroom apartment with the hint of a seaview. The apartment was scrupiously clean and warm and cosy for an October break. My sea food bar platter was excellent and dining in the restaurant highly reccomended although breakfast was a little disappointing. The staff were really friendly and helpful and there was no end of season feeling although the hotel was due to close 2 days after we left. We really enjoyed the nearby cliff walks and beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: The furthest top floor apartment by the pool has a partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saspompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had a lovely few days in a self catering apartment at this hotel, the appartment had a seperate longe/kitchennette, bathroom and bedroom. The bedroom was at the back and we did not have any disturbance from the car park or any of the other guests. The apartment was spotlessly clean and comfortable and superb value for money compared to some of the other hotels on the island.
Unfortunately, being self catering and visiting relatives on the island, we never got the chance to dine in the Hotel but general concensus among anyone we spoke to who had was that the food is excellent.
Worth noting that the stairs to our apartment door were outside and quite steep. No problem for us but care is required desending in the wet and if you struggle with stairs you might be advised to request a ground floor apartment.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet relaxed break and will be booking here again next time we visit Guernsey for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alastairandalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

this was the second time we have stayed at this note, the staff are very friendly & helpful, the food is excellent, it is a bit difficult to find this hotel, this time we arrived in the dark which made it even harder to find! We would recommend this hotel. its a shame it closes over winter.

Room Tip: this time we stayed in a superior room, which was larger and had a nice seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Having never been to Guernsey before we struggled to locate La Barbarie amongst the many twisting lanes and it really would be helpful if there were road signs on the main road, as there are for other hotels in the area. That said, once we arrived we were very pleased we had. Our experience of a 5 night stay here was pretty much as others have already described. Our bedroom whilst on the smallish side was exceptionally clean, well decorated and the bed, very comfortable. Our only beef was with the shower - water presure appeared to be very low thus making you feel like you couldn't quite get a proper shower. Elsewhere the hotel is very peaceful and has a distinct 'country house' feel to it - quaint, clean, tidy and well ordered. Staff were very polite and professional at all times. Apart from breakfast (which was very good - just the right portion sizes) we ate only once in the restaurant - but the food was exceptionally good and fantastic value for money.
Overall an excellent hotel that is well worthy of a higher star rating (we have stayed at far inferior 5 star hotels) and one that we would highly recommend if you are visiting Guernsey.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to be on the small side so if you are less able bodied you may not get around so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katfish_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We visit this hotel twice a year, sometimes three. From the moment you arrive in reception you are made most welcome. The rooms are very comfortable, and spotless, as if you are the only ones ever to use them. We always book half board, breakfast is a must... the selection is amazing. Now to the evening meal,that is the very best experience,everything beautifully cooked and served to perfection by Ivo or Ravis,It is also likely you will speak to people you have seen many times.All in all it is our perfect place Thank you all very much

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £69 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing