We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and highly recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
“Very friendly and highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

A very good little hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely dining room and bar area with a relaxed atmosphere. Contrary to one or two of the reviews here, I think the location is superb: minutes from the beautiful Saints Bay and within a stones throw of the stunning coastal path.The little lanes and hedgerows are very pretty at this time of year and La Barbarie is nestled in a lovely corner of the island.
Any downsides? If I was being critical, our standard room was a little on the small side and we would try for one of the larger rooms if available in future. Also, the pressure of the shower could have been better. Overall though, these were only minor points and did not affect our stay to any great extent. It was our first time at the hotel but we would love to come back! Highly recommended ...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Foulerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    90
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
67
313
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Meeting up with our friends or visiting as a couple, we find that La Barbarie is just the perfect place to unwind and relax. We have stayed here for many years and are very happy to recommend this delightful hotel. Food is a big part of our holiday and La Barbarie does not disappoint, with a wide choice of delicious meals there is something for every taste. The lovely rooms are spotless and very comfortable, the superior rooms superb! The manager and his staff are quite simply the best, nothing is too much trouble and you are made very welcome. There are peaceful walks along the lanes or cliffs and with a handy bus stop nearby to take you to town and beyond a car is not essential. A lovely hotel in a lovely quiet setting with the best staff, we always look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: The new superior rooms are extra special but all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Enjoyed a 5 night break here recently & they have just opened after the winter break. The food is a major part of our holiday & here it never fails to please, lots of Mmm's ! The breakfasts are cooked to perfection and there is lots of choice. In the evening there is always a fantastic array of lovely seafood as well as meats. A lot of the rooms have just been refurbed, lovely big beds with crisp cotton linen & thick towels. A short drive from the airport & and beautiful walks nearby it's no wonder that we & lots of people return many times. Recharge your batteries here !
Thanks to all for the great service. (ps we wish they opened over Christmas too)

Room Tip: The self-catering suites are large & modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsyogi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The food is highly recommended, the staff do everything to make your stay a comfortable one, especially Jill and they always have a smile on their faces. However, the location for us was not one of the best and also the rooms we stayed in had some issues or the other. one of the rooms had bad heating, one of the room's bathroom had an obnoxious smell and even when we were moved, the room's hot water tap made so much noise you would think it was broken... i would recommend this hotel for its food and for the friendliness of the staff but i think perhaps the hotel management might need to relook at the rooms considering the price charged..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indian_Bawaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Indian Bawaji

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent one night stay with us
It is lovely to hear that you thought our food and staff were amazing.
I apologies for the issues with your room when you initially checked in and I was pleased we could resolve things so quickly and let you have a free upgrade to the superior room.
Having just added four Superior Rooms and redecorated more standard rooms our commitment to upgrading rooms continues.
Thanks again for your feedback.
P.S.
The smell is gone and the tap is fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have been visiting La Barbarie for over 20 years and have never been disappointing. By chance, we met the hotel's General Manager, Mr Andrew Coleman, in June 1991 in a restaurant in St Peter Port. He suggested that we 'pop' down to the La Barbarie with the promise that the food was even better than the restaurant we were in .... and he was right! Since then we've stayed at La Barbarie every year and have always had a fantastic time.

Andy and his team make everyone feel very welcome, the food is always excellent, the wine selection is great and with the introduction of the new executive/superior rooms, I don't think there's anywhere else on the island that could beat La Barbarie. Added to that, the accommodation and food/beverage rates at the hotel are incredibly competitive.

We would never go anywhere else but if you're not lucky enough to be able to stay at La Barbarie, then I'd definitely recommend at least visiting for dinner :)

Room Tip: To be honest all of the rooms in the hotel are good but I'd recommend spending a few extra pound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was our third visit to La Barbarie Hotel. We booked a walking break as we wanted to explore the coastline. The coast is a short walk away. We made good use of the buses (a bus pass was included in the break) and we were able to walk along the spectacular coastline. We also had a packed lunch included which we appreciated half way through the day. The food at La Barbarie is excellent, good choice and well presented. Shopping at St Peter Port is good too and there are lots of interesting boats on display at the harbour The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely visit again, a lovely place for a get away from it all holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Spent 4 nights at La Barbarie, staff were very friendly and attentive, rooms were clean and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent with the choice of continental and continental with full English. There was a good selection of meals (both lunchtime and evenings) ranging from £15.00 for a 3 course and coffee menu, to a full a la carte option. I do not believe anyone could be disappointed with the service, menu or overall appeal of the hotel. Not too far from the airport or St Peter Port, but can be a little difficult to find but well worth the search. Slight negative perhaps was the drinks in bar seemed a little expensive Two tonics, a wine and soda plus an orange & lemonade came in at £15.00).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCOLEMAN, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Ken P
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit and for your very positive comments about our food, service and staff.
I must apologise for the fact that you were over charged by £5.00 for your bar drinks on one evening. I have spoken to those concerned and can assure you that should you return to see us your Bar account will be in credit by that amount.
Thanks again for choosing to stay at La Barbarie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing