We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, calm and plesant hotel”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice, calm and plesant hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Location: St. Martins, around 10 minutes by taxi from the Airport

Hotel: small, nice, pleasant and calm hotel with no children, no crowds and with very nice and helpful staff.

Surrounding: St. Martins is a very small town, La Barbarie hotel is in the side street. Around 10 minutes by foot, you find a nice bay. At the corner of the street, there´s a bus stop to the town and also to St. Peter Port.

Rent a car: You can rent a car directly in the hotel. Driving in Guernsey is a little hectic. There are very narrow roads, no signs and you drive ofcourse on the left side. We din´t drive in UK before, but when you drive slowly and carefully, you don´t need to have a fear. You can see whole island by car and definitely, you should rent it. We had a car from Europcar (Ford Ka, 70 EUR/2 days, full insurance).

Accomodation: is nice, clean and pleasant.

Breakfast: buffet style. There´s cold buffet wit cereals, cheese and ham and then you can order hot, typicall English breakfast.

Food: there is a very good restaurant. We had a la carte menu and the food was very good and tasty.

Drinks: you can have drinks in the restaurant or in the bar. The bar is very nice and pleasant.

Services: restaurant, bar, pool, garden,

Staff: very nice and helpful everywhere - at the reception, in the restaurant and also in the bar

Advantages of this hotel:
- lovely garden with nice pool
- comfortable and nice accomodation
- very good service and attitude of the staff
- romantic and quite hotel without a lot of tourists
- very good restaurant and bar

Disadvantages of this hotel:
- you need a car to really enjoy your holiday in Guernsey

What you can do there:
- swimming - pool
- trips

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humenikova_Beata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    95
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
339
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here for two days on Business,Ideal holiday retreat,has a pool aswell,very friendly and helpful staff,bit off the beaten track,but really nice place,the food is amazing.lovely rooms,clean and comfortable,everything you need.

Make sure you have a sat-nav, can be a bit confusing to get there,all part of the fun,nice place thou.

Would use again no problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robsworldtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The first comment to make is that the hotel is so remote that it is difficult to find. I stopped and asked a local Guernseyman for directions, but he was unsure, - despite the fact that it subsequently transpired that the hotel was no more than 500 yards further along the same road on which I had stopped to make my enquiry! Nevertheless, it is most certainly worth finding, as it is set in a beautiful location that just oozes tranquillity, along with an old-fashioned sense of charm.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, with good facilities, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

All in all a very good experience if one is looking for a break away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent the Easter weekend at La Barbarie. The hotel was very busy but we didn't think that this compromised the service at all, we found the staff really friendly & helpful. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. As the other reviewers have mentioned the food at the hotel is also very good.

The hotel was a little more isolated than we were expecting (you definitely need a car) which was fine in the day but could have proven a problem in the evenings as we like to have a glass of wine or two with our dinner but given that their restaurant was fabulous and that there were another couple of hotels with nice restaurants within walking distance in the end it made for some nice relaxing hassel free evenings.

We did find that some of the other guests were very demanding and quite rude to the poor staff which they dealt with in a very professional manner (I don't think I would have managed to be so polite).

Room Tip: I think our room might have been one of the ones still to be redocorated as the decor was a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi_traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary weekend at La Barbarie and had a wonderful time. The hotel is quite small and simple but everything works, the staff are frindly and helpful, and the food is superb. Our only criticism is of Guernsey, not the hotel - any road which has its name displayed on the road is not named in the Free Tourist Map, and any road named in the FTM does not have its name displayed - which makes navigation in Guernsey's pretty twisty lanes rather tricky.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Thank you so much everybody at The Barbarie for a fantastic last minute weekend. It was our anniversary and we should have been in Sark, but due to bad weather it was cancelled. In an hour on a friday evening, we booked the last ferry to Guernsey, and saw the advert for The Barbarie in the phone book, and right from the start the staff were just so professional. We arrived to the hotel by taxi that they arranged for us at 10pm, were given a fantastic superior room that was HUGE, then we were taken to the the lovely snug lounge to be fed by the biggest sandwiches i have ever seen...and a very welcome drink!
We dined in their award winning restaurant the following evening and once again it was superb and very good value for money. There was an excellent choice for breakfast, the service was faultless. The hotel is situated in a quiet country lane in St Martins, within minutes of fantastic coastal walks,spotlessly clean, the rooms just incredible...but most importantly the professionally trained staff..that make you feel you are the most important person in the world. Thank you so much..you turned a disapointment into a delight.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at La Barbarie for 5 nights in June - our first time in Guernsey and also to attend a wedding nearby.
The hotel is in a lovely location with easy walks nearby. The gardens are very pretty and well kept and the car park is just about big enough for all the hotel residents. The swimming pool looked lovely but the weather was a bit variable so we never got to use it.We had booked 2 rooms for our family and both were very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed (trouser press/ironing table and iron, kettle and cups etc, toiletries replaced every day, flat screen TV with most channels).
Reception is very welcoming and the staff very helpful. The restaurant is very light and airey and the food is excellent. Service is also excellent under the command of Ivo who is very approachable and will put himslef out to serve his customers. We were on a B&B stay but also ate several dinners as the food was so good and the atmosphere was refined but not stuffy.
A real gem of a hotel and restaurant serving top food.
We would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting Guernsey

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatisfiedUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing