We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely small hotel”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
winchester
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just back from a short stay at the Barbarie and had a really nice time. Hotel is small with fairly limited facilities but this is outweighed by the fantastic service and lovely restaurant. We felt the location was great, about 8 mins in the car from the airport and about the same distance from St Peter Port. On a quiet road, around a 10 minute stroll from the coastal path and the small bay. Our room (2 room suite) was great, very spacious and well equipped, with a small balcony over looking the pool. All of the staff were incredibly friendly, and this was a big part of the experience but the real jewel in the crown is the restaurant, which was first class.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    95
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
339
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at La Barbarie. It wasn't faultless, but it was very pleasant and the staff were good.

Rooms? Well, game of two halves - the standard rooms are fine but a little dated and quite small. The superior rooms are much better, larger and have air conditioning - worth paying the extra.

In addition, some of the standard rooms overlook the car park so some noise is unavoidable.

The swimming pool was good and very clean (outside) and not too cold.

The food was good - I'm not sure it quite hits the heights it's aiming for, but it's close and a nice atmosphere of an evening.

Overall, very good - however don't believe the maps, despite it not being far from the beach, the road is very steep and anyone not in their first flush of youth will struggle on the way back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior rooms, much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moos3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have stayed at La Barbarie over many years and it just gets better and better.
The self-catering apartments are clean and very well equipped in a beautiful location. You have use of the Hotels facilities ie the pool, restaurant etc. This year we also stayed in the hotel which was fantastic and highly recommended. The breakfast was great and the service excellent. The service we receive from the staff always exceeds our expectations - they can't do enough for you. Stay there - you won't get any better..............!

Room Tip: The rooms which overlook the pool are particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Spent a lovely week this August at La Barbarie, our first stay in one of the new superior rooms that had been the former self catering units. Great room, Large, light and airy and overlooking the pool. In fact everything and more that we have come to expect at this venue.

I suspect Andrew Coleman (the hands on director) could pursue a career as a consultant in the hotel trade because he knows how to keep staff happy. Not an easy task but an important factor for us visitors.

The restaurant deserves a mention, it's going to be hard to beat anywhere in the world in my well traveled experience....

Thanks to Andy and ALL the crew for their professionalism which together with the outstanding location ensured a visit we will certainly never forget.


Oh, and see you next year!

Terry & Christine Amies

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed 4 super nights in August and found everything excellent.The superior rooms are well worth the extra cost and could not ask for nicer more helpful staff.The restraurant is tremendous and means you do not need to bother taking your car out to eat anywhere else.
Overall a 5 star stay.

Room Tip: the superior rooms overlooking the pool are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippo432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here on the recommendaion of a friend and was not disappointed in any way. We chose to have a 2 room suite which overlooked the pool and was huge with a kingsize bedroom with sofa, bathroom and TV. A separate lounge area had a large sofa and small table and chairs with another TV!! The rooms were immaculate. there was a small balcony but we did not use it. The hotel food is exceptional and we chose the half board option which allows you also to mix and match from the a la carte. All 3 courses were generous and the hotel made a special effort to deal with my diet as I am a coeliac. Ivo the restaurant manger and his team are fantastic. I never saw a scrap of food left by any customer. The pool is small and only really a dipping pool especially when there are children there. The hotel location allows you to use the bus from outside to just about anywhere on the island although we walked the coast path a lot. You can hire bikes too, but as the roads are narrow bounded by granite walls and have too many cars on them, we did not choose that option! We had a fantastic time and that was down to the staff at La Barbarie and the luck of hitting a sunny spell for a week.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judeandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Spent a long weekend at the La Barabrie and had a fantastic time. The staff were very friendly, helpful and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The room was airey and very clean with a balcony overlooking the pool. We had the standard meal in the restuarant on 2 nights and the "A La Carte" on the 3rd and the food was excellent. We will definately be going back there next year.

Room Tip: We had room 35 which was in a separate building so was very peaceful and had a balcony over looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tezzerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing