We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of The Better Hotels In Guernsey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Linithgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One Of The Better Hotels In Guernsey”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Just had a five night stay at La Barbarie. Very impressed. The Superior room was excelllent and very comfortable, huge bed, lovely bathroom. The restaurant was particularly good. In fact as good as I've experienced at any hotel. The wine list could have been better though. Could not fault the staff in any way. Always charming, nothing was too much effort for them. On the slightly minus side. on the first evening the bathroom sink plug got stuck and would not open. But the handyman fixed it very quickly. A bigger irritation for me was the "lousy" internet access. Unless you were in the actual reception area it was useless. The hotel admitted that there were IT problems, but in this day & age it needs to be working perfectly in all locations

Room Tip: Get a superior room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    91
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
319
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A short 2 night stay. Facilities inc. outdoor are excellent, staff are 1st. class.
Corridors a little narrow, and directions back to reception from some rooms
are not clear. Its a 10 min. walk to the beach and 15 mins. to shopping.
Very little street lighting for after dark. Restaurant looked excellent value
and was popular but Wine list needs updating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekiwikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarnfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at La Barbarie , St Martin for about the seventh time. Yet again an excellent stay. Romm was very comfortable and the staff are always very polite and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them . Food in the restaurant is absolutely superb, very well presented and with good variety. First time I have reviewed the hotel because I think we need to keep how good it is to ourselves. Congratulations to Andrew for keeping the standard so high year after year .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large bed overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyYarnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Have been staying here for the past 10 years on 4 day breaks. This is a fab hotel, the staff are wonderful nothing is too much trouble and the food is superb, wellworth avisit you will return again and again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Returning to the hotel after many years, attentive as ever.
Rooms were very comfortable, heated pool a bonus so had many swims. Restaurant excellent. Early evening menu a bargain which if the main courses changed more would be even better. Lots of variety on the main menu; helpful, pleasant staff always willing to do their best for you.
Hope to return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at La Barbarie this year (yes we do go other places too!!) and as usual it was terrific. Andy, Ivo, Raivis and all of the team go out of their way to make your holidaymemorable. We have been coming here for many years and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. The food in the restaurant is perhaps the best it has ever been and you couldn't consider eating anywhere else. We always book half board and it is very good value for the high quality of the food. We stayed for the first time in one of the new superior rooms and they are really very nice. Thanks to everyone at La Barbarie again for everything. For us it really feels like coming home. It is on a good bus route and if the weather is good you don't need a car. Buy an Ormer Card and you can go anywhere on the island - we did and found places we hadn't been ever before. A trip to Herm is a must!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very well furnished with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayandJay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments, overlooking the swimming pool, it was well equipped and spotlessly clean. All the staff were very friendly. We had two meals at the hotel, both of which were excellent. We will be returning and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Apartment overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
586 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing