We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small hotel with good food.”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Friendly small hotel with good food.”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Probably deserves more than its three star rating. We stayed in a suite - more expensive but very comfortable, lovely big bed. Good breakfast choice and excellent dinners, although menu not huge and quite fish orientated. Try the lime sorbet. Staff considerate and helpful, and location pretty good; close to coast, near the airport without any noise from it, and on a local bus route. Other eateries nearby or in St Peter Port.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool is recommended,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinH504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    104
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
378
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff. Check in was quickly dealt with and we were accompanied and assisted with our bags to our room. The room was clean and adequate size for 2 people. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast, either full English or continental, was excellent. We didn't use the restaurant, which we understand is also excellent with an Al-la carte menu, as we prefer more traditional food, so found alternative outlets. All in all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just come back from 4 nights at La Barbarie in Guernsey. The hotel is friendly, efficient and really good value with a restaurant and sea food to die for.
I have stayed here before and the hotel has always lived up to expectations added to which is its great location close to the coastal footpath and St Peter Port.
Strongly recommended.
Michael S

Room Tip: We occupied a superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The food is fantastic, the staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the locatation is peaceful. We've now been 3 times, and would recommend it to anyone. The majority of customers appeared to be "mature" couples, but there were families, too, and there are self-catering possibilities in addition to the hotel service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karate_shiatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was our first visit to La Barbarie but it will not be our last. This Hotel delivers QUALITY. Service,Food,Comfort,Cleanliness and Overall Charm are Five Star. The Hotel is down a country lane not far from the coast,has a delightfull garden with a very inviting swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandadCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Once again we have had another pleasurable stay at this little gem. Excellent food the chef is incredible, all staff are very well trained and polite at all times. We had one of the refurbished superior rooms with balcony and highly recommend these, they are spacious and very comfortable. If you are thinking of booking this hotel you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A lovely building in a peaceful location, very friendly, helpful, polite and happy staff. Comfortable
rooms and Great food. I will definitely visit again and would not hesitate to recommend
La Barbarie.

Room Tip: first floor easiest all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnwain121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
797 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing