We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional from start to finish”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend over Bank Holiday, and remembered hotel as being very pleasant from when my parents used to stay there a couple of decades ago.
Even better now – our superior room seemed almost new (or at least newly decorated), with very comfortable bed, seating and excellent amenities, and the restaurant and bar were both comfortable and with staff for whom nothing seemed too much trouble.
Food was exceptional throughout, and even thought we 'ate in' for all four nights, we always found something superb to eat. Extremely good value for money, too, to the point that we did rather over-indulge!
We were sorry to leave, and are already considering a return visit later in the Summer, if we can get in – in fact my only reservation about writing this review was that more people will discover La Barbarie and we'll find it hard to get a reservation when we want!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room in the separate block across the garden/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreweverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

A truely fantastic break. The staff were all excellent, from the restaurant manager and staff, reception staff to the chamber maids. They all made you feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. The food was also out of this world. It was well worth booking in for dinner on a couple of evenings. The rooms were furnished to a very high standard, were comfortable and exceptionally clean. The Hotel is also situated in a particularly beautiful part of Guernsey. An ideal base for walking along the cliff top paths with their amazing views or stroling along a few lanes to beautiful, unspoilt beaches and coves. Most with a cafe and a convenience!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

From the moment we arrived at this hotel we felt welcomed and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Our room was fairly small but adequately furnished and the bathroom was a good size and all exceedingly clean. The food in the restaurant was very good indeed as were the staff and we had no need therefore to go anywhere else to eat. The location is lovely being near the coast for coastal walks as well as being right by a bus stop to get into town and thereafter pick up other buses to explore the island. It is also good for countryside walks. The masses of hanging baskets and flower troughs also enhance the appearance and the swimming pool and area around also very attractive.

Room Tip: It would be better to have a room on the upper floor in the main hotel to avoid hearing people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanne555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Had a very pleasant three nights here. I can't speak for the 'standard' rooms as I didn't see one, but my 'superior' one was spacious, comfortable, and situated in a separate building to the main hotel so generally very quiet. Only downsides were limited choice of tv channels, and a noisy fan (or possibly a water pump), that seemed to come on frequently late evening / early morning. I was warned that wi-fi in the room might be intermittent, but am pleased to report that I never had any problem at all with it. Food was good, bar adequate for a small hotel, location quiet, secluded and great for walkers. (There's also a bus stop up the road with a service into town every 30 mins or so.) Staff made me feel very welcome, were never far away when I wanted something, and genuinely seemed to care that everyone's stay was a pleasant one. For me, they hit the perfect spot between formality and friendliness. Will very likely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday at La Barbarie. We have been going there for 22 years and it just gets better and better. Excellent location, excellent food (probably the best it's every been). The staff are always friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Thanks to Andy, Sally, Ivo, Raivis and all the rest too numerous to mention for making our holiday great. Can't wait to come back. It's not worth going anywhere else to eat in the evenings. We should really keep this gem of a hotel a secret rather than advertising it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 35, one of the superior rooms and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayandJay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Probably deserves more than its three star rating. We stayed in a suite - more expensive but very comfortable, lovely big bed. Good breakfast choice and excellent dinners, although menu not huge and quite fish orientated. Try the lime sorbet. Staff considerate and helpful, and location pretty good; close to coast, near the airport without any noise from it, and on a local bus route. Other eateries nearby or in St Peter Port.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool is recommended,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinH504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff. Check in was quickly dealt with and we were accompanied and assisted with our bags to our room. The room was clean and adequate size for 2 people. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast, either full English or continental, was excellent. We didn't use the restaurant, which we understand is also excellent with an Al-la carte menu, as we prefer more traditional food, so found alternative outlets. All in all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £100 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing