We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, attentive staff, wonderful food”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Spent 4 days at La Barbarie in late August and wish we had booked for longer. Great coastal walks and easy access to rest of island (by car or hop on the bus). Rooms were very comfortable and immaculate. This is not a modern hotel but full of character and charm.
Food was fantastic, breakfast buffet and cooked breakfast far too tempting and wife and daughter are still missing the croissants! Also had dinner there most nights, half board option is good value and quality and choice were excellent, my diet was temporarily suspended! We were allocated the same table for duration of the stay which I note did not suit a previous reviewer but quite enjoyed that.
In summary, the attention to detail was, in my view, outstanding and without exception, the staff were friendly and welcoming.
We shall return !

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank LondonConcorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to Guernsey and stayed 3 nights at La Barbarie. The staff were excellent, always friendly and attentive. We booked a walking package, and upgraded to a superior room with half board. No complaints about the food, the menus are varied and the food well prepared and presented. The package included packed lunches and a card pre-loaded with bus tickets.This worked out really well for us, because the hotel is situated in the countryside a little way from the main town, St Peter Port. Normally bus fares are a flat rate of £2 per journey. I wouldn't recommend driving around the island, because the roads are very narrow and congested around the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stilchillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

In our minds, when we booked this hotel, what we had was a vision of a perfect holiday with glorious weather, a beautifull laid back, quiet hote,l and real relaxation.
Well the weather kept its bargin with us.
Sadly some aspects of the hotel did not.
Flower beds and gardens were magnificent, the small pool encouraging, and the location just perfect.
Sadly some aspects of the hotel were very disappointing: no one was interested in us - nobody asked if we were enjoying our 5 night stay.
With the exception of the excellent reception staff, and the gardener, no one made any effort to talk to us / make us feel welcome
The restaurant staff, who had ample opportunity to rectify this, did exactly the opposite. Unfriendly, and indifferent to the point of rudeness they made us uncomfortable, and unwelcome.
Not what we were expecting, or used too.
At breakfast it was even worse, ushered into poor tables every morning at the breakfast corner, even when there was only one other couple there- it was just very unpleasant. Trying to enjoy our museli whilst being part of the breakfast corner queue surrounding us with other guests leaning over us and resting on my seat back is not something that i appreciate.
Once, when we had the temerity to ask to be seat elsewhere in the near empty restaurant, we had such a frosty response.
We were not alone in this; a self important waiter literally chased a guest in the restaurant because she chose to be seated in favourable table - only to find that she had already been seated there with her young companion. I felt embarassed for her. His reaction "well I suppose that it is alright then..." Pathetic attitude and patronising beyond belief; - it seems that only if you came here every year would you warrant some sort of recognition from the restaurant staff..
You probably deserve some sort of medal as well.

La Barbarie is neither child nor disabled friendly. The odd mixture of rooms in a variety of odd styles, and sprinkled around the small site, means that there is inevitably mobility issues. Indeed various degrees of athetic ability are needed to negotiate the uneven steps/narrow passages, and in our room the raised, but very deep sunken bath ( but 2 steps & 16 inches off the bathroom floor). The shower had similar arrangements. Both would have warrented a safety issue "trip hazard" in my profession. Having said that, bath and shower were modern, spotlessly clean and functional.
The rest of the room was rather nice, and housekeeping did a good job. Attractive balcony which had the early morning warmth of the sun. The room had air con, but lacked a safe and importantly a fridge, if anyone needed to store insulin.
The gardens were lovely and well cared for, the gardener very helpful
Probably the most obscure, but definately worse designed part of the hotel was the corridor between the reception and the bar / restaurant / some of the rooms. It must have been dreamt up by someone who had an attitute problem as the hump back bridge design incorporated 3 steps up , a four foot narrow passage - careful not to bang your head on the protuding beams, and 3 steps down. There were no ramps anywhere in the hotel that i could see.

Our experiences at breakfast made us disinclined to eat at La Barbarie, and consquently, after the first night we tried, and enjoyed much better service/ food at other hotels and restaurants.
The 2.00am motorway cafe attitude of our hotel restaurant staff cost them our business .
I wish we had stayed elsewhere.
i hope you do too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCOLEMAN, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for posting your review
I am sorry to read your comments about our restaurant staff and will of course investigate the content of your review fully with the relevant heads of department.
It is indeed a very rare occurrence to get such poor comments relating to our personnel, as one can see in the many positive and favourable comments about our staff in many previous reviews.

Thank you for your comments about our excellent reception staff, the well-kept gardens and the high standard of cleanliness within the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I have just come back from a week's stay at La Barbarie. We had a self-catering apartment consisting of a combined lounge and kitchenette, a spacious bathroom and a bedroom with a king-sized bed and plenty of storage space. All the fixtures and fittings are to a good standard and the rooms were cleaned daily. We were on a bed and breakfast tariff but could also get room service or eat in the hotel for lunch and dinner if you didn't want to prepare your own meals. The food was of an excellent standard at a reasonable price. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would certainly recommend La Barbarie if you stay in Guernsey.

Room Tip: Choose a self-catering apartment as you have that bit of extra space and it gives you the flexibilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan-Cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have just come back from a weeks stay at La Barbarie, it was lovely the food is very good, the breakfasts are a little disappointing, after sampling the evening meals, the only down side is the pool area where there is a lot of room for improvement and speaking to the owner that is his next plan.

Room Tip: the rooms are being refurbished so ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a lovely hotel this is! From the moment you step inside you are welcomed by friendly, attentive staff who show you around and make you feel a valued customer. All the staff are lovely and look happy to work here. The breakfasts are excellent with a choice of Continental or full Guernsey. The evening menu for dining is fabulous and so well presented and cooked. The seafood is wonderful and the Lobster is particularly excellent.
The standard room we stayed in was newly refurbished in a modern design and was comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Very close to the airport and ideally situated to explore the Island. Would definitely return to this hotel again and recommend to anyone else wondering where to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owenNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We returned for our second stay and loved it just as much. We took six friends with us and we all had a fabulous time. The hotel was great, the service second to none and the food was once again the best we have had in any hotel. The staff in this hotel cannot do enough for you. We cannot praise you enough. It was great and we will be back. Oh and one more thing, the boss supports a great football team! Thank you La Barbarie

Room Tip: pool view is good but old building and all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £99 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing