We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Delightful Hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early September and our trip was a mixture of business and pleasure. We normally stay at another hotel on the island but thought we would try La Barbarie due to the good reviews. We stayed in a standard room which was more than adequate for our needs. This hotel is pure relaxation situated down a quiet lane in a tranquil setting although the bus into town stops just a few metres from the front door (every half an hour and just £2 per person). The staff are lovely, very attentive but also discreet so leaving you time and space to enjoy the setting. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. The food here has to be the jewel in La Barbarie's crown. I would definitely recommend pre-booking the half board option (they offer a deal for this) and as a hotel guest your table is reserved for breakfast and dinner whenever you care to come down and eat. The reason I say this is because La Barbarie's food is very well known on the island and the restaurant can get extremely busy. Whether you go for the 'full English' at breakfast or the 4 courses at dinner the quality and variety will amaze you. We have eaten at the top restaurants on the island and for consistency, value and service La Barbarie beats them hands down. I had the fish every evening and whether it was the turbot or the seabass it was fresh, beautifully presented and piping hot. Well done to 'team La Barbarie' and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CALYPSOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    96
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
72
350
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Such a lovely place to stay, All the staff were great, the food was outstanding. Very handy bus stop just out side if you are not driving. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Guernsey.

Room Tip: The rooms over the restaurant are noisy - which is no wonder - the restaurant is so good everybody w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEVIKING100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

On the recommendation of friends we booked into La Barbarie for our first visit to Guernsey....we had a most enjoyable five days at this delightful little gem of a place, situated down a quiet country lane close to the coastal footpath network. When making our reservation, Justyna on reception was so helpful and willing, even going as far, as to making arrangements for our hire car which was waiting for us on our arrival at the airport...perfect organisation!

On arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by the friendly and enthusiastic Justyna and her colleague Edyta... throughout our stay they greeted us warmly and smiled....asking if there was anything we needed....without exception all the staff in the hotel were the same...we were on the receiving end of spectacular service which is so refreshing to see in this day and age!

We had a comfortable room (number 26) overlooking the pool which was well serviced and kept spotlessly clean. The dinning room was absolutely superb, with a great choice of menu serving sumptuous portions of delicious food for both breakfast and dinner....with friendly staff providing prompt and efficient service.

Andrew Coleman and his entire team of enthusiastic and willing staff run a "class act" and are to be congratulated...they are so Customer focused and richly deserve their success....if ever we return to Guernsey which is a lovely island to visit.....we will book into La Barbarie

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I have just spent our 4th holiday at La Barbarie - and we wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. We stayed in room 30 this year - which is a Superior room overlooking the pool. It is a beautiful room - very well equipped with a fabulous bathroom - and we felt it was worth every penny of the upgrade fee. The staff at this hotel are second to none - every one of them greets you with a smile and a "good morning" at breakfast - and all guests are treated the same - whether they are new to the hotel or returning after several visits. (The fact that so many guests do return is testament to the good quality provided at this hotel) We have, in the past, chosen to stay B & B at La Barbarie - and have eaten meals in their restaurant but also tried other hotels on the island from time to time. We have, however, discovered that the food in La Barbarie is so much better than anywhere else we have tried that next time we visit - we will book half board. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - it is welcoming, comfortable, and everything in our eyes is perfect. Anne & Nigel Burnell (Caerphilly. South Wales)

Room Tip: Any of the Superior rooms are great - especially number 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneandnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was our first trip to the Channel Islands. It was an excellent experience on all counts. We stayed at the La Barbarie. Excellent room overlooking the pool area. The young people at reception could not have been more helpful….nice, eager to go out of the way to find information, undertook all of the services usually associated with a first class concierge service.

We chose half board. We were hiking, sightseeing all day every day and it was extremely convenient to come back each evening, spend 30-40 minutes engaged in “attitude adjustment” at the bar; order during that time and be called to the dining room at the appropriate time. Outstanding four course meals (starter, main, dessert, dessert/mints). Preparation, taste, presentation all first rate. Very pleasant dining room. It is possible to take your dinner at tables outside next to the pool although we did not…it was a little cool.

Half board was particularly helpful as we decided not to rent a car. We rode the bus (all day tickets and multi-day and family tickets can work out quite well...the bus stop is located conveniently about 30 paces from the hotel's front door). The last day or two we began to take taxis (you can book for specific times…they are very reliable. We decided against the rental car since we were going to spend one of our three full days going to the nearby island Sark…outstanding day…ferry over, carriage and horse around the island…beautiful views over cliffs, lovely little restaurants. The next time we come we will spend several days in Sark. It’s a small island…3 miles long…42 miles of coast line. Lots of beauty to absorb.

Outstanding sites on Guernsey included the Victor Hugo house, the Castle Cornet and the German Occupation Museum. We also walked several miles along the Cliff Walk…extraordinary. Next time far more of that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore London
Level Contributor
252 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We arrived later than we expected due to a delayed flight but were warmly welcomed at reception and given a quick tour of the premises to orientate ourselves, along with useful information for our stay.
The room was spotless with a comfortable spacious bed and well appointed bathroom. The finish was excellent, a lot of attention to detail. There is even an iron and ironing board, although perhaps a room safe would be a good idea.
The restaurant was superb, we have stayed in four and five star hotels which were no better, and at £19.50 for the table d'hote menu and a la carte dishes available for a small supplement if required, an absolute bargain.
Breakfast was comprehensive in choice, the full Guernsey slightly disappointing, but possibly by comparison with the high evening standards.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and added to the enjoyment of our stay.
It is true (see previous reviews) that the hotel is not wheelchair friendly, but the core of the building is old and this cannot be avoided, and presumably those with disabilities check before booking a hotel that it is acceptable for access. The clientele seem to be more mature, and the service seems geared to this, and everyone we spoke to seemed to be enjoying their stay.
We definitely recommend this as a brilliant place to base a visit to Guernsey for service, food and comfort, and if we return to the island would not consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maenclochog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

having spent a lovely week in Guernsey staying with you at La Barbarie, I want to thank you for providing lovely accommodation, a welcoming smile at every opportunity and some wonderful gastronomy. Our room (no 16) was lovely, comfortable and quiet, just what we wanted. Breakfast was an experience, something different every day and not a single criticism. The 2 evening meals we had were lovely, full of taste, flavour and character.

the hotel team are fantastic as is the location.

If we were ever asked, we would not hesitate to recommend a stay at La Barbarie.

Room Tip: Our room had a courtyard view, as such was very quiet, I only saw other rooms from the poolside, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipandCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing