We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant Sunday lunch”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We live in Guernsey so were not staying at the hotel but and decided to go for Sunday lunch at La Barbarie where we enjoyed a very good carvery meal. Rather unusual for us as generally we do not like carvery food but this was very good with freshly made dishes and no large queues despite the restaurant being very busy. Service as always was excellent with just the right amount of friendliness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 214SusieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear 214SusieE
Thanks for your lovey review following Sunday Lunch.
Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated by us all and a real boost as we start another busy season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We decided to return to La Barbarie, after an enjoyable visit in 2010. It was not disappointing! We were the first guests through the door for the season, in March 2014, and despite an early arrival on the island by air, we were made very welcome and the offer of a warming pot of tea was much appreciated!
Guernsey is only just gearing up to meet the holiday visitors at this time of year, but all the staff ( and we do mean all) were very cheerful and welcoming. You get the impression that everyone enjoys working there, and it shows! The rooms are really comfortable and clean, and the breakfasts terrific, with a great choice on offer. Guernsey people continue to come to the restaurant here, so what better recommendation is there?
There's just one puzzling thing - we had expected cloudy grey skies as forecasted for our three night stay - but we had a lot of sunshine! How did the staff manage that?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Paul A
Thanks for posting your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to welcome you as our first guests so early on opening day. We have wonderful staff and your comments are a tribute to them.
Thanks again and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming to La Barbarie Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

is not our first time at our dinner of honor wine club, but it was without doubt one of the most harmonious ever.
findding smiles of new faces, staff who made us smile and sigh for past trips.
and that girl from the most beautiful atlantic island with his charming and genuine smile made us feel in our early years of marriage and dream about that , and that made our day!
thank you for always making us feel in paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 184bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear 184bird
Thank you for your lovely review following your wine club dinner.
It is a great boost to all the staff as we start a new season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

August 2013 was the fifth time we have stayed at La Barbarie, and their standards are as high as (higher than ?) ever - we celebrated our wedding anniversary at this hotel and enjoyed every moment. The newly refurbished rooms were really comfortable (best hotel pillows ever!) – clean, well designed, and really relaxing. The quality of the room servicing – towels, bed linen, general cleanliness was very high, and always made returning to our room a real pleasure.

The quality of the hotel grounds also deserves praise. Despite everywhere being very well-frequented, the standard of tidiness, cleanliness, the upkeep of the gardens, hanging baskets, pond etc. also made each return a pleasure.

What really made the holiday, apart from the superb food and drink, was the attitude of all the staff – always friendly, helpful, and patient, even when circumstances were very busy. Whoever one spoke to on the staff responded cheerfully and readily, and this really made one feel welcome and at home. It would not be fair to pick out any one person – they all deserve praise for the way they do their jobs and relate to the guests.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful, food is excellent , we stayed in an apartment which was basic but had everything you would need when self catering!, beds were huge and comfy. Having the apartment meant we had a break we could afford but the luxury of the use of all hotel amenities! central to everything the island has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We went on a sentimental return to Guernsey....la Barbarie had been recommended by friends, and it was a pleasure to be a guest!
The meals were very good ( we made the mistake of "eating out" one evening!), and the staff were attentive and helpful.
Thank you to all!

Room Tip: Overlooking the swimming pool, the rooms have balconies big enough to quaff champagne!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank victorf654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was two years ago when we last stayed at La Barbarie and from the moment we walked in we knew that it was right to return. So many friendly familiar faces ,not just of the staff but also the returning guests. We were half board and on our first evening meal we were shown to our table , the same table that we had two years before! It is this attention to detail that makes this little hotel SPECIAL as well as the excellent food which is beautifully presented and the lovely comfortable rooms (we had a superior king) it was spotlessly clean . We will definitely return. We always tell our friends how nice it is but the only way to find out is to go there yourself.

Room Tip: We like the extra room that the superior king gives although the standard rooms are also very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing