We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, Impressed”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from 4 night Easter break at La Babarie, this was booked on the basis purely of Tripadvisor reviews and as usual, this wonderful community of people came up trumps!.

La Barbarie is a small, quiet, very personal hotel tucked away in the lanes of St Martins but retains an air of professionalism, courtesy and personal service that a lot of the major chain hotels seem to have lost over the years. I always say that what impresses me most about a hotel is when they play to their strengths, be as good as you can be at what you do and don't pretend you are something you are not. La Barabarie does this perfectly well, they excel at what they are good at and don't try to impress with things they can't offer well, just focus on what they are good at, mainly this relies around quality of service, and quality of product, specifically food. the restaurant is superb, food fresh, inventive and high quality and there is also ample parking ( without charge I might add!), all adding up to a high quality experience.

Of course, this hotel is not perfect, the décor was a little too 1970's for my liking and the housekeeping was not always great, The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in and the pillows were awful!!

However, I cannot fault this hotel on its service standards or its staff, both are worthy of bigger, more expensive hotels taking a look at and learning a thing or two. One specific mention, the receptionist who checked us in on ( very early) arrival and then helped me print our boarding passes was superb, friendly, helpful and always happy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear MrRedLondon
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit.
Your compliments and constructive comments on some aspects of you stay are greatly appreciated.
It is such feedback that enables us to make sure we keep investing in the right areas and thus continue to satisfy our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have had lunch at La Barbarie many, many times and when a special offer came up we jumped at the chance of taking up the package for one night, dinner, bed and breakfast. It was brilliant. From the moment we signed in, to the signing out, every member of staff was fantastic, very friendly, happy, professional people. Everything we required was catered for in our room - a super king size bed, proper hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. The shower room was very modern with a walk-in shower, heated towel rail and ample towels. There were adequate toiletries for a short stay. We did not have a view from the room but this did not detract from our stay. There was a three course set menu with ample choices for dinner. The food was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent with continental and cooked choices available. Wherever possible locally sourced products were used. The hotel is ideally situated for enjoying the marvellous cliff paths that Guernsey has to offer. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 which was excellent but did not have any view. A very quiet position
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Sauvarin
Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review. Your comments on the professionalism and friendliness of our team, the room and the quality food are appreciated by us all. Glad you enjoyed your overnight stay and we look forward to welcoming you to La Barbarie once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

La Barbarie is one of those very small intimate hotels.....made of Guernsey Island stone and located in the countryside lanes of St Martins of beautiful Guernsey. A short walk to Saints bay and the magical Icart. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is terrific with fine dining and a good selection of foods. The rooms are very clean, a little dated....but the bathrooms are very clean and have excellent Hot water pressure. Wi Fi is also pervasive and good and free!

You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: For those with disabled or aged guests do stay on the ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63Michael82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear 63Michael82
Thank you for your kind review. It’s great to see your comments on the cleanliness, good food and our friendly team. Also lovely to see that our efforts and investment in improving the water pressure being noted. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This must be one of the best hotel everyone is friendly and helpful .The accommodation was lovely. Ivo and Raivis looked after us really well as did Andy. We were especially grateful to Ivo for fitting all our extra guests for dinner.
Not only is the hotel excellent but you get a Guernsey as well. We cannot recommend La Barbarie high enough

Room Tip: Superior rooms really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavis and Andre... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Mavis and Andre B
Thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to La Barbarie and to look after your local guests throughout your stay.
Ivo Raivis and I together with the team look forward to welcoming you back once more in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a wonderful time. Stayed here for four nights. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was pleasant, the food really nice at both dinner and breakfast. The hotel is in a lovely position and overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Anthony H
Thanks for posting your kind review. Your comments on cleanliness, the friendly staff and food quality are a great compliment to all departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The accommodation in one of the superior rooms was worth the extra. The team of staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble.We have stayed on most of the hotels on the island including 5 star OGH.This hotel is more homely and offers comparable food and comfort. The position of the hotel is excellent for the best part of the island for quietness and privacy. We will stay again...

Room Tip: pay for a superior room with a balcony if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear John1918
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that your stay in one of our new superior rooms was so comfortable and thanks also for your lovely comment about the food and our great team of staff. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A lovely hotel with excellent cuisine and friendly and helpful staff. Very good value. The rooms are comfortable without being extravagant. In the summer months the gardens and window boxes are delightful. We've stayed there for many years often twice a year and thoroughly recommend it. Well done to Andy and his team! Graham & Georgina Collins

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Graham C
Thank you for posting your lovely review. It was, as always, a pleasure to welcome you and Mrs C back to La Barbarie once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £99 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing