We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We managed a late booking to La Barbarie, our room may not have had the best view, but was clean and very comfortable. We stayed on a half board basis, which is unbelivable value, our meals were excellent and the service as always friendly and efficient. When can we return, wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Guernsey.

Room Tip: A new updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear SMTno2
Thank you for taking the time to post your review
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to La Barbarie once more. We appreciate your kind comments about our excellent value restaurant and friendly staff and we are delighted that you had a relaxing break. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    90
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
67
313
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a fantastic and beautiful hotel! The service was amazing and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. No faults at all! We will definitely stay there again. Thank you very much La Barberie :)

Room Tip: The standard rooms are beautiful and cosy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstylep28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear kirstylep28
Thanks for your wonderful review. Your comment about our friendly team and excellent service is a real boost to us all as we settle into a busy season.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie Hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haywards heath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a long weekend break at La Barbarie and very much enjoyed our time there. The hotel is not easy to find being tucked away in country lanes but it is well worth the effort to find it.
We booked b and b but decided to eat in the hotel on the first evening and the food was so good that we decided that we would have our evening meal there every day. On our last evening we had the Seafood Platter which was magnificent and should not be missed.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and although, at our request, on the ground floor was quiet and we were not bothered by noise. Also there is a large car park and parking problems should not be an issue.
The staff were great, supremely professional and friendly, nothing seemed to be too much for them. Thanks,in particular, to Ivo who fitted us in to the restaurant on Saturday evening as we had a special occasion to celebrate.
This is a lovely hotel and we think that it would be difficult to find anywhere better to stay on Guernsey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear LizandPeter
Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your break and your comments about the Ivo, our Restaurant and the Seafood Platter are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Although this is only our second time at La Barbarie after (too) long a time, it was as we remembered from nine years ago. Simply great ! Our most sincere and honest thanks go to the absolutely great staff at La Barberie ! YOU made our stay a real pleasure (Richard, we'll try to copy your "Old Fashioned", but I really have my doubts...) ! All of them were always cheerful, friendly, helpful, good humored and very, very nice to us and especially our 8-year old son all the time ! Apart from that we would like to mention the absolutely delightful Dinner at night (even though we booked a self-catering appartment this time, we wouldn't miss this...), and the cosy and clean rooms, made up to enjoy your time away from home. We also would like to give a thanks to the manager of this premises. You can see him every day going around and having a smile and hello to each and every guest, making sure that everything is fine. This is also one of the things, that make you feel comfortable and being welcome here. All three of us agree, that this is the place to spend your time if you plan a trip to the beautiful Island of Guernsey. Out of selfish thoughts I should stop to recommend La Barbarie now, otherwise we may find ourselves in the situation not to get a vacancy when we would like to come back in the near future and this has to be avoided at any case...;-) Once again our sincere Thank You...Aaron, Katja and Johannes from Germany

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoNiSchaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear JoNiSchaub
My thanks to you Aaron and Katja for posting your kind review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to La Barbarie Hotel and we are all so pleased that you enjoyed the food and hospitality and our beautiful Island. Richard says keep practising with the “old fashioned”
I look forward to the possibility welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from 4 night Easter break at La Babarie, this was booked on the basis purely of Tripadvisor reviews and as usual, this wonderful community of people came up trumps!.

La Barbarie is a small, quiet, very personal hotel tucked away in the lanes of St Martins but retains an air of professionalism, courtesy and personal service that a lot of the major chain hotels seem to have lost over the years. I always say that what impresses me most about a hotel is when they play to their strengths, be as good as you can be at what you do and don't pretend you are something you are not. La Barabarie does this perfectly well, they excel at what they are good at and don't try to impress with things they can't offer well, just focus on what they are good at, mainly this relies around quality of service, and quality of product, specifically food. the restaurant is superb, food fresh, inventive and high quality and there is also ample parking ( without charge I might add!), all adding up to a high quality experience.

Of course, this hotel is not perfect, the décor was a little too 1970's for my liking and the housekeeping was not always great, The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in and the pillows were awful!!

However, I cannot fault this hotel on its service standards or its staff, both are worthy of bigger, more expensive hotels taking a look at and learning a thing or two. One specific mention, the receptionist who checked us in on ( very early) arrival and then helped me print our boarding passes was superb, friendly, helpful and always happy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear MrRedLondon
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit.
Your compliments and constructive comments on some aspects of you stay are greatly appreciated.
It is such feedback that enables us to make sure we keep investing in the right areas and thus continue to satisfy our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have had lunch at La Barbarie many, many times and when a special offer came up we jumped at the chance of taking up the package for one night, dinner, bed and breakfast. It was brilliant. From the moment we signed in, to the signing out, every member of staff was fantastic, very friendly, happy, professional people. Everything we required was catered for in our room - a super king size bed, proper hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. The shower room was very modern with a walk-in shower, heated towel rail and ample towels. There were adequate toiletries for a short stay. We did not have a view from the room but this did not detract from our stay. There was a three course set menu with ample choices for dinner. The food was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent with continental and cooked choices available. Wherever possible locally sourced products were used. The hotel is ideally situated for enjoying the marvellous cliff paths that Guernsey has to offer. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 which was excellent but did not have any view. A very quiet position
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Sauvarin
Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review. Your comments on the professionalism and friendliness of our team, the room and the quality food are appreciated by us all. Glad you enjoyed your overnight stay and we look forward to welcoming you to La Barbarie once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

La Barbarie is one of those very small intimate hotels.....made of Guernsey Island stone and located in the countryside lanes of St Martins of beautiful Guernsey. A short walk to Saints bay and the magical Icart. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is terrific with fine dining and a good selection of foods. The rooms are very clean, a little dated....but the bathrooms are very clean and have excellent Hot water pressure. Wi Fi is also pervasive and good and free!

You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: For those with disabled or aged guests do stay on the ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Michael82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear 63Michael82
Thank you for your kind review. It’s great to see your comments on the cleanliness, good food and our friendly team. Also lovely to see that our efforts and investment in improving the water pressure being noted. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing