We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from a three night break at La Barbarie, Guernsey.

From the moment of check in, the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The room we had was just right. Couldn't fault the cleanliness,

We ate dinner in the Restaurant on our first evening. Absolutely fab! Quality food, excellently prepared and beautifully presented. Best bit? Not a rip off!

The waiting staff really went out of their way to please, and their professional approach was much appreciated.

We ate there again on our third evening, The Table D'hôte menu changes daily, and you can also go A La Carte.

Would deffo stay there again, would love to sample the waters of the superb outdoor pool and terrace.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and our thanks and compliments to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biddyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Biddyfun
Many thanks for your wonderfully positive review. It is always our intention to offer quality value for money and I am delighted that this is reflected in your comments.
Your kind words about our team here are much appreciated and I do hope we can welcome you back to sample our heated pool in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    92
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
323
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I had forgotten just how good La Barbarie dining experience is. As a regular diner in various Guernsey establishments La Barbarie is hard to beat from the friendly reception, attention from all staff, to the fabulous meal. I can thoroughly recommend the daily dinner menu, fabulous and fresh crab cakes with chilli jam to start, followed by the best slow roast pork belly I have ever experienced, think melt in the mouth with contrasting crispy crackling, creamy mash, crisp cabbage, homemade apple sauce and a tasty jus. My beloved and I both chose the cheese to follow which had a variety of 4 lovely cheeses and plenty of them with chutney, walnut bread and biscuits. A truly lovely meal, complimented by great service, hard to beat. S -J & Kieran.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sj S
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent meal here at La Barbarie Hotel
I have passed your wonderful comments on to Chef and his team, a real boost to all concerned.

It was lovely to welcome you to La Barbarie once more, so glad you enjoyed the evening and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful week at La Barbarie. We stayed on a half board basis in a superior double room. The room was excellent:spacious, comfortable and quiet with a nice view over the swimming pool. The food was outstanding; wide choice and very high quality. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. It was our first visit to Guernsey and we hope not the last. When we go back we will certainly aim to return to La Barbarie. We would not look anywhere else.
Ann and Bernard Doyle

Room Tip: We only have experience of the one room but rooms in the detached block overlooking the pool, like o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDoyle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Doyle
Thank you for posting your kind review
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Guernsey and that we played our part.
Our new Superior rooms are very popular and your comments about the quality of our food and attentive friendly staff are gratefully received. We hope to welcome you back to Guernsey and La Barbarie hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

La Barbarie Hotel was the perfect choice. First time in Guernsey, stayed for four nights B &B but decided to book a table for dinner each evening. Didn't disappoint.Excellent food and service. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a lovely rural setting, well maintained gardens. There are plenty of places to walk and nearby some beautiful coastal scenery. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear CarolynP
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our great location near the cliff paths and walks. To say we were the “perfect choice” is praise indeed and my team and I thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We managed a late booking to La Barbarie, our room may not have had the best view, but was clean and very comfortable. We stayed on a half board basis, which is unbelivable value, our meals were excellent and the service as always friendly and efficient. When can we return, wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Guernsey.

Room Tip: A new updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear SMTno2
Thank you for taking the time to post your review
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to La Barbarie once more. We appreciate your kind comments about our excellent value restaurant and friendly staff and we are delighted that you had a relaxing break. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a fantastic and beautiful hotel! The service was amazing and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. No faults at all! We will definitely stay there again. Thank you very much La Barberie :)

Room Tip: The standard rooms are beautiful and cosy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstylep28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear kirstylep28
Thanks for your wonderful review. Your comment about our friendly team and excellent service is a real boost to us all as we settle into a busy season.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie Hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haywards heath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a long weekend break at La Barbarie and very much enjoyed our time there. The hotel is not easy to find being tucked away in country lanes but it is well worth the effort to find it.
We booked b and b but decided to eat in the hotel on the first evening and the food was so good that we decided that we would have our evening meal there every day. On our last evening we had the Seafood Platter which was magnificent and should not be missed.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and although, at our request, on the ground floor was quiet and we were not bothered by noise. Also there is a large car park and parking problems should not be an issue.
The staff were great, supremely professional and friendly, nothing seemed to be too much for them. Thanks,in particular, to Ivo who fitted us in to the restaurant on Saturday evening as we had a special occasion to celebrate.
This is a lovely hotel and we think that it would be difficult to find anywhere better to stay on Guernsey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear LizandPeter
Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your break and your comments about the Ivo, our Restaurant and the Seafood Platter are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing