We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short break”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Boldre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great short break”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Pretty hotel with very comfortable rooms, delightful friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. Nothing is too much trouble. Dated decor in some bedrooms so if this is a problem ask for a refurbished one. We slept with windows wide open and no problem with noise. We had room overlooking garden and pool. Once all rooms are upgraded, the rating would be excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Jackie b
Thank you for posting your review. Your constructive comments are appreciated and I can confirm that our programme of room refurbishments is ongoing. My thanks also for your kind comments about our friendly staff and excellent Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    96
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
72
350
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife have just returned from our first visit to La Barbarie. It was a superb
Experience. The location is ideal for the town with a bus stop just outside the
hotel and a short walk to the cliff top walks. The hotel is wonderful with very comfortable rooms, a first class restaurant and bar. The staff are all incredibly
friendly, cheerful and helpful and a real credit to their profession We will certainly
be making a return visit. If you only visit one more hotel in your life make sure its
this one. The Sharps.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Ray S
Thank you so much for this great review. Your kind words about our staff being a credit to their profession is really appreciated by us all and is proof that the hard work they put in is noticed.
So glad you had such a positive first experience of Guernsey and La Barbarie Hotel
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We must have stayed about a dozen times now- with friends, family and alone- and still can't fault the Barbarie. Service, comfort, food and fantastic friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff are wonderful. Top marks for everything- our only worry is that by reviewing this gem, too many people will discover it, and we shall find there are no vacancies when we try to book again!- which we certainly shall. Sally and John

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sally and John
Thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review.
It is a great boost to all the team to see your positive comments and especially from regular “old barbarians”. We all look forward to welcoming you to La Barbarie once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having stayed at La Barbarie before you know what to expect, a relaxed atmosphere, good service and great food in a location that works on the island.
This year was no exception, the recent improvements in the rooms have helped and it lived up to my expectations and my guests.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Michael S
Thank you for posting your lovely review following your return visit.
My team and I are delighted that all aspect of your stay met your expectations and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We enjoyed a short break at La Barbarie using it as a base for walks along the coastal path and elsewhere on the island.
Our superior bedroom was on the 1st floor of a separate block overlooking the pool. The room was large and modern with a comfortable super king zip and link bed, a lovely bathroom with separate bath and shower and a balcony. We were very comfortable there.
We were booked half board and enjoyed the table d'hôte menu. Our only criticisms of the table d'hôte dinners were that the vegetable/salad choice wasn't great (I seemed to have a combo of rocket, leeks or broccoli at every meal) and that some of the potato dishes tasted of recooked potato or were insufficiently cooked.
We also felt that a couple of the components of the breakfasts were less good - basic OJ and other juices and sliced white/ brown bread for toast. On the other hand, the croissants/ viennoisserie were excellent and cooked breakfasts were very good.
We would love a greater showcasing of Guernsey produce and a " catch of the day " fish/seafood option sourced locally.
Our criticisms are minor. The hotel is very well run and the staff very well trained. Standards of service are very high and our stay was enjoyable. Would we return or recommend La Barbarie to others ... an emphatic yes!

Room Tip: Superior rooms on 1st floor of annexe overlooking the pool are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsaMinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear UrsaMinora.
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us
Your constructive comments on some aspects of our cuisine are noted. Thanks also for your kind words about the high standards of our staff and the comfortable superior room occupied.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to La Barbarie in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Europe (2 nights at La Barbarie) and this was one of the very few places with a real kingsize bed by American standards (200 cm x 200 cm). What the British B & B's and hotels usually call a kingsize bed is even smaller than the American queensize bed (ca. 160 cm x 200 cm).
So that was the biggest plus. But of course there was much more to it.

This lovely country hotel is located outside of St. Peter Port on a very quiet road with almost no traffic, located close to Petit Bôt Bay and Fermain Bay. The German Underground Hospital and the German Occupation Museum are within 5 minutes driving distance.

La Barbarie has a lovely breakfast room with an atrium. It offers a large breakfast buffet. Afternoon tea takes place in the bar and dinner in another rustic room. We had dinner twice and it was absolutely delicious. I appreciate nice interior design when I'm eating in a restaurant and this place was lovely to eat at AND to look at.
One afternoon we had cream tea with scones in the bar which we shared with a nice group of 4 WW II veterans with their wives. What a great time we had!

The room and bathroom were both very clean and spacious (we stayed at the Superior room as it's the only one with a kingsize bed). The shampoo and shower gel samples were incredible, such a wonderful scent! I wish I could order them online.
The room has Internet access.

The only negative thing: the toilet flush did hardly ever work. Usually after 3 times of trying it finally flushed.

One of my criteria when I review a hotel room or a Bed & Breakfast is the reading lamp. The one at La Barbarie gets a big praise as it was bright enough to read a book without getting tired eyes because of too dim light. Unfortunately most hotels try to save money and put 25 Watt light bulbs in their nightstand lamps which makes reading impossible. I rather pay a few bucks more for electricity costs and have adequate reading light for reading a novel and writing into my travel journal.

We will recommend La Barbarie to all our friends who plan to discover the Channel Islands.

Room Tip: If you prefer a kingsize bed, book the Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Chrissie777
Thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.
Your positive and constructive comments are most welcome. Really glad you enjoyed our superior room and of course the proper King Size Bed!
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Visited La Barbarie for the 3rd time for a short break with friends. Once again they did not fail to impress. The food is out of this world and the staff are wonderful. We will certainly come back again. Many thanks to Ivo and all the staff with a special mention to Richard who kept us amused. Thanks Andrew we had a great time and may the team keep winning. YNWA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jan L
Thanks for your lovely review. It was once again a pleasure to welcome you, Adrian and your friend’s back to La Barbarie Hotel.
Fingers crossed for a good season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing